Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals > Mileage Run Discussion
Reload this Page >

TIP: More hidden features of ITA

Old Jan 21, 2015, 10:55 am
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: hillrider
Here are some more hidden features of the ITA software.

The extensions to the itasoftware routing language are accessed by postpending commands after a '/'. There's a wide set of commands available, but there's no description of them available on the ITA web site. Unfortunately, each command applies only to one part of the trip, so they must usually be entered in each box.

EXCLUDE SPECIFIC AIRLINES
Command is "-airlines XX ..."
Ex: prohibit jetBlue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ -airlines B6 DL
to: LAX ::/ -airlines B6 DL

LIMIT TO SPECIFIC AIRLINES
Command is "airlines XX ..."
Ex: consider only jetBlue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ airlines B6 DL
to: LAX ::/ airlines B6 DL

LIMIT TO A SINGLE ALLIANCE
Command is "alliance star-alliance|oneworld|skyteam"
Ex: oneworld carriers only
from: BOS ::/ alliance oneworld
to: LAX ::/ alliance oneworld

EXCLUDE CODESHARES
Command is "-codeshare"
Ex: prohibit jetBlue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ -codeshare
to: LAX ::/ -codeshare

LIMIT DURATION OF ITINERARY, IN MINUTES
Command is "maxdur XXX"
Ex: no more than 5hrs for each part of trip
from: BOS ::/ maxdur 300
to: LAX ::/ maxdur 300

EXCLUDE OVERNIGHT STOPS, AIRPORT CHANGES, REDEYES, PROPELLER PLANES, TRAINS, HELICOPTERS, ANY KIND OF SURFACE TRAVEL
Commands are "-overnight", "-change", "-redeye", "-prop", "-train", "-helicopter", "-surface"
Ex: no overnight stops, no airport changes, no redeyes, no propeller planes
from: BOS ::/ -overnight, -change, -redeye, -prop
to: LAX ::/ -overnight, -change, -redeye, -prop

SET MINIMUM OR MAXIMUM TIME FOR CONNECTIONS, IN MINUTES
Commands are "minconnect XX", "maxconnect XX"
Ex: no less than one hour, no more than two hour connections
from: BOS ::/ minconnect 60, maxconnect 120
to: LAX ::/ minconnect 60, maxconnect 120

EXTRA CONNECTION TIME
Command is "padconnect XX"
Ex: require at least 20 minutes more than airline specified minimum connection time
from: BOS ::/ padconnect 20
to: LAX ::/ padconnect 20

PUTTING LOTS OF THINGS TOGETHER
Separate with commas.
Ex:
from: BOS :: UA UA / f bc=l|bc=y, -redeye, -prop
to: LAX :: UA+ / f ua.bos+lax.yup, padconnect 20, -overnight
Print Wikipost

TIP: More hidden features of ITA

Old May 5, 2015, 3:02 pm
  #406  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 95
Specifying Airline alliance in the Matrix search

I looked for this in the Wiki but could not find an answer, so here goes...in the initial matrix inquiry, how can I specify the airline alliance (*A, OW etc) that I prefer, so that results shown only correspond to my preferred alliance?
Annapurna is offline  
Old May 5, 2015, 3:05 pm
  #407  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ozarks
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 86
Originally Posted by Annapurna
I looked for this in the Wiki but could not find an answer, so here goes...in the initial matrix inquiry, how can I specify the airline alliance (*A, OW etc) that I prefer, so that results shown only correspond to my preferred alliance?
/ alliance oneworld^
Satblaster is offline  
Old May 6, 2015, 6:38 am
  #408  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: SIN
Programs: JL GC | Marriott LT Silver | Global Entry | SQ Silver
Posts: 6,820
Post alliance search

/alliance star-alliance
/alliance oneworld
/alliance skyteam
lcpteck is offline  
Old May 29, 2015, 4:17 am
  #409  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 205
Is it possible to search not only booking code but also single, determined fare?
sario is offline  
Old May 29, 2015, 4:34 am
  #410  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: bouncing C1&2
Programs: DL*DM/AA*G
Posts: 532
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/milea...ode-ita-3.html
cvision is offline  
Old May 29, 2015, 4:38 am
  #411  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 17,007
Originally Posted by sario
Is it possible to search not only booking code but also single, determined fare?
Sort of. It is possible to filter the results by a fare, but actually ITA doesn't "search" by the fare.

To find results covered by BA fare IM0R (any route), use (goes at the end of the advanced routing box):

/f BA..IM0R

To find results covered by IL28SALE (issued by any carrier on any route) use

/f ..IL28SALE

To find results covered by BA fare AAPUK9 on LONSAO, use

/f BA.LON+SAO.AAPUK9

To combine with the alliance flag /allinace oneworld (or whatever), use a semicolon instead of a slash

The reason the distinction between filtering and searching exists, is that in some cases ITA does not find the cheapest fare covering the sectors right away (particularly with complex multicity itineraries) and you want to give it a helping hand so that more results are returned matching the fare.

Unfortunately in that situation you will get "no flights found". I discussed it with ITA Hacker who filed a bug report but I was told it was a low priority to fix.
Calchas is offline  
Old May 29, 2015, 4:55 am
  #412  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 205
Thank you very much!
I did a try and indeed the result is "no flight found"
sario is offline  
Old May 29, 2015, 5:46 am
  #413  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 17,007
Originally Posted by sario
Thank you very much!
I did a try and indeed the result is "no flight found"
The question is, do you see results without the filter?

(Although it happens sometimes, it is more likely that your fare doesn't apply for some reason than ITA is missing a valid fare.)
Calchas is offline  
Old May 29, 2015, 7:20 am
  #414  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: LYS
Posts: 237
Is it possible to find flights with base fare code contain something special ?

For exemple:
I want to find all flights with fare basis code WFLYXPC and PFLYXPC and *****PC

I ve tried /f ..*PC or /f ..PC but nothing seem work ...
fabsys is offline  
Old May 29, 2015, 7:25 am
  #415  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 17,007
Originally Posted by fabsys
Is it possible to find flights with base fare code contain something special ?

For exemple:
I want to find all flights with fare basis code WFLYXPC and PFLYXPC and *****PC

I ve tried /f ..*PC or /f ..PC but nothing seem work ...
Try using a minus sign ( - ) as your wildcard.
Calchas is offline  
Old May 29, 2015, 7:30 am
  #416  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: LYS
Posts: 237
Originally Posted by Calchas
Try using a minus sign ( - ) as your wildcard.
^

Thank you very much
fabsys is offline  
Old May 29, 2015, 7:59 am
  #417  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 205
Originally Posted by Calchas
The question is, do you see results without the filter?

(Although it happens sometimes, it is more likely that your fare doesn't apply for some reason than ITA is missing a valid fare.)
I tried again and changed month
In the new search ITA shows the results, with or without filter
sario is offline  
Old Jun 3, 2015, 4:17 pm
  #418  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: LHR
Programs: M&M,HH Gold,Accor Plat.,Priority Club Plat. Ambassador,Club Carlson Gold,Marriott Gold,GHA Plat.
Posts: 1,627
I've to manage a Roundtrip ITA research, setting in this way:
e.g.
Departing from: FRA, HAM, MUC, TXL, DUS with forced departure from FRA (obligatory)
(empty)
To: NYC
(return via LHR to any of the departure ariports; basically the connection must be in LHR)
so at the end I'll have something like:

FRA-NYC-LHR-X where X stands for any airport (FRA, HAM, MUC, TXL, DUS)

No need to set a carrier (but it would be useful to have that provision too! )
can someone help me with the string code pls?
Paul4Travel is offline  
Old Jun 3, 2015, 4:39 pm
  #419  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 17,007
Originally Posted by Paul4Travel
I've to manage a Roundtrip ITA research, setting in this way:
e.g.
Departing from: FRA, HAM, MUC, TXL, DUS with forced departure from FRA (obligatory)
(empty)
To: NYC
(return via LHR to any of the departure ariports; basically the connection must be in LHR)
so at the end I'll have something like:

FRA-NYC-LHR-X where X stands for any airport (FRA, HAM, MUC, TXL, DUS)

No need to set a carrier (but it would be useful to have that provision too! )
can someone help me with the string code pls?
F+ LHR F+

If exactly one flight is required after LHR (it may be faster to search that way)

F+ LHR F
Calchas is offline  
Old Jun 3, 2015, 5:44 pm
  #420  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: LHR
Programs: M&M,HH Gold,Accor Plat.,Priority Club Plat. Ambassador,Club Carlson Gold,Marriott Gold,GHA Plat.
Posts: 1,627
Originally Posted by Calchas
F+ LHR F+

If exactly one flight is required after LHR (it may be faster to search that way)

F+ LHR F
Thanks for reply.
I think it's partially correct...I mean:

with that string I can't force the departure from FRA!
Paul4Travel is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.