FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Marriott | Rewards (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/marriott-rewards-427/)
-   -   Marriott Travel Packages (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/marriott-rewards/1403715-marriott-travel-packages.html)

feckman Aug 11, 2013 8:50 pm

Advice: Using Marriott Vacation Package to qualify for Southwest Companion Pass

Hi all,

First time poster, long-time lurker here so please be gentle... :)

My wife and I have been collecting points and miles for a few years -- mostly via credit card signups, personal spending and about $300K/yr in small-business spending -- and we currently have roughly 1.75 million points/miles between Ultimate Rewards, Membership Rewards, SPG Points and Southwest Rapid Rewards.

I have been a Southwest Companion Pass holder for the past few years and we've gotten a great deal of use out of the program. I have already qualified for the CP through 2014, so I'm planning to purchase a Marriott vacation package to get my wife to Companion Pass status as well. She currently has around 70K qualifying points for 2013, so she needs 40K to get her to CP status for next year. Our family is planning a lot of domestic travel next year, and this way we can each designate our kids as companions and travel with them on points through 2014.

It is my understanding that the Rapid Rewards points that transfer through these Marriott vacation packages count toward the CP. That said, I have a few questions for anyone with experience using these packages:

First, are there any restrictions on when you have to use the vacation package nights? We're planning a vacation to Europe in August of 2015 (two years from now) and would like to use the vacation package nights then. Will the package still be good in 2015?

Second, are they even good in Europe?