Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

DELTA (DL) Inventory Returns to ExpertFlyer (sans Upgrade Class Inventory)

DELTA (DL) Inventory Returns to ExpertFlyer (sans Upgrade Class Inventory)

Reply

Old May 31, 16, 3:10 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: SFO/SJC, BWI
Programs: :rolleyes:, DL DM, Mlife Plat, TR 7*, SPG/MR Plat, UA 1K
Posts: 9,111
DELTA (DL) Inventory Returns to ExpertFlyer (sans Upgrade Class Inventory)

ExpertFlyer.com - Master Information and Updates Thread

Originally Posted by ExpertFlyer Voice View Post
We're happy to announce that as of today the previously missing DL data has been restored to ExpertFlyer. The only exception is DL Upgrade class inventory that requires GDS access, which Delta is still not allowing us to use.

However regular fare class inventory/availability/alerting and all the other searches (including Seat Maps/Alerts) are available again for DL. Please note, DL flights will only show when DL is the only airline specified in the Flight Availability search.

Last edited by Zorak; May 31, 16 at 7:43 pm Reason: edit quoted text to match edited original
Zorak is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 16, 3:44 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: OKC
Programs: DL DM/2.5MM, Global Entry, GL_Marriott, GHertz
Posts: 5,874
Thanks for the alert, but I really, really to know OP inventory!
Xeno is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 16, 3:57 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PIT
Programs: DM life is over 2MM PM now & NW MillionAir Wyndham Rewards Plat -Hotels.com Silver -Accor Silver
Posts: 15,323
Yeah, this is REALLY good news!

KVS does the job, but, it's not NEARLY efficient as EF. Sometimes, particularly for flights that are later in the day, I find that it may take a few queries to get what I need to know. EF seems to display it better - and - IIRC, on EF, you can specify connecting cities for availability.

My current KVS subscription is good til Feb. I'll hafto decide whether to spring for the $100 (?? I think??) now, or wait.

davetravels is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 16, 4:33 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toledo, OH
Programs: Delta DM & MM, Hilton DM, Hyatt Diamond
Posts: 12,569
Great news. EF is very valuable for IROP's and SDCing
jamesteroh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 16, 4:58 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Seat 1A
Programs: DL; AA; UA; CO; LHLX; NZ; QR; EK; BA
Posts: 6,594
Warning, it's still "buggy" (or maybe it's intended to be this way), but if you want DL flights to show up under "Flight Availability", you need to specifically put "DL" in the "Airline(s)" field (and only DL). If you simply do a query with no airlines specified, DL will not show up in the list of flights. Also, if you specify DL as well as other airlines in the "Airline(s)" field (e.g., DL, AA, UA), DL will not show up either.
ClipperDelta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 16, 5:01 pm
  #6  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 77,747
Definitely good news, although to me the most valuable EF data in the past was the upgrade inventory. However, I don't remember whether OP/RP was reported separately from OU/RU.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 16, 5:06 pm
  #7  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 77,747
Originally Posted by ClipperDelta View Post
Warning, it's still "buggy" (or maybe it's intended to be this way), but if you want DL flights to show up under "Flight Availability", you need to specifically put "DL" in the "Airline(s)" field (and only DL). If you simply do a query with no airlines specified, DL will not show up in the list of flights. Also, if you specify DL as well as other airlines in the "Airline(s)" field (e.g., DL, AA, UA), DL will not show up either.
Does this mean that searching for SkyTeam flights won't show DL either?

Now I'm going to have to re-learn how parts of EF work, including codeshares.

IIRC at least for upgrade inventory searches, connections appeared that only had availability for one (usually the shortest) segment, so I'm wondering whether this aspect of the way EF displays flights can affect the parts that are visible now. In particular, could searching for G A P fares show connections in which one would be sitting in coach on some segments? Does anyone know?
MSPeconomist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 16, 5:15 pm
  #8  
Company Representative - ExpertFlyer.com
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,311
Lightbulb

Originally Posted by ClipperDelta View Post
Warning, it's still "buggy" (or maybe it's intended to be this way), but if you want DL flights to show up under "Flight Availability", you need to specifically put "DL" in the "Airline(s)" field (and only DL). If you simply do a query with no airlines specified, DL will not show up in the list of flights. Also, if you specify DL as well as other airlines in the "Airline(s)" field (e.g., DL, AA, UA), DL will not show up either.
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
Does this mean that searching for SkyTeam flights won't show DL either?

Now I'm going to have to re-learn how parts of EF work, including codeshares.

IIRC at least for upgrade inventory searches, connections appeared that only had availability for one (usually the shortest) segment, so I'm wondering whether this aspect of the way EF displays flights can affect the parts that are visible now. In particular, could searching for G A P fares show connections in which one would be sitting in coach on some segments? Does anyone know?
This isn't a bug. Since the DL availability data is from a source other than the GDSs, it can't be combined with other airlines in the search. We noted this in our post on the main EF thread earlier and on the EF Flight Availability search results if you include "DL" anywhere in the search.
ExpertFlyer Voice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 16, 7:44 pm
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: SFO/SJC, BWI
Programs: :rolleyes:, DL DM, Mlife Plat, TR 7*, SPG/MR Plat, UA 1K
Posts: 9,111
Originally Posted by ExpertFlyer Voice View Post
Since the DL availability data is from a source other than the GDSs, it can't be combined with other airlines in the search. We noted this in our post on the main EF thread earlier and on the EF Flight Availability search results if you include "DL" anywhere in the search.
My apologies, I think that got edited in after I quoted it -- I have edited post #703 in this thread to match.
Zorak is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 16, 7:57 pm
  #10  
Marriott 5+ Badge
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn
Programs: DL Diamond; SPG Platinum; sometimes other things too
Posts: 3,352
Upgrade space would still be nice (and is one thing that would seem to be in Delta's interests to let customers see, since they give out that information freely anyway but it takes up CS agents' time to give it -- whereas some things like letting customers set alerts for when lower fares become available, I can see how Delta might have thought was not in their interests to allow EF to offer).

But there are multiple other useful features of ExpertFlyer that are good to have back for Delta fliers, so many thanks to the ExpertFlyer team for having found a way to make this work.

One particular favorite that I'd almost forgotten about since it hadn't been available for Delta for quite a while now: seat alerts.
bgriff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 16, 8:26 pm
  #11  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 77,747
I used EF to check MCTs for DL. It's hard to find them all via google and I don't trust agents to know how to check them. The usual response is that delta.dumb only offers legal connections, which I *know* isn't true.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 16, 8:32 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ATL
Programs: DL Scattered Smothered Covered Medallion, Some hotel & car stuff, Kroger Plus Card
Posts: 9,393
Awesome news. Just regular inventory is key for SDC.
gooselee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 16, 8:34 pm
  #13  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 77,747
Originally Posted by gooselee View Post
Awesome news. Just regular inventory is key for SDC.
.....in coach. If you're ticketed with a G A P fare, you just need to see DL selling a FC seat.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 16, 8:41 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ATL
Programs: DL Scattered Smothered Covered Medallion, Some hotel & car stuff, Kroger Plus Card
Posts: 9,393
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
.....in coach. If you're ticketed with a G A P fare, you just need to see DL selling a FC seat.
Well, yes. But many of us do still find ourselves in the way back from time to time.
gooselee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 16, 8:47 pm
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BOS
Programs: DL DM 1MM, Marriott LTPlat, Hertz PC
Posts: 11,866
Good news, but still disappointing that EF has to go to some 'other' method to get the inventory data since it means they can't display upgrade availability.

I assume this also means that published fares are available too?
rylan is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread