Simon mall gift card(2014-2015)

Old Dec 23, 14, 2:42 pm
  #841  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 208
Originally Posted by ramesh4sr View Post
I am trying to load simon mall gc at family dollar, but repetedly getting "Visa tender not allowed" error message, i have even asked them to run as debit but it didn't help. Can someone please help!!! I am stuck
simon gc hasn't work for me at fd either.
Fly1Away1 is offline  
Old Dec 23, 14, 2:54 pm
  #842  
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: BOS, PVD
Programs: SPG Gold, Hyatt Pt, CBP Global Entry
Posts: 96
Originally Posted by Tracker09 View Post
I wish I read this earlier as I just drove by there today. How long is this good for?
I went to my local Simon outlet today and the offer is still there.
Buy a $50 Amex GC get a $25 tommy coupon.

They also gave me a bunch of cookie cutters.
ngoc92 is offline  
Old Dec 23, 14, 3:20 pm
  #843  
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Midwest U.S.A
Posts: 1,399
Thanks to Simon I'm SPG gold again for 2015 all through spending (not all was done at Simon, but many other places too). Simon pushed me over the 30k threshold.
Churnman is offline  
Old Dec 27, 14, 4:31 pm
  #844  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 208
$25 Tommy vouchers are still being offered in Clinton
Fly1Away1 is offline  
Old Dec 27, 14, 6:52 pm
  #845  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 313
Originally Posted by Churnman View Post
Thanks to Simon I'm SPG gold again for 2015 all through spending (not all was done at Simon, but many other places too). Simon pushed me over the 30k threshold.
How much in activation fees did that take? It might be worth it to get a card like the Platinum which offers instant Gold status to SPG.

$450 annual fee - $200 in airline gift cards = $250 annual fee. My guess is your gift card activation fees came close to this if not more?

Just a food for though
PowerMan572 is offline  
Old Dec 27, 14, 8:16 pm
  #846  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Indianapolis
Programs: Hilton-Diamond Lifetime Platinum AA UA, WN-CP, SPG Gold.
Posts: 6,015
$10.00 a thousand, so $300.00 for the SPG Gold right on, if you need the full load.

But the points can them be moved to AA at 1.25, and you still have the Gold,

Depends on what your time is worth.,,Use to do it for 7.00 a thousand.
satman40 is offline  
Old Dec 27, 14, 8:50 pm
  #847  
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 38
Originally Posted by PowerMan572 View Post
How much in activation fees did that take? It might be worth it to get a card like the Platinum which offers instant Gold status to SPG.

$450 annual fee - $200 in airline gift cards = $250 annual fee. My guess is your gift card activation fees came close to this if not more?

Just a food for though
But doing it through manufactured/real spend earns you 30k spg points on the way to gold status. If the plat card gave you gold status plus redeemable points, the plat card might be a clear winner.
darkeststar is offline  
Old Dec 31, 14, 7:58 pm
  #848  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 109
Is it hard coded into the register that NO AGC payment is allowed? Otherwise, why we can't pay for the simon GC using AGC?
adobe is offline  
Old Dec 31, 14, 8:09 pm
  #849  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 240
Originally Posted by adobe View Post
Is it hard coded into the register that NO AGC payment is allowed? Otherwise, why we can't pay for the simon GC using AGC?
It's not hard coded but they seem informed in most locations not to accept them.

Awhile ago, I was using them every two weeks and then suddenly the lady who always sold them told me said she was reprimanded by her boss and instructed to only take credit cards with my name embossed. They must've been looking at the receipt that said GIFT FOR YOU and noticed my payment method. Around that time, the self swipe pad was taken away from the counter and must know be done by the rep. I haven't gotten around to trying a personalized AGC at Simon with portals no longer offering an incentive.
Ctrix65513 is offline  
Old Dec 31, 14, 9:29 pm
  #850  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 27,931
Originally Posted by adobe View Post
Is it hard coded into the register that NO AGC payment is allowed? Otherwise, why we can't pay for the simon GC using AGC?
The swipe is done by the CSRs in my mall. There is no way they would not recognize it is not a CC. That is despite the pad for signing was still in use. I have never swiped myself, the CSR swipes it at his/her end of the terminal. Though I signed on the pad when everything is done.

During the holiday season, my mall took away the electronic pad for signing and required signing on the paper print out. I am told that is to prevent fraud which tends to go up during busy time.

Simon's CSRs are well-trained. The management office also keeps close tap on how things are done at the kiosk. If not followed protocol, they would be either reprimanded or worse, lose their jobs. Would you want to cause innocent folks to suffer the consequences just because you want to make a few bucks? There is line only you can decide whether you want to cross.

On top of that, if you want to keep this avenue open to you, you better play by the rules set up by them else you would be banned pretty quickly.

Last edited by Happy; Dec 31, 14 at 9:36 pm
Happy is offline  
Old Jan 2, 15, 7:41 am
  #851  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: GSP
Posts: 113
datapoint

since black hawk took over my VGC/serve success load rate at wally is 60%(initially for DEC AND JAN)....resetting pins which I do for security is a best practice i don't want to relinquish...I wonder if that's why I get so many wrong pin errors on kate and at the MC and CR..I even tried resetting to the last 4 and waiting a few hrs yesterday and finally managed to load 8/10..did the last two with VGCs fm bilo via 5% chase freedom...i'll likely try some different wallys and then hit the MO trail or prepay my electric bill....I consider replacing simon with wally too..
retired7328 is offline  
Old Jan 6, 15, 2:50 pm
  #852  
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: BOS, PVD
Programs: SPG Gold, Hyatt Pt, CBP Global Entry
Posts: 96
Originally Posted by retired7328 View Post
datapoint

since black hawk took over my VGC/serve success load rate at wally is 60%(initially for DEC AND JAN)....resetting pins which I do for security is a best practice i don't want to relinquish...I wonder if that's why I get so many wrong pin errors on kate and at the MC and CR..I even tried resetting to the last 4 and waiting a few hrs yesterday and finally managed to load 8/10..did the last two with VGCs fm bilo via 5% chase freedom...i'll likely try some different wallys and then hit the MO trail or prepay my electric bill....I consider replacing simon with wally too..
For the ones that failed, did it say "Tender not allowed" or "Invalid Debit" on the pinpad terminal at your store? I didn't have any problems loading simon vgc to serve at the registers but when I went to the customer service I got "Invalid debit" on the pinpad for money orders.
ngoc92 is offline  
Old Jan 6, 15, 6:51 pm
  #853  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast of FL
Posts: 115
I've been getting "tender not allowed" for Simon's gift cards the last few times.
nittanylion1 is offline  
Old Jan 6, 15, 7:55 pm
  #854  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 47
Originally Posted by satman40 View Post
$10.00 a thousand, so $300.00 for the SPG Gold right on, if you need the full load.

But the points can them be moved to AA at 1.25, and you still have the Gold,

Depends on what your time is worth.,,Use to do it for 7.00 a thousand.
Why wouldn't you be doing it for 3.95 a thousand...
CBDTREE is offline  
Old Jan 6, 15, 11:21 pm
  #855  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Programs: Delta Diamond, Hilton Diamond, SPG Gold
Posts: 29
Originally Posted by CBDTREE View Post
Why wouldn't you be doing it for 3.95 a thousand...
You mean with an SM corporate account?
Jarrett is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: