Mini RTW Questions

Old Sep 28, 2013, 2:06 pm
  #1681  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: YYC
Programs: Aeroplan, FPC Platinum, SPG/Marriott Gold, Radisson Gold Elite, BW Diamond Select
Posts: 293
Originally Posted by rankourabu
no worries on 2 stops occurring on either return/outbound

YYC-DPS

10617 TPAC
15798 TATL

you check
Wow. Why the disparity in the two mileages? This suggests to me, although it is obviously shorter to fly TPAC, that the answer is to fly TATL where the mileage is well within the maximums? Does this make any sense? (Maybe it's not supposed to....)
Shenanigans is offline  
Old Sep 28, 2013, 2:14 pm
  #1682  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,187
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim
USDM agents have some pretty serious problems with geography, so you shouldn't have too much trouble convincing them that Fran Furt is a city in Southeast Asia, so it's entirely reasonable to get there and back via Ban Kok and Pe King...
Oh ok, I figured it had to do with their dumb CSRs
sp4294 is offline  
Old Sep 28, 2013, 2:46 pm
  #1683  
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: In the air
Programs: Occasional RTW club
Posts: 6,932
Originally Posted by Shenanigans
Wow. Why the disparity in the two mileages? This suggests to me, although it is obviously shorter to fly TPAC, that the answer is to fly TATL where the mileage is well within the maximums? Does this make any sense? (Maybe it's not supposed to....)
Try mapping YYC-DPS over Atlantic and pacific - completely different distances

Originally Posted by sp4294
Oh ok, I figured it had to do with their dumb CSRs
So it does, so it does
Pseudo Nim is offline  
Old Sep 28, 2013, 3:59 pm
  #1684  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: YYC
Programs: Aeroplan, FPC Platinum, SPG/Marriott Gold, Radisson Gold Elite, BW Diamond Select
Posts: 293
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim
Try mapping YYC-DPS over Atlantic and pacific - completely different distances
OK, I did that. TATL on the route I chose is ~13,500, TPAC is ~11,400. Doesn't seem proportionate to have a nearly 50% higher MPM between the two but I guess it is what it is....
Shenanigans is offline  
Old Sep 28, 2013, 4:49 pm
  #1685  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Calgary
Programs: A Few
Posts: 2,339
Originally Posted by Shenanigans
OK, I did that. TATL on the route I chose is ~13,500, TPAC is ~11,400. Doesn't seem proportionate to have a nearly 50% higher MPM between the two but I guess it is what it is....
Just be happy that AE allows TATL routings to Asia now. It's the one and only good enhancement that has happened in the last 5 years.
yycworldtraveler is offline  
Old Sep 28, 2013, 5:09 pm
  #1686  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: YVR to SEA
Posts: 2,570
Anybody have any luck with AKL-HNL either way recently after they removed all inventory? Hoping they will start coming back. When looking at a year out there was pretty decent availability up until a month ago

Also, I was looking at a UA flight LAX to SYD August 27 2014 - shows up on EF for 2 in business, and shows up on UA's website but not Aeroplan or ANA.

Phantom?
crimsona is offline  
Old Sep 28, 2013, 5:42 pm
  #1687  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: YYC
Programs: Aeroplan, FPC Platinum, SPG/Marriott Gold, Radisson Gold Elite, BW Diamond Select
Posts: 293
Originally Posted by yycworldtraveler
Just be happy that AE allows TATL routings to Asia now. It's the one and only good enhancement that has happened in the last 5 years.
Don't get me wrong. I'll enjoy taking the longer route, as we did last time, to enjoy more First Class time. Having said that, would have also enjoyed a little different route this time.
Shenanigans is offline  
Old Sep 28, 2013, 8:07 pm
  #1688  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,187
Originally Posted by crimsona
Anybody have any luck with AKL-HNL either way recently after they removed all inventory? Hoping they will start coming back. When looking at a year out there was pretty decent availability up until a month ago

Also, I was looking at a UA flight LAX to SYD August 27 2014 - shows up on EF for 2 in business, and shows up on UA's website but not Aeroplan or ANA.

Phantom?
Is it a UA saver award ?
sp4294 is offline  
Old Sep 28, 2013, 9:06 pm
  #1689  
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 210
Originally Posted by crimsona
Anybody have any luck with AKL-HNL either way recently after they removed all inventory? Hoping they will start coming back. When looking at a year out there was pretty decent availability up until a month ago

Also, I was looking at a UA flight LAX to SYD August 27 2014 - shows up on EF for 2 in business, and shows up on UA's website but not Aeroplan or ANA.

Phantom?
All AKL<->HNL inventory was removed labour day weekend. I've been watching but it has not been back. 0 flights of any kind even on the furthest days.
donnyk is offline  
Old Sep 30, 2013, 1:07 pm
  #1690  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Calgary
Programs: Aeroplan (Silver), Air Miles, IHG Rewards (Platinum)
Posts: 678
Originally Posted by echino
You will have to put it in this sequence: YYC-HRB-SIN-MOW-YYC. Any other way would not work if you want HRB before MOW.

I did some more checking and was wondering if something like this would work?

AC8104/25JANYYCIAH I 1205-1658
CA996/26JANIAHPEK I 0005-0500+1
CA1351/27JANPEKCAN X 0805-1115
ZH9779/27JANCANHRB X 1450-1850

CA1644/30JANHRBPEK X 1145-1340
CA183/30JANPEKHND I 1725-2135
NH151/30JANHNDSIN I 2330-0615+1

LX179/04FEBSINZRH I 2335-0610+1
LX1248/05FEBZRHARN I 0650-0910
SK730/05FEBARNSVO I 1115-1620

LO678/12FEBSVOWAW I 2220-2140
LO1/13FEBWAWORD I 1215-1515
UA621/13FEBORDYYC I 1705-1949

Last edited by YYC009; Sep 30, 2013 at 5:17 pm Reason: wrong flt info entered in error
YYC009 is offline  
Old Sep 30, 2013, 1:31 pm
  #1691  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: West
Posts: 3,357
Will this work?

YYC-SFO-TPE-SIN stop UA/BR/BR
SIN-BKK stop SQ
BBK-FRA-KRK stop TG/LH
KRK-WAW-YYZ-YYC home LO/LO/AC

trying all J booking


I found J for BKK-FRA on TG 380 and other TGs on ANA and UA tools but Aeroplan tool does not show this as an option, even trying different segments and such? When I call the center, will they see what I see on other tools?
1Newflyer is offline  
Old Sep 30, 2013, 5:50 pm
  #1692  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: HNL
Posts: 781
Originally Posted by donnyk
All AKL<->HNL inventory was removed labour day weekend. I've been watching but it has not been back. 0 flights of any kind even on the furthest days.
I've noticed the same and am monitoring this as well.
saacman5033 is offline  
Old Sep 30, 2013, 9:11 pm
  #1693  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,187
Originally Posted by 1Newflyer
Will this work?

YYC-SFO-TPE-SIN stop UA/BR/BR
SIN-BKK stop SQ
BBK-FRA-KRK stop TG/LH
KRK-WAW-YYZ-YYC home LO/LO/AC

trying all J booking
That looks pretty nice....except with the way LOTs B787s are going lately you may be back on a B763 to YYZ!
sp4294 is offline  
Old Sep 30, 2013, 10:09 pm
  #1694  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: West
Posts: 3,357
Originally Posted by sp4294
That looks pretty nice....except with the way LOTs B787s are going lately you may be back on a B763 to YYZ!
Or end up in Siberia under the snow. I might change that to LX thru ZRH and YUL
1Newflyer is offline  
Old Sep 30, 2013, 10:36 pm
  #1695  
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 210
Originally Posted by saacman5033
I've noticed the same and am monitoring this as well.
Quite disappointing, i was going to do a mini RTW but I need that flight to open up or my plan cannot work I was thinking of YOW->FRA->BKK->SYD->open jaw->AKL->HNL->stop->YOW.
donnyk is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.