Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > S.P.A.M.
Reload this Page >

E-rewards [Master Thread]

E-rewards [Master Thread]

Old Jan 30, 20, 9:54 am
  #4081  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: YVR
Programs: Marriott Bonvoy, Aeroplan, Best Western, IHG Rewards, AAdvantage, Executive Club
Posts: 162
Ugh! Can only transfer to Hilton once every 60 days.
pointshogger is offline  
Old Jan 31, 20, 10:32 am
  #4082  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 27,904
I have not redeemed any reward for past 2 years. Last night I tried to redeem $12 for 250 Avios to BA so to generate an activity there to requalify for the flat fee for intra-Europe redemption - the site requires a code, to be sent to a telephone number - but when I input our one and the only landline number, it came back said this phone number is already used. It would not go any further.

My husband's account does not have the same issue. His redemption went immediately to the screen where to input FFP info and then submission.

Under My Profile, I do not see anywhere there is a phone number listed, let alone to change it.

I sent a message to eRewards and hope to hear from them in coming weeks...lol.

When I googled how to contact eRewards I found the GetHuman website has a 214 number but also indicated there is No Answer. In the issues listed, there are quite a number of people have the same issues, and no information of it being resolved.

Any regulars have had such issue before?
Happy is offline  
Old Jan 31, 20, 11:29 am
  #4083  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: South Bend, IN
Programs: Delta-Gold Hertz-PresCircle HH-Gold Hyatt-Discoverist IHG-Plat National-Exec
Posts: 641
Originally Posted by Happy View Post
I have not redeemed any reward for past 2 years. Last night I tried to redeem $12 for 250 Avios to BA so to generate an activity there to requalify for the flat fee for intra-Europe redemption - the site requires a code, to be sent to a telephone number - but when I input our one and the only landline number, it came back said this phone number is already used. It would not go any further.

My husband's account does not have the same issue. His redemption went immediately to the screen where to input FFP info and then submission.

Under My Profile, I do not see anywhere there is a phone number listed, let alone to change it.

I sent a message to eRewards and hope to hear from them in coming weeks...lol.

When I googled how to contact eRewards I found the GetHuman website has a 214 number but also indicated there is No Answer. In the issues listed, there are quite a number of people have the same issues, and no information of it being resolved.

Any regulars have had such issue before?
FYI (from my past experience)
You can't use the same phone number as your husband. The phone number must be a unique phone number that has NEVER been used for any eRewards account in the past. The phone number must also be one that can receive a text (i.e. a cell phone) so it can receive the special verification code which will be sent to it.
jgxtrav1 is offline  
Old Jan 31, 20, 1:08 pm
  #4084  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 27,904
Originally Posted by jgxtrav1 View Post
FYI (from my past experience)
You can't use the same phone number as your husband. The phone number must be a unique phone number that has NEVER been used for any eRewards account in the past. The phone number must also be one that can receive a text (i.e. a cell phone) so it can receive the special verification code which will be sent to it.
Yes I figure they can remove the phone number from his account so the number can be free up for me. His account does not require the code to redeem stuff. When I asked to redeem the BA from his account it went right to the FFP info screen and then submission. I wonder why there is a difference?
If his account still works I would redeem the last round number to AS and be done with eReward account of his.

Meanwhile I am waiting for eReward's email reply.

On eReward site it said both Mobile and Landline can be used. Can choose the option of text or a voice call. Would any phone number work?
Happy is offline  
Old Jan 31, 20, 8:39 pm
  #4085  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CNF
Programs: Priority Club, TAM Fidelidade, BAEC, Marriott Rewards
Posts: 2,067
It can be mobile or landline. It must be one number per account however. If your husband's account does not require the code now, it means it has already been verified with the code before (and the verification can be requested at any time again, so removing the code from there is not good, and may even prompt them to block the accounts as duplicate).
neuromancer is offline  
Old Feb 1, 20, 4:21 pm
  #4086  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maine
Programs: Delta Silver, HH Gold, IHG Gold, SPG
Posts: 1,241
How do people access the surveys? I have been a member for years but have only used a desktop or laptop for survey. Do they have an app? It is better than the laptop?
ChinaShrek is offline  
Old Feb 1, 20, 6:29 pm
  #4087  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: VPS
Programs: IHG Spire, Delta Silver
Posts: 4,025
The had a tablet app at one point and then later discontinued it. Given how a lot of the surveys require a good amount of typing, I figure it's best to use a computer with a proper keyboard,
ChinaShrek likes this.
beachmouse is offline  
Old Feb 1, 20, 7:26 pm
  #4088  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maine
Programs: Delta Silver, HH Gold, IHG Gold, SPG
Posts: 1,241
Originally Posted by beachmouse View Post
The had a tablet app at one point and then later discontinued it. Given how a lot of the surveys require a good amount of typing, I figure it's best to use a computer with a proper keyboard,
Thank you for your opinion. I tend to agree but I am noticing more surveys that say try to login using a different device.
ChinaShrek is offline  
Old Feb 3, 20, 10:31 am
  #4089  
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MCI
Programs: AA LT Gold; BA Silver; Hilton Gold; Marriott Gold
Posts: 2,897
Two definite improvements with the new interface: nearly immediate credit for surveys and availability of surveys on home page (even if they do require answering "questions to find a new survey" first). I used to save my last 10 or so e-mails announcing that I had a survey because clicking on them at random would bring up surveys I couldn't find otherwise. I no longer have to do that.

Just got one related to the 2020 elections. I think there will be more of those!
ChinaShrek likes this.
Athena53 is offline  
Old Feb 3, 20, 3:58 pm
  #4090  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 27,904
Thumbs down

Originally Posted by neuromancer View Post
It can be mobile or landline. It must be one number per account however. If your husband's account does not require the code now, it means it has already been verified with the code before (and the verification can be requested at any time again, so removing the code from there is not good, and may even prompt them to block the accounts as duplicate).
After redeeming the $12 BA I tried to redeem AS miles but the redemption was denied with the error being, only one redemption per day - it was because the BA redemption was after 12:00am while the AS redemption was the next afternoon - so both were on the same day.

Wait till today to do the AS redemption again - Well, today's redemption did require the code when I tried to redeem AS miles. It did not ask for telephone number as it showed the last 4 digits of the existing phone number in the fine print at the top, for you to agree on receiving a code - does not even have an option to choose text or voice - just agree to receive the code.

Code did come in voice call. But I got another error - ordered 5x $50 and it said only 2 items can be ordered. There is no warning whatsoever during the order process, and the drop down menu has up to 5 quantity!

Changed the 5 to 2x $100, met yet another error - this time "temporary limit has been exceeded" - what the heck is it?

How do we know these sorts of limits imposed to us, when there is no indication in the fine print pop up window during the redemption process?!

I submitted a help email online and see how they replied.

This has become a source of frustration and totally not worth the hassle.

It was originally for the usage to extend various account expiration dates, but with DL fell off long ago (and it no longer has expiry date), UA no longer expires, BA does not need help on expiry other than to achieve the flat fee status for intra-Europe flights to/from LON, various hotel programs dont require this help, we have only AS that can use the help to extend the account's life, but we can also use the dine program for that purpose. The usage of eRewards has become very minimal while the qualification on a survey takes longer and longer time to find out whether qualified or not, and now THIS hassle in making redemption...
Happy is offline  
Old Feb 3, 20, 4:06 pm
  #4091  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 27,904
Originally Posted by beachmouse View Post
The had a tablet app at one point and then later discontinued it. Given how a lot of the surveys require a good amount of typing, I figure it's best to use a computer with a proper keyboard,
Originally Posted by ChinaShrek View Post
Thank you for your opinion. I tend to agree but I am noticing more surveys that say try to login using a different device.
Many surveys said it is better to use a desktop computer from those surveys we ever qualify for. The time needed for a few bucks is getting longer and longer, sometimes abruptly ended the process after a good 15 min had passed, and the hassles in making redemption ,makes this program quite worthless to us. Once we are able to actually make redemption to clear our accounts, we can say adios to them.
Happy is offline  
Old Feb 4, 20, 2:23 am
  #4092  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CNF
Programs: Priority Club, TAM Fidelidade, BAEC, Marriott Rewards
Posts: 2,067
Originally Posted by Happy View Post
After redeeming the $12 BA I tried to redeem AS miles but the redemption was denied with the error being, only one redemption per day - it was because the BA redemption was after 12:00am while the AS redemption was the next afternoon - so both were on the same day.

Wait till today to do the AS redemption again - Well, today's redemption did require the code when I tried to redeem AS miles. It did not ask for telephone number as it showed the last 4 digits of the existing phone number in the fine print at the top, for you to agree on receiving a code - does not even have an option to choose text or voice - just agree to receive the code.

Code did come in voice call. But I got another error - ordered 5x $50 and it said only 2 items can be ordered. There is no warning whatsoever during the order process, and the drop down menu has up to 5 quantity!

Changed the 5 to 2x $100, met yet another error - this time "temporary limit has been exceeded" - what the heck is it?

How do we know these sorts of limits imposed to us, when there is no indication in the fine print pop up window during the redemption process?!
Well, if you do redemptions too often it may require the code verification more often. My account is not in the US and I am never able to earn enough for more than two redemptions per month.
It remembers the telefone number and how you receive the code (sms or voice) and does not ask again. If you need to change the number you can write them and they clean it, so it asks again (they did not answer the email saying it was done, but it was)
neuromancer is offline  
Old Feb 4, 20, 12:33 pm
  #4093  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 27,904
Originally Posted by neuromancer View Post
Well, if you do redemptions too often it may require the code verification more often. My account is not in the US and I am never able to earn enough for more than two redemptions per month.
It remembers the telefone number and how you receive the code (sms or voice) and does not ask again. If you need to change the number you can write them and they clean it, so it asks again (they did not answer the email saying it was done, but it was)
The account has NOT redeemed anything in more than 2 years because it takes that long to earn enough currency for meaningful redemption!

To the credit of eReward CS, the person replied the help ticket really quick. She said there is restriction on AS miles redemption - only one redemption every 30 days, only up to 2000 miles per redemption. Therefore the 2x $100 redemption was denied. I asked a clarification that is it now OK for my husband to redeem 1x $100 that is within the limit of eReward and not count as 2 redemption on AS because the first 2 attempts failed, nothing happened.

Also I notice now the time stated in the fine prints on how long it takes for the redemption to hit the corresponding account is much longer than in the past.
Happy is offline  
Old Feb 4, 20, 3:31 pm
  #4094  
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
Programs: BAEC Silver, VS Red, HH Gold, IHG Gold, Marriott Gold, SPG Basic, Alitalia Status Match
Posts: 930
2 UK accounts (mine and wife's) - both have increased points balances today. When I checked redemption history, a number in each account are marked as "Failed" and the points have been refunded. I don't keep strict records, but I'm pretty sure some but not all were successful redemptions with points received in Iberia and Hilton.
ankomonkey is offline  
Old Feb 4, 20, 4:33 pm
  #4095  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maine
Programs: Delta Silver, HH Gold, IHG Gold, SPG
Posts: 1,241
Originally Posted by Happy View Post

Also I notice now the time stated in the fine prints on how long it takes for the redemption to hit the corresponding account is much longer than in the past.
Alaska airlines posted instantly into my account last week when I redeemed 2000 miles.
ChinaShrek is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: