Go Back   > >
    Hide Wikipost
Old Mar 9, 15, 2:51 pm   -   Wikipost
FlyerTalk Forums Thread Wiki: Airline Route Mapper tool (windows based)
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: IMH
Wiki Link
Temporary wiki. Please read before changing: thanks! usAir created this wiki to hold the entire contents of the Airline Route Mapper data file. I've just edited it to remove that data, so should explain why: I appreciate usAir's initiative, but don't think the wiki in that form was a step forward.

1.) The data file is IMO too large to post in this location. Some (if not all) browsers load the entire wiki each time the thread is accessed. That had the effect of killing my browser for two to three minutes, then slowing my computer dramatically (and my setup, while not especially good, isn't the world's worst: DSL connection, latest Firefox version, 8GB RAM).

2.) The data initially posted were old ("from the last version of the airline route mapper", according to usAir's post on March 9 2015) and easily accessible (download Link: http://arm.64hosts.com/AirlineRouteMapper.zip), so nothing is lost by removing them from the wiki.

IMH
--
Print Wikipost

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Dec 9, 07, 7:27 pm   #46
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcherney View Post
Yes. I'm sure. The flight I'm on is NW 1731 DTW-STT (Feb 2 08). It's definately not a codeshare with anyone (as far as I know). And the DTW-GCM is flight 1796 (Mar 22 08) which is a codeshare w/ CO, but it's on NW metal.
Thanks, I can see them now.

Do you know if there is a published timetable or something that contains NW seasonal flights? The PDF timetable available from NW doesn't list them (valid only for one month), SkyTeam doesn't offer a readable timetable and neither Amex nor OAG timetables have them.

I think I'll have to allow adding user-defined flights.
cockpitvisit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 07, 8:17 pm   #47
Suspended
  
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Metro Detroit
Programs: DL Plat, NW Plat
Posts: 708
I don't, sorry. I only know about these flights 'cause I'm on them!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by cockpitvisit View Post
Thanks, I can see them now.

Do you know if there is a published timetable or something that contains NW seasonal flights? The PDF timetable available from NW doesn't list them (valid only for one month), SkyTeam doesn't offer a readable timetable and neither Amex nor OAG timetables have them.

I think I'll have to allow adding user-defined flights.
jcherney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 07, 12:16 am   #48
  
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Castro, San Francisco, California
Programs: UA, DL, AA, Aegean Air, Cal Alumni (go Bears!)
Posts: 568
Smile Thank you much, cockpitvisit

So what if there are a couple of bugs, it is great work and nothing that I could even dream about doing. You have also graciously shared it with FTers.
You are to be commended.
x1achilles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 07, 7:27 am   #49
Moderator, OneWorld
  
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SEA
Programs: RAA RIP; AA ExEXP
Posts: 8,934
It sounds great; unfortunately when I launch the program, I get a white screen with the menus, but no maps or anything. Am I doing something wrong? Oh wait. Vista. Could it be?
Gardyloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 07, 7:54 am   #50
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,061
Try disabling the Aero desktop or launching the program in the XP compatibility mode.
cockpitvisit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 07, 8:23 am   #51
  
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Roanoke, VA
Programs: UA Gold, MR Platinum
Posts: 101
Very nice! Quick, clean and easy to use! Much appreciated.
HomeAgain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 07, 9:12 am   #52
Moderator, OneWorld
  
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SEA
Programs: RAA RIP; AA ExEXP
Posts: 8,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by cockpitvisit View Post
Try disabling the Aero desktop or launching the program in the XP compatibility mode.
Thanks - works in XP emulation.
Gardyloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 07, 1:19 am   #53
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 13,144
Wow! This is indeed an excellent tool!
Rejuvenated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 07, 11:58 pm   #54
925
  
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: UA Gold, Marriott Plat
Posts: 2,838
Fabulous! I have spent hours and hours just playing with it.

I find it helpful for flights and routes. It specializes in that. But it also has a lot of AIRPORT data in memory. I would love to see more development of the existing data from an airport perspective. It is very clumsy to try to route airport to airport (especially for smaller airports near busy routes when all routes are turned on), and you can't do nearby airports well at all. If I have no idea what airlines fly into a given airport, I am really stuck. Once I know what airline flies into the airport, then it becomes easier. Would also like to be able to say "show me the airports within x miles".
925 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 08, 1:45 pm   #55
  
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: BOS/ HKG/ SIN
Programs: UA 1K, BA Gold, AF Plat
Posts: 218
thanks man, this is definitely a g8 app. here's one bug that i found- the GSP to EWR route doesn't show up when one filters and chooses CO (drop-down menu) but the route is listed when you select the GSP airport logo.

cheers
ultrasoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 08, 1:52 pm   #56
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,061
The route shows up if you enable codeshares. It is probably served by a CO regional partner, which show up as codeshares in timetables.

P.S. The tool is not dead, there will be an update in a few days.
cockpitvisit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 08, 2:00 pm   #57
  
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: BOS/ HKG/ SIN
Programs: UA 1K, BA Gold, AF Plat
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by cockpitvisit View Post
The route shows up if you enable codeshares. It is probably served by a CO regional partner, which show up as codeshares in timetables.

P.S. The tool is not dead, there will be an update in a few days.
i was going to edit my previous post to state that lol actually, it's not technically a code-share but a route operated by Continental Express (whose airline code is still CO).

So i guess a suggestion would be to have codeshares included when selecting an airline via the drop-down menu

EDIT: My bad, you've actually had it as an option in the drop-down lol. silly me
ultrasoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 08, 5:00 pm   #58
  
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Homeless
Programs: AA PLT 2MM
Posts: 553


Very neat tool. I found a bug -- the New Haven Rail Station (ZVE) is in South America. Also would be great to see some more of the African and Asian carriers, like Ethiopian (ET) or Vietnam Airlines (VN). Thanks for the great program.
danang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 08, 2:42 pm   #59
  
Join Date: Apr 2004
Programs: DL; AA PLT
Posts: 31


What a great tool, you would think travel agencies would have something like this. It's exactly what I was looking for to plot some dream trips. It also helps me look for airlines supporting routes I wish to take. What a great way to get started.

Now I can figure out how to get to PPT from BRS or some other crazy route.

Last edited by downandup; Jan 25, 08 at 2:48 pm
downandup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 08, 1:45 pm   #60
  
Join Date: Apr 2004
Programs: DL; AA PLT
Posts: 31
I too have the same problem viewing data on a route as I get white text on a pale box. View .. Find .. on an airport works well enough, I can clearly read the text.

I also see routes for Whyalla Airlines which I think are wrongly ascribed to this airline - a search on the internet tells me that Whyalla was a tiny regional Australian airline that went out of business after being grounded following a crash. Nor do I think that these routes are valid.
downandup is offline   Reply With Quote
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Thread Tools
Search Thread
Go to Top
Forum Jump
Contact Us - FlyerTalk - Archive - Top