Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

ARCHIVE: 2016 Sticker" / 500-mile & EXP "UDU" Complimentary Upgrade Policy / FAQ

ARCHIVE: 2016 Sticker" / 500-mile & EXP "UDU" Complimentary Upgrade Policy / FAQ

Old Apr 13, 16, 6:12 am
  #256  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: BNA and FLL
Programs: AA Gold, National Executive, IHG Gold, A List
Posts: 749
Originally Posted by MDWlvH8 View Post
Wife and I (both AA Plat) are traveling together from SFO-ORD, which requires 4 stickers each. But i purchased the tickets under my account under a single reservation, does this mean that I need 8 stickers to upgrade both of us? Or can I supply 4 of my stickers for me, and my wife can apply 4 of her stickers for her.
Pretty sure she can apply her own stickers. Just have her pull up her reservation on the AA app on her phone and then click on the upgrades button and I think she should be able to request just her own. And then you could do the same on your phone.
MSP_Monopoly is offline  
Old Apr 13, 16, 7:47 am
  #257  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South Florida
Programs: AA LTG (EXP), Hilton Silver (Dia), Marriott LTP (PP), SPG LTG (P) > MPG LTPP
Posts: 11,329
Originally Posted by MSP_Monopoly View Post
If I'm cleared and don't have enough and buy them online, will they post immediately so I can check in right away?
I believe they quote the 500-mile upgrades will post within two hours. It may be quicker than that.
RogerD408 is offline  
Old Apr 13, 16, 9:21 pm
  #258  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: DTW/MBS
Programs: UA Plat, HHonors Diamond, Hyatt Globalist, Formerly Starbucks Gold
Posts: 3,113
I'm on the upgrade list for a flight I did not request (currently platinum). I double checked, and there's still
The option to check for requesting an upgrade. Is AA proactively requesting for an op up? Flight looks full. Just weird they are doing it almost 4
Hours out.
BThumme is offline  
Old Apr 13, 16, 11:52 pm
  #259  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: MEM, TLV
Programs: DL, AA PLT, US, HH Gold, BW Diamond, Avis PP, Choice PLT
Posts: 559
Originally Posted by RogerD408 View Post
I believe what you've experienced before is what's called an OP-UP, for operational upgrade. This is where the GA has decided to upgrade your seat with the assumption they would be able to clear a standby into coach. This is a very last ditch effort to fill the plane and are few and far between for many people, if at all. AA is a company in the business to make money, providing transportation is secondary. So if they can "charge" either cash or other instrument, that goes to their bottom line. Good customer service no longer means anything to businesses.
I was gold for one day and on that very first day I was op up to first class. I was beyond shocked when they told me as my gold status was given to me by doing a Platinum challenge.

I am hoping my luck continues...
conklaven is offline  
Old Apr 14, 16, 1:28 pm
  #260  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New York
Programs: AA EXP, EY Gold, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold, IHG Gold, Hertz 5*, Global Entry
Posts: 245
So I recently purchased SFO-JFK in J. I noticed however that there is no ability to request an upgrade to F, despite there being an F cabin. Is there a way to request the upgrade? I know flights booked into Y will auto request or you can chose to request in PLT/GLD.
danohio is offline  
Old Apr 14, 16, 3:14 pm
  #261  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: DTW/MBS
Programs: UA Plat, HHonors Diamond, Hyatt Globalist, Formerly Starbucks Gold
Posts: 3,113
Originally Posted by danohio View Post
So I recently purchased SFO-JFK in J. I noticed however that there is no ability to request an upgrade to F, despite there being an F cabin. Is there a way to request the upgrade? I know flights booked into Y will auto request or you can chose to request in PLT/GLD.
15k miles plus $175 (if I), 15k miles if (J,D,R)

https://www.aa.com/i18n/AAdvantage/r...rade-chart.jsp
BThumme is offline  
Old Apr 14, 16, 3:19 pm
  #262  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: DEN, SCL
Programs: Double OWE (AA EXP, QF Plat), FI Gold, UA 1K
Posts: 1,885
Originally Posted by danohio View Post
So I recently purchased SFO-JFK in J. I noticed however that there is no ability to request an upgrade to F, despite there being an F cabin. Is there a way to request the upgrade? I know flights booked into Y will auto request or you can chose to request in PLT/GLD.
Can't use stickers for J to F upgrades, so you have to call.
zpaul is offline  
Old Apr 14, 16, 3:23 pm
  #263  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New York
Programs: AA EXP, EY Gold, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold, IHG Gold, Hertz 5*, Global Entry
Posts: 245
Originally Posted by BThumme View Post
15k miles plus $175 (if I), 15k miles if (J,D,R)

https://www.aa.com/i18n/AAdvantage/r...rade-chart.jsp
Sorry if my question wasn't clear. I'm not looking to do a mileage upgrade. As an elite, I should be able to request comp or sticker upgrades. Being booked into J on a 3-class, there is not option to request or showing it auto-requested for the SFO-JFK flight. Right now it is showing "Not Offered". Which is normal for being booked into F, but it should say requested.
danohio is offline  
Old Apr 14, 16, 3:53 pm
  #264  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: DTW/MBS
Programs: UA Plat, HHonors Diamond, Hyatt Globalist, Formerly Starbucks Gold
Posts: 3,113
Originally Posted by danohio View Post
Sorry if my question wasn't clear. I'm not looking to do a mileage upgrade. As an elite, I should be able to request comp or sticker upgrades. Being booked into J on a 3-class, there is not option to request or showing it auto-requested for the SFO-JFK flight. Right now it is showing "Not Offered". Which is normal for being booked into F, but it should say requested.
You were clear. There is no complimentary/sticker upgrades from J to F, only Y to J. You can request J to F via what I said. I flew JFK-SFO and was in the same situation.
BThumme is offline  
Old Apr 14, 16, 4:14 pm
  #265  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: AA Executive Platinum, Marriott LT Platinum/Ambassador
Posts: 31
Plat upgraded before EXPs

Every week I fly a <500 mile segment with two colleagues. One colleague and I are EXP, the other colleague is Plat. Typically my upgrade for this segment clears at 100 hours. The last two weeks, the Plat colleague's upgrade cleared at 72 hours and the other EXP and I ended up on airport upgrade list as #1 & #2, with only one of us actually clearing (me last week, her this week). We're all buying comparable fares, itineraries, and advance purchase (more than 60 days). The Plat colleague swears they're standard complimentary upgrades; he showed me his "You've been upgraded" email. How is it possible that his upgrade is processing before ours?
RadSam is offline  
Old Apr 14, 16, 4:26 pm
  #266  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New York
Programs: AA EXP, EY Gold, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold, IHG Gold, Hertz 5*, Global Entry
Posts: 245
Originally Posted by BThumme View Post
You were clear. There is no complimentary/sticker upgrades from J to F, only Y to J. You can request J to F via what I said. I flew JFK-SFO and was in the same situation.
Well that sucks, thanks.
danohio is offline  
Old Apr 18, 16, 6:39 am
  #267  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: LGA/JFK/EWR
Programs: UA 1K1.5MM, Hyatt Globalist, abandoned Marriott LTT (RIP SPG), Hertz PC
Posts: 20,208
Originally Posted by Jim_F View Post
I contacted AA about this since my account showed 1 e500 was redeemed on 3/23/16 yet I've never redeemed any e500s. I was told there was an "audit" to address some discrepancies between the balances shown on aa.com and the actual reservation system. Apparently the audit discovered I had 1 too many e500s. I find this odd since I earned exactly 12 last year (as part of the US migration) and have never redeemed any for upgrades. The agent I talked to said she would investigate further.

Anyone else noticed they've had e500s deducted from their account?
Add me to the list. Subtracted 4 from my account 3/23. Kinda sucks.
UA-NYC is offline  
Old May 6, 16, 8:08 am
  #268  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: TPA/DFW
Programs: AA EXP, MB LTTE/A HH DIA, DL
Posts: 1,275
I apologize if this has been asked. I have searched for a while and cannot find a specific answer.

My spouse is Platinum. I've noticed since the batch update last month adjusting the EQMs of F/C flights of less than 500 miles to 1000 EQMs that the "EQMs needed to earn 500-mile upgrades" are now being reduced by 1000 miles for each leg.

Is that the correct amount that should be counted?
txpenny is offline  
Old May 6, 16, 8:17 am
  #269  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South Florida
Programs: AA LTG (EXP), Hilton Silver (Dia), Marriott LTP (PP), SPG LTG (P) > MPG LTPP
Posts: 11,329
Originally Posted by txpenny View Post
I apologize if this has been asked. I have searched for a while and cannot find a specific answer.

My spouse is Platinum. I've noticed since the batch update last month adjusting the EQMs of F/C flights of less than 500 miles to 1000 EQMs that the "EQMs needed to earn 500-mile upgrades" are now being reduced by 1000 miles for each leg.

Is that the correct amount that should be counted?
Yes, since you earn 100% bonus miles, those flights under 500 earn 1000 miles for Plats.
RogerD408 is offline  
Old May 6, 16, 11:17 am
  #270  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: TPA/DFW
Programs: AA EXP, MB LTTE/A HH DIA, DL
Posts: 1,275
She needs to make a call.

When AA did the adjustment, she was credited for an additional 500 EQMs for 10 of her 11 trips, however only credited for 3 of the 11 in the "EQMs needed to earn 500-mile upgrades".

Additionally, she was not given the 4 stickers for tipping 10000 miles by February 29th (which she would have earned if AA had been applying correctly from the start of the year).

Oy Vey
txpenny is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: