Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Tools
Reload this Page >

Airline Route Mapper tool (windows based)

Airline Route Mapper tool (windows based)

    Hide Wikipost
Old Dec 26, 18, 9:16 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: lbbzman
Wiki Link
Latest version (as of 24-Dec-2018) - available at http://depositfiles.com/files/7qxijyzuo. See post #743 for details. ~LBBZman
Print Wikipost

Old Oct 6, 08, 5:12 pm
  #106  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,481
cockpitvisit, many thanks for this useful tool.

A tip for users without the middle mouse scroll button: In firefox, just use ctrl + to zoom in.
SQFAN is offline  
Old Oct 6, 08, 5:28 pm
  #107  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: various cities in the USofA: NYC, BWI, IAH, ORD, CVG, NYC
Programs: Former UA 1K, National Exec. Elite
Posts: 5,486
The program has YNZ in the East Sea/Sea of Japan between Korea & Japan. gc.kls2.com is guilty of this too. I believe it's actually at 33d22N 120d21E (not an aircraft carrier at 35N 130E).
ralfp is offline  
Old Nov 3, 08, 1:50 pm
  #108  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Programs: UA
Posts: 5
improvement needed

Cockpitvisit, many thanks, this is such a life-saver tool!
Unfortunately, on my laptop PC, the pop-up window showing an airport and the corresponding airlines has text in white over a light background, so it is not legible at all (it is in black over a light background in your screenshot).
Is there a fix?
Regards
DFB
dfbgn is offline  
Old Nov 3, 08, 2:08 pm
  #109  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: SFO/SJC
Programs: UA Silver
Posts: 12,343
Great application! Kudos
CApreppie is offline  
Old Nov 3, 08, 3:26 pm
  #110  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Programs: UA
Posts: 5
color, map definition problems

Cockpitvisit,
I think most problems would be resolved if the program was actually installed on a computer as opposed to simply executed.
What do you reckon? Possible?
dfbgn is offline  
Old Nov 3, 08, 4:21 pm
  #111  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Programs: UA
Posts: 5
color problem

Hi Cockpitvisit,
In case this helps you with the color problem: the cities are green dots, but when I put the cursor on one, they all turn yellow as the pop-up windows appears in white on off-white.
Seems like a display adapter problem (Intel).... I do not have the problem on my desktop (Nvidia)....
I have tried to play with compatibility run modes, to no avail.
I have played with the settings of my graphic card as well, to no avail.
What a pity!
( I also have the problem of the land map disappearing in maximized window mode; only city dots remain...)
DFB
dfbgn is offline  
Old Nov 4, 08, 12:13 am
  #112  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,478
Originally Posted by dfbgn View Post
Cockpitvisit, many thanks, this is such a life-saver tool!
Unfortunately, on my laptop PC, the pop-up window showing an airport and the corresponding airlines has text in white over a light background, so it is not legible at all (it is in black over a light background in your screenshot).
Could you please download and try this version:
http://arm.64hosts.com/AirlineRouteMapperTEST1.zip

Unzip it into the folder where you have Airline Route Mapper installed, overwriting the old EXE file.

If the problem remains, try enabling View|Opaque Tooltips and restarting the application.

I also have the problem of the land map disappearing in maximized window mode
If you drag the map around or change the zoom factor, does it reappear?
cockpitvisit is offline  
Old Nov 4, 08, 2:31 am
  #113  
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: HKG
Programs: A3, TK *G; JL JGC; SPG,Hilton Gold
Posts: 9,959
i wish i could give a coment on that.. when are you gonna put on a mac version? Thanks
kaka is offline  
Old Nov 5, 08, 10:32 am
  #114  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,478
Maybe there will be a Java version in the future that runs on a mac too, but not very soon.
cockpitvisit is offline  
Old Nov 5, 08, 10:34 am
  #115  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,478
New update available

I have uploaded a new version today. Changes are:

The route maps have been updated to reflect November 2008.

The types of aircraft used to serve routes are now shown in the tooltip. You can also restrict the display of routes to those only served by specific aircraft type(s).

Option to disable transparency in tooltips added for troubleshooting.
cockpitvisit is offline  
Old Nov 5, 08, 8:51 pm
  #116  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: SFO/SJC
Programs: UA Silver
Posts: 12,343
It is addictive.
CApreppie is offline  
Old Nov 10, 08, 7:49 am
  #117  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Here and there...
Programs: *A Gold, ST Gold; SPG Plat
Posts: 99
Unhappy Doesn't work maximized

OP, this is a wonderful tool! However, I just put the latest version (1.2.0.0) on my main box at home (Vista x64, Radeon 4850 with Catalyst 8.10 drivers running at 2560x1600 on a 30" screen) and everything works great until I maximize the application. At that point both the sea and the land becomes white, i.e. disappears, all I see is the green dots with black borders in a sea of white. The routes and tooltips display fine. I tried the disable transparent tooltips option and it makes no difference.

Please PM me if you would like me to help you track this bug down.

Caesar
caesar04 is offline  
Old Nov 10, 08, 7:40 pm
  #118  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: CNX;PIA;FCO
Programs: UA 1P, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold, AAdvantage
Posts: 135
cockpitvisit, Thanks for the great tool! I am running a Mac with a virtual Windows environment on it, and it works like a charm!
abebix is offline  
Old Nov 17, 08, 12:39 pm
  #119  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SJC (formerly CHI and STL)
Programs: DL, AA, UA, WN
Posts: 931
Originally Posted by cockpitvisit View Post
I have uploaded a new version today. Changes are:

The route maps have been updated to reflect November 2008.
This continues to be a great tool, thanks for the update!

Just as an FYI for your next update, Porter Airlines has its routes and aircraft reflected under its PD code, but the PD code shows a name of "Palau Micronesia Air" rather than Porter.
steex is offline  
Old Nov 19, 08, 11:54 am
  #120  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: GLA
Programs: FB - SIlver. BA - Blue. Marriott Gold. CO Gold. Clubcard
Posts: 14
This is a very handy tool indeed, and I have used it in ernest recently on trips with work.

Thanks for your hard work cockpitvisit in creating it.
willmurray is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread