Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals > Mileage Run Discussion
Reload this Page >

TIP: More hidden features of ITA

TIP: More hidden features of ITA

    Hide Wikipost
Old Nov 18, 17, 3:59 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: hillrider
Wiki Link
Here are some more hidden features of the ITA software.

The extensions to the itasoftware routing language are accessed by postpending commands after a '/'. There's a wide set of commands available, but there's no description of them available on the ITA web site. Unfortunately, each command applies only to one part of the trip, so they must usually be entered in each box.

EXCLUDE SPECIFIC AIRLINES
Command is "-airlines XX ..."
Ex: prohibit jetBlue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ -airlines B6 DL
to: LAX ::/ -airlines B6 DL

LIMIT TO SPECIFIC AIRLINES
Command is "airlines XX ..."
Ex: consider only jetBlue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ airlines B6 DL
to: LAX ::/ airlines B6 DL

LIMIT TO A SINGLE ALLIANCE
Command is "alliance star-alliance|oneworld|skyteam"
Ex: oneworld carriers only
from: BOS ::/ alliance oneworld
to: LAX ::/ alliance oneworld

EXCLUDE CODESHARES
Command is "-codeshare"
Ex: prohibit jetBlue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ -codeshare
to: LAX ::/ -codeshare

LIMIT DURATION OF ITINERARY, IN MINUTES
Command is "maxdur XXX"
Ex: no more than 5hrs for each part of trip
from: BOS ::/ maxdur 300
to: LAX ::/ maxdur 300

EXCLUDE OVERNIGHT STOPS, AIRPORT CHANGES, REDEYES, PROPELLER PLANES, TRAINS, HELICOPTERS, ANY KIND OF SURFACE TRAVEL
Commands are "-overnight", "-change", "-redeye", "-prop", "-train", "-helicopter", "-surface"
Ex: no overnight stops, no airport changes, no redeyes, no propeller planes
from: BOS ::/ -overnight, -change, -redeye, -prop
to: LAX ::/ -overnight, -change, -redeye, -prop

SET MINIMUM OR MAXIMUM TIME FOR CONNECTIONS, IN MINUTES
Commands are "minconnect XX", "maxconnect XX"
Ex: no less than one hour, no more than two hour connections
from: BOS ::/ minconnect 60, maxconnect 120
to: LAX ::/ minconnect 60, maxconnect 120

EXTRA CONNECTION TIME
Command is "padconnect XX"
Ex: require at least 20 minutes more than airline specified minimum connection time
from: BOS ::/ padconnect 20
to: LAX ::/ padconnect 20

PUTTING LOTS OF THINGS TOGETHER
Separate with commas.
Ex:
from: BOS :: UA UA / f bc=l|bc=y, -redeye, -prop
to: LAX :: UA+ / f ua.bos+lax.yup, padconnect 20, -overnight
Print Wikipost

Reply

Old Jun 21, 04, 2:34 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Programs: UA 1P MM
Posts: 730
TIP: More hidden features of ITA

Here are some more hidden features of the ITA software.

The extensions to the itasoftware routing language are accessed by postpending commands after a '/'. There's a wide set of commands available, but there's no description of them available on the ITA web site. Unfortunately, each command applies only to one part of the trip, so they must usually be entered in each box.

PREVENTING AIRLINES

Command is "-airlines XX ..."
Ex: prohibit Jet Blue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ -airlines B6 DL
to: LAX ::/ -airlines B6 DL

RESTRICTING TO AIRLINES

Command is "airlines XX ..."
Ex: consider only Jet Blue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ airlines B6 DL
to: LAX ::/ airlines B6 DL

LIMIT DURATION OF ITINERARY, IN MINUTES

Command is "maxdur XXX"
Ex: no more than 5hrs for each part of trip
from: BOS ::/ maxdur 300
to: LAX ::/ maxdur 300

PREVENT OVERNIGHT STOPS, AIRPORT CHANGES, REDEYES, PROPELLOR PLANES,
TRAINS, HELICOPTERS, ANY KIND OF SURFACE TRAVEL
Commands are "-overnight", "-change", "-redeye", "-prop", "-train", "-helicopter", "-surface"
Ex: no overnight stops, no airport chanes, no redeyes, no propellor planes
from: BOS ::/ -overnight, -change, -redeye, -prop
to: LAX ::/ -overnight, -change, -redeye, -prop

SET MINIMUM OR MAXIMUM TIME FOR CONNECTIONS, IN MINUTES

Commands are "minconnect XX", "maxconnect XX"
Ex: no less than one hour, no more than two hour connections
from: BOS ::/ minconnect 60, maxconnect 120
to: LAX ::/ minconnect 60, maxconnect 120

EXTRA CONNECTION TIME

Command is "padconnect XX"
Ex: require at least 20 minutes more than airline recommended
minimum connection time
from: BOS ::/ padconnect 20
to: LAX ::/ padconnect 20

PUTTING LOTS OF THINGS TOGETHER

Separate with commas.
Ex:
from: BOS :: UA UA / f bc=l|bc=y, -redeye, -prop
to: LAX :: UA+ / f ua.bos+lax.yup, padconnect 20, -overnight


------
On another note: CoMETS is coming along slowly but surely, as I add more features. New screenshots will be posted in a few days and I am hopeful that beta testing will start shortly thereafter.
SeattleFred is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 04, 8:33 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SFO sometimes
Programs: UA 1K, AA gold, A3 gold
Posts: 1,620
thanks!

once again a great post. ita gets more useful every day. and now i know how to avoid those helicopter segments
iloveipods is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 04, 8:25 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: DC
Programs: AA EXP; UAMM
Posts: 1,902
SeattleFred, do you know if anybody is consolidating all the ITA tips in one place? This is a goldmine of info, making all sorts of searches possible and easier than with other engines.

Maybe we could add this to a sticky on the MR forum?
nor4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 04, 1:23 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Programs: UA 1P MM
Posts: 730
Originally Posted by nor4
SeattleFred, do you know if anybody is consolidating all the ITA tips in one place? This is a goldmine of info, making all sorts of searches possible and easier than with other engines.

Maybe we could add this to a sticky on the MR forum?
bhatnasx has been adding these to the Mileage Run Tools (Part II) sticky at the top of this forum.
SeattleFred is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 06, 8:48 pm
  #5  
Company Representative - ITA Software
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 323
One more tip

For those who hate regional jets (or like to get upgraded!), in addition to the various other trip constraints (e.g. -prop, -overnight), you can now specify

-nofirstclass

This removes from consideration all flights without a first class cabin. All flights returned will have a first class cabin (though it will still quote you a coach price if that's what you've asked for).

Should remove all prop planes and any regional jet (or big jet!) without a first class cabin.
ITA Hacker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 06, 9:40 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,746
Originally Posted by ITA Hacker
For those who hate regional jets (or like to get upgraded!), in addition to the various other trip constraints (e.g. -prop, -overnight), you can now specify

-nofirstclass

This removes from consideration all flights without a first class cabin. All flights returned will have a first class cabin (though it will still quote you a coach price if that's what you've asked for).

Should remove all prop planes and any regional jet (or big jet!) without a first class cabin.
That is fantastic, thank you!
NHFL9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 06, 9:48 pm
  #7  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: GVA (Greater Vancouver Area)
Programs: DREAD Gold Card holder; UA 1.021MM; SPG/MR Pt-189/Au-197; PCC Elite+; CWC Au-197; CCC Elite; WoH Dis
Posts: 48,284
I would love to att the /airlines option implement alliances. Something like /airlines *A (for Star Alliance) or /airlines OW (for OneWorld). ITA Hacker - any chance?
mahasamatman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 06, 9:53 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 9,521
I think this is a good place to ask because I haven't found an answer so far:

Suppose I wanted to find flight between Toronto and London Heathrow

on BA in T or W class OR on AC in C or S class. How would I enter it?

I have tried YYZ:: BA / f bc = W?| bc = T?, AC / f bc = C?| bc = S?

but it hasn't worked. Can anyone help?

Thanks,
sadiqhassan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 06, 10:44 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: DEN
Programs: UA GS, 0.8MM
Posts: 11,224
Originally Posted by ITA Hacker
-nofirstclass
When I first saw this I started hyperventilating.

Then I read the rest of the post.
redbeard911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 06, 10:45 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: QLA
Programs: SBUX Gold
Posts: 14,505
Nice... and here I thought I was bored with ITA
IceTrojan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 06, 5:52 am
  #11  
Company Representative - ITA Software
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 323
Originally Posted by mahasamatman
I would love to att the /airlines option implement alliances. Something like /airlines *A (for Star Alliance) or /airlines OW (for OneWorld). ITA Hacker - any chance?
What, you don't want the ability to specify Executive Airlines (carrier code OW) in your query?

More seriously, the alliances are constantly changing, and keeping track of which airlines are in which alliances isn't something we've had to do up until now. The schedule data we receive theoretically contains this information (an alliance identifier for each flight), but the last time I checked it was very incomplete.

Still, we might add this functionality in the future. The best way to ask for enhancements is to go through the comments link on the site, though.

Until we have such a functionality, though, you can of course just cut and paste the list of airlines into the search box.
ITA Hacker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 06, 5:57 am
  #12  
Company Representative - ITA Software
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 323
Originally Posted by sadiqhassan
I think this is a good place to ask because I haven't found an answer so far:

Suppose I wanted to find flight between Toronto and London Heathrow

on BA in T or W class OR on AC in C or S class. How would I enter it?

I have tried YYZ:: BA / f bc = W?| bc = T?, AC / f bc = C?| bc = S?

but it hasn't worked. Can anyone help?

Thanks,
You can only have one "route specification" and one "faring specification" per box. Nevertheless, it's possible to cram what you're trying to do into one of each.

To constrain fare basis codes, you can do:

YYZ:: BA,AC / f ba..w-|ba..t-|ac..c-|ac..s-

Constraining booking codes is somewhat more difficult. Let me know if you'd rather do that and I'll figure out what the syntax would be.
ITA Hacker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 07, 7:53 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Programs: AA Plat, BMI
Posts: 138
I'm not getting how this is meant to work,

I put in LON::/ -airlines BD
and FRA::/ -airlines BD

expecting to only get results back for BMI flights but instead get

KLM, United, Lufthansa, British Airways, etc, etc.

What's the go?
ProggerPete is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 07, 8:06 am
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Greater DC
Programs: UA plus
Posts: 12,940
Originally Posted by ProggerPete View Post
I'm not getting how this is meant to work,

I put in LON::/ -airlines BD
and FRA::/ -airlines BD

expecting to only get results back for BMI flights but instead get

KLM, United, Lufthansa, British Airways, etc, etc.

What's the go?
From post #1 above ... BOS :: UA Just replace BOS with LON and UA with BD-- you'll see BMI flights. Spaces are important, I think this works. Hope it does & helps.
GoingAway is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 07, 8:06 am
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: In a little twisty maze of airline seats, all alike...
Programs: CO, NW & UA forum moderator emeritus
Posts: 27,846
Duplicate
Xyzzy is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: