Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals > Mileage Run Discussion
Reload this Page >

TIP: More hidden features of ITA

Old Jan 21, 2015, 10:55 am
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: hillrider
Here are some more hidden features of the ITA software.

The extensions to the itasoftware routing language are accessed by postpending commands after a '/'. There's a wide set of commands available, but there's no description of them available on the ITA web site. Unfortunately, each command applies only to one part of the trip, so they must usually be entered in each box.

EXCLUDE SPECIFIC AIRLINES
Command is "-airlines XX ..."
Ex: prohibit jetBlue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ -airlines B6 DL
to: LAX ::/ -airlines B6 DL

LIMIT TO SPECIFIC AIRLINES
Command is "airlines XX ..."
Ex: consider only jetBlue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ airlines B6 DL
to: LAX ::/ airlines B6 DL

LIMIT TO A SINGLE ALLIANCE
Command is "alliance star-alliance|oneworld|skyteam"
Ex: oneworld carriers only
from: BOS ::/ alliance oneworld
to: LAX ::/ alliance oneworld

EXCLUDE CODESHARES
Command is "-codeshare"
Ex: prohibit jetBlue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ -codeshare
to: LAX ::/ -codeshare

LIMIT DURATION OF ITINERARY, IN MINUTES
Command is "maxdur XXX"
Ex: no more than 5hrs for each part of trip
from: BOS ::/ maxdur 300
to: LAX ::/ maxdur 300

EXCLUDE OVERNIGHT STOPS, AIRPORT CHANGES, REDEYES, PROPELLER PLANES, TRAINS, HELICOPTERS, ANY KIND OF SURFACE TRAVEL
Commands are "-overnight", "-change", "-redeye", "-prop", "-train", "-helicopter", "-surface"
Ex: no overnight stops, no airport changes, no redeyes, no propeller planes
from: BOS ::/ -overnight, -change, -redeye, -prop
to: LAX ::/ -overnight, -change, -redeye, -prop

SET MINIMUM OR MAXIMUM TIME FOR CONNECTIONS, IN MINUTES
Commands are "minconnect XX", "maxconnect XX"
Ex: no less than one hour, no more than two hour connections
from: BOS ::/ minconnect 60, maxconnect 120
to: LAX ::/ minconnect 60, maxconnect 120

EXTRA CONNECTION TIME
Command is "padconnect XX"
Ex: require at least 20 minutes more than airline specified minimum connection time
from: BOS ::/ padconnect 20
to: LAX ::/ padconnect 20

PUTTING LOTS OF THINGS TOGETHER
Separate with commas.
Ex:
from: BOS :: UA UA / f bc=l|bc=y, -redeye, -prop
to: LAX :: UA+ / f ua.bos+lax.yup, padconnect 20, -overnight
Print Wikipost

TIP: More hidden features of ITA

Old Oct 18, 2013, 12:07 pm
  #346  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Programs: Mucci. Nothing else matters.
Posts: 38,649
Originally Posted by NWR
For example I'd like to limit the number of stops to not less than 3 stops with *alliance. Anyone know code that works?
If you really mean minimum three stops (ie minimum four flights), have you tried:-

f f f f f? f? f? / alliance star-alliance
Globaliser is offline  
Old Oct 20, 2013, 1:14 am
  #347  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
MR from LAX

I am looking to do a MR from LAX beginning on Mar 5, perhaps returning through ORD on Mar 7 (could do a hidden city). Thought perhaps about PVG, returning through HND (to avoid visa cost in PVG) but couldn't get it to work on ITA. Any suggestions?

Or any suggestions of a different mile run on Mar 5 from LAX ending in ORD or MKE?

Note: fly on AA
SL523 is offline  
Old Oct 25, 2013, 11:38 pm
  #348  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Programs: AA (EP), Hilton (Diamond), Marriott Bonvoy (Titanium)
Posts: 8,946
This looks really cool, but I always run into trouble trying to combine things. E.g., I'm trying to restrict one segment to an AA 77W:

Code:
SAN :: o:aa  dfw o:aa lhr,mad / aircraft t:77w o:ba,ib
When I click search, it changes
Code:
o:ba,ib
to
Code:
o:ba;ib
(changes the comma to a semicolon) and tells me there is a syntax error at "ib". If I take out the
Code:
/ aircraft t:77w
then it works.

Also, can I restrict a segment to no shorter than some amount? E.g., if I don't want an overnight flight shorter than 9 hours.
anabolism is offline  
Old Oct 28, 2013, 10:08 pm
  #349  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Programs: AA (EP), Hilton (Diamond), Marriott Bonvoy (Titanium)
Posts: 8,946
On the Fly (ITASoftware's iOS app)

I tried out On the Fly. Is there a way to get it to search for business or first?
anabolism is offline  
Old Oct 29, 2013, 7:57 am
  #350  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SGF
Programs: AS, AA, UA, AGR S (former 75K, GLD, 1K, and S+, now an elite peon)
Posts: 23,221
Originally Posted by anabolism
I tried out On the Fly. Is there a way to get it to search for business or first?
I use the app solely for when family/friends text me while I'm on the go asking for my help in finding cheap airfares. I never bother using it for myself as there's no way to input nearly the level of options, including routing codes, that you can on the website.

I really wish they'd unlock an "advanced mode" on the app that at least allowed inputting the routing language.
jackal is offline  
Old Oct 29, 2013, 10:46 am
  #351  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belfast
Posts: 398
Originally Posted by anabolism
I tried out On the Fly. Is there a way to get it to search for business or first?
Theres a button on the top left for 'More Options' that lets you then select cabin type
benjyyy is offline  
Old Oct 29, 2013, 1:19 pm
  #352  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Programs: AA (EP), Hilton (Diamond), Marriott Bonvoy (Titanium)
Posts: 8,946
Slash codes only apply to entire outbound or inbound?

It appears from trying it that slash codes (e.g., '/ aircraft t:77w') must be after all per-leg options and therefore can't apply to one leg only, but must be for the entire outbound or inbound. Is that right, or is there a way to apply a restriction to a leg? For example, I may be happy with a 767 on short legs but not overwater.
anabolism is offline  
Old Oct 29, 2013, 8:43 pm
  #353  
KVS
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 12,949
Arrow

Originally Posted by anabolism
It appears from trying it that slash codes (e.g., '/ aircraft t:77w') must be after all per-leg options and therefore can't apply to one leg only, but must be for the entire outbound or inbound.
That is correct.

Originally Posted by anabolism
Is that right, or is there a way to apply a restriction to a leg? For example, I may be happy with a 767 on short legs but not overwater.
You would need to use the Multi-City search for this.
KVS is offline  
Old Oct 29, 2013, 10:13 pm
  #354  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Programs: AA (EP), Hilton (Diamond), Marriott Bonvoy (Titanium)
Posts: 8,946
Originally Posted by benjyyy
Theres a button on the top left for 'More Options' that lets you then select cabin type
Cool, thanks!

Originally Posted by KVS
You would need to use the Multi-City search for this.
Oh well.

The ITA software is very cool. Out of curiosity, what's the reason ITA is doing this? I understand they license the back-end to airlines and travel agencies, but why are they being so nice to us travelers? Is it just to get wider exposure to how people want to search and see results?
anabolism is offline  
Old Nov 4, 2013, 12:22 pm
  #355  
NWR
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 106
I'd like to fly specifically SFO-any major mid-west or east coast city-SEA-NRT-SIN via UA. I've tried various advanced coding with no luck, including: ua+ was,bos,atl,nyc,ord ua+ sea ua nrt ua+
The result is always "no flights found". But I doubt that's true. Anyone have any advice? To many variables? Thank you.
NWR is offline  
Old Nov 4, 2013, 12:33 pm
  #356  
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chicago
Programs: AA EXP, Hilton Diamond, Bonvoy Titanium Elite, National Executive
Posts: 596
Cabin type, save Premium Economy....help a brutha out! Next revision please...
CaptRobPhD is offline  
Old Nov 4, 2013, 2:59 pm
  #357  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ORD, DEL
Programs: AA (Plt Pro; 1.5 MM)
Posts: 6,208
Originally Posted by NWR
I'd like to fly specifically SFO-any major mid-west or east coast city-SEA-NRT-SIN via UA. I've tried various advanced coding with no luck, including: ua+ was,bos,atl,nyc,ord ua+ sea ua nrt ua+
The result is always "no flights found". But I doubt that's true. Anyone have any advice? To many variables? Thank you.
Yeah, ITA seems to have reduced bandwidth and too many ua+'s may be choking the search. Try
ua was,bos,atl,nyc,ord ua sea ua nrt ua
to start with. Later, if you narrow down certain options, you can try ua+ in others. Better yet, increase the number of flights incrementally, eg, "ua ua?" instead of ua+.

Last edited by aktchi; Nov 9, 2013 at 12:48 pm Reason: Typo!
aktchi is offline  
Old Nov 9, 2013, 10:04 am
  #358  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: SBA
Programs: UA, AA, AmexP, PriorityPass, Hotels, Cards
Posts: 8
Thank you! Reading the tips and playing with ITA is addicting. Looking forward to my next adventure and future meetup
cocktailsfirst is offline  
Old Nov 25, 2013, 9:37 pm
  #359  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: VIE/ADL
Programs: QF Platinum/Lifetime Gold, LH Senator, AF Platinum
Posts: 87
Does anybody know if you can combine alliances into a single query? For example, I don't mind if I fly Star Alliance or Oneworld, as I get status benefits (and need to retain them) in both. So would only like to restrict my query to airlines only in either of these alliances - without doing two separate queries. Entering each individual airline is a painful process......
traveller1971 is offline  
Old Nov 25, 2013, 10:32 pm
  #360  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SGF
Programs: AS, AA, UA, AGR S (former 75K, GLD, 1K, and S+, now an elite peon)
Posts: 23,221
Originally Posted by traveller1971
Does anybody know if you can combine alliances into a single query? For example, I don't mind if I fly Star Alliance or Oneworld, as I get status benefits (and need to retain them) in both. So would only like to restrict my query to airlines only in either of these alliances - without doing two separate queries. Entering each individual airline is a painful process......
Hmm, can you negate (with -) the alliance flag? Haven't tried, but wonder if the syntax would work.
jackal is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.