Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Support&Services > Technical Support and Feedback
Reload this Page >

Software update issues: September 9, 2019

Software update issues: September 9, 2019

Old Sep 9, 19, 1:56 pm
  #31  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Either at the shooting range or anywhere good beer can be found...
Programs: HH Diamond, Priority Club Platinum
Posts: 39,661
The orange "New Thread" and "Reply" buttons are obnoxious.

"Submit Reply" seems to be larger than "Preview Post."

What exactly does the "Breaking News" button do?
karenkay and TWA884 like this.
kipper is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 1:59 pm
  #32  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: Internet Brands
Posts: 1,785
Originally Posted by Superrman View Post
Message box is back after clearing cache! However, I sincerely hope that not every single user of this forum that has been logged in before this update has to do this to be able to use simplified post box. Not the best implementation!

New buttons look nice on desktop, but can not say the same for the mobile version. Previous design was more compact, nice on devices with smaller screens.
The buttons had their resolution increased, and mobile buttons were changed from icons to more explicit descriptions of their functions for users less familiar.
IBJoel is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 2:00 pm
  #33  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 83,773
Originally Posted by IBJoel View Post
I'll talk to tech about this.
Still a problem.....and also if I try the quote and enter only one or two characters as a further experiment.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 2:01 pm
  #34  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: Internet Brands
Posts: 1,785
Originally Posted by kipper View Post
The orange "New Thread" and "Reply" buttons are obnoxious.

"Submit Reply" seems to be larger than "Preview Post."

What exactly does the "Breaking News" button do?
It allows you suggest the post/thread for a news item.
IBJoel is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 2:10 pm
  #35  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Either at the shooting range or anywhere good beer can be found...
Programs: HH Diamond, Priority Club Platinum
Posts: 39,661
Originally Posted by IBJoel View Post
It allows you suggest the post/thread for a news item.
You might want to explain that in the announcement or some such, because to me, "Breaking News" would logically take me to trending topics, or a consolidator of aviation-related news, etc.
kipper is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 2:20 pm
  #36  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AVP & PEK
Programs: UA 1K MM, Hertz PC
Posts: 2,661
There is an issue with displaying the correct post after a reply:

I have the settings set to display the last message first, but after a reply, it reverts to a different post altogether, and not the correct order.
Clicking on FIRST will correct this, but this is an additional step not previously required.
narvik is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 2:21 pm
  #37  
Administrator
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,938
Originally Posted by kipper View Post
You might want to explain that in the announcement or some such, because to me, "Breaking News" would logically take me to trending topics, or a consolidator of aviation-related news, etc.
I agree it's confusing, we'll try to come up with a better button name.
IBobi is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 2:23 pm
  #38  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: Internet Brands
Posts: 1,785
Originally Posted by narvik View Post
There is an issue with displaying the correct post after a reply:

I have the settings set to display the last message first, but after a reply, it reverts to a different post altogether, and not the correct order.
Clicking on FIRST will correct this, but this is an additional step not previously required.
So it'll just be a random post you get after submitting your reply? I'll change my settings and test it out.
IBJoel is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 2:25 pm
  #39  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: Internet Brands
Posts: 1,785
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
Still a problem.....and also if I try the quote and enter only one or two characters as a further experiment.
I opened a tech ticket, it'll just take a moment. You had this functionality before, to submit a post that was just a quote of someone else? Was this useful?
IBJoel is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 2:30 pm
  #40  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: Internet Brands
Posts: 1,785
Originally Posted by IBJoel View Post
So it'll just be a random post you get after submitting your reply? I'll change my settings and test it out.
Testing Reply with "Newest First" settings.

RESULT: Takes me to the last page. Will open a tech ticket.
narvik likes this.
IBJoel is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 2:31 pm
  #41  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AVP & PEK
Programs: UA 1K MM, Hertz PC
Posts: 2,661
Originally Posted by IBJoel View Post
So it'll just be a random post you get after submitting your reply? I'll change my settings and test it out.

It might revert to the LAST page, as opposed to the first page....not 100% sure now. But definitely wrong.

Just checked it with THIS thread; yes, it erroneously reverts to LAST page (oldest), which, with my settings would be wrong.
narvik is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 2:35 pm
  #42  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: Internet Brands
Posts: 1,785
Originally Posted by narvik View Post
It might revert to the LAST page, as opposed to the first page....not 100% sure now. But definitely wrong.

Just checked it with THIS thread; yes, it erroneously reverts to LAST page (oldest), which, with my settings would be wrong.
Yes, this happened for me as well.
narvik likes this.
IBJoel is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 3:11 pm
  #43  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SEA
Posts: 2,491
In Chrome (Version 76.0.3809.132) I now no longer can reply nor edit.
I am typing this in Safari right now. But I really want and need to use Chrome.

When I hit reply, it will let me type in a title, but not a reply.

When I attempt to edit one of my posts, it brings up a screen that does not allow any editing, typing, etc.
muji is online now  
Old Sep 9, 19, 3:11 pm
  #44  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Danville, CA, USA;
Programs: UA Plat & 1MM, Marriott LT Gold, HHonors Gold, Hyatt Explorist & IHG Plat Amb
Posts: 12,027
Originally Posted by IBobi View Post
Did you try clearing your browser cache CTRL+F5?
Cleared cache. Logged out. Cleared cache again. Logged in. Still no dice on Edge.

Posting this from my Chroma iPhone app.
Boraxo is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 3:13 pm
  #45  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: Internet Brands
Posts: 1,785
Originally Posted by muji View Post
In Chrome (Version 76.0.3809.132) I now no longer can reply nor edit.
I am typing this in Safari right now. But I really want and need to use Chrome.

When I hit reply, it will let me type in a title, but not a reply.

When I attempt to edit one of my posts, it brings up a screen that does not allow any editing, typing, etc.
Please clear or bypass your cache and try again.
IBJoel is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread