Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Qatar Airways | Privilege Club
Reload this Page >

How to Check Rewards Flight Availability on Qatar Website

How to Check Rewards Flight Availability on Qatar Website

Old Mar 22, 22, 3:29 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 213
How to Check Rewards Flight Availability on Qatar Website

I recently linked my BA and Qatar accounts and want to check the rewards flight availability for my flights on Qatar Airways on the Qatar website before I transfer my Avios from BA to Qatar.

However, when I visit the Redeem Avios page on the Qatar website, enter the details and click, "Show Flights," (Redeem on Qatar Airways), I get the error that says, "You do not have sufficient Avios to proceed with booking."

Therefore, how can I search reward flight availability on Qatar Airways on their website?
GarudaSoars is offline  
Old Mar 22, 22, 4:32 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: DFW
Programs: AA 1M
Posts: 30,811
I had the same issue. Make sure you transfer enough avios from BA. Look for the Combine Avios button.
arfaczar likes this.
UA Fan is offline  
Old Mar 22, 22, 4:39 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 213
Originally Posted by UA Fan View Post
I had the same issue. Make sure you transfer enough Avios from BA. Look for the Combine Avios button.
Really disappointed you can't just check to plan unless you have enough Avios. I have never faced this issue on any other program I have used (Emirates, British Airways, Alaska, AA, United).
GarudaSoars is offline  
Old Mar 22, 22, 4:52 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: DFW
Programs: AA 1M
Posts: 30,811
Originally Posted by GarudaSoars View Post
Really disappointed you can't just check to plan unless you have enough Avios. I have never faced this issue on any other program I have used (Emirates, British Airways, Alaska, AA, United).
Its a free transfer so after you are done searching move it back.
UA Fan is offline  
Old Mar 22, 22, 5:11 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 213
Originally Posted by UA Fan View Post
Its a free transfer so after you are done searching move it back.
'
Thank you. Yes, did that. But would have been an issue if I didn't have enough Avios. While BA and Qatar have same Avios requirements now (and minor difference in surcharges), certain itineraries can'e be priced on the BA website such as USA -> DOH -> GCC Country as BA is only showing Economy award availability on the DOH -> GCC segment where as Qatar has First award availability on the DOH -> GCC segment. So if one does not enough Avios, it essentially isn't possible to check availability on the Qatar website.
loangirl2007 likes this.
GarudaSoars is offline  
Old Mar 22, 22, 6:40 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 213
Originally Posted by UA Fan View Post
I had the same issue. Make sure you transfer enough avios from BA. Look for the Combine Avios button.
I tried moving the Avios back to my BA account. I get the error, "Sorry. The transfer was unsuccessful Unfortunately, we are not able to process your request. Please try again after some time." Did you face the same issue?
GarudaSoars is offline  
Old Mar 22, 22, 7:39 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,450
Originally Posted by GarudaSoars View Post
I tried moving the Avios back to my BA account. I get the error, "Sorry. The transfer was unsuccessful Unfortunately, we are not able to process your request. Please try again after some time." Did you face the same issue?

Interesting, this stops me from linking my accounts! Pity, I signed up for QR just to get a 2,000 point sign up reward in order to augment my BA riches! Back to Bloody Awful!
puchong is offline  
Old Mar 22, 22, 8:57 pm
  #8  
formerly willbbiddy
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 205
Can anyone check Qatar business availability IST-DOH RT 11/20-12/3. I'd love to know is something is available from them but of course I can't search without enough points and I don't want to speculatively transfer points just to find out there isn't anything. Thank you.
BirdLawyer is offline  
Old Mar 22, 22, 9:45 pm
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 213
Originally Posted by BirdLawyer View Post
Can anyone check Qatar business availability IST-DOH RT 11/20-12/3. I'd love to know is something is available from them but of course I can't search without enough points and I don't want to speculatively transfer points just to find out there isn't anything. Thank you.
I looked it up for Award flights and get the message, "There are currently no flights matching your search. Please try different travel dates or itinerary." Revenue ticket is available.
GarudaSoars is offline  
Old Mar 22, 22, 9:59 pm
  #10  
formerly willbbiddy
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 205
Originally Posted by GarudaSoars View Post
I looked it up for Award flights and get the message, "There are currently no flights matching your search. Please try different travel dates or itinerary." Revenue ticket is available.
Thank you
BirdLawyer is offline  
Old Mar 22, 22, 10:47 pm
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: DFW
Programs: AA 1M
Posts: 30,811
Originally Posted by GarudaSoars View Post
I tried moving the Avios back to my BA account. I get the error, "Sorry. The transfer was unsuccessful Unfortunately, we are not able to process your request. Please try again after some time." Did you face the same issue?
Haven't tried yet.
UA Fan is offline  
Old Mar 23, 22, 1:16 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8,886
You don't need enough points to book to allow you to search, just a non-zero amount I think.
ft101 is offline  
Old Mar 25, 22, 2:21 pm
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 213
Originally Posted by ft101 View Post
You don't need enough points to book to allow you to search, just a non-zero amount I think.
You are right. I was able to transfer the Avios back from my QR account to my BA account today (yay). I left 1 Avios in the account and was able to do an Award ticket search and see Award availability.

Booked a QR award using my Avios. So happy with the new partnership!
GarudaSoars is offline  
Old Mar 25, 22, 2:30 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Programs: QF, TK, VA, SQ
Posts: 600
Not sure if this is a universal workaround, but I found today that after getting the not enough Avios error, I searched for a revenue fare and then at the results page there was an option to search for awards which worked fine.

Hope this helps.
pythonisman is offline  
Old Mar 25, 22, 4:55 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1,448
Originally Posted by pythonisman View Post
Not sure if this is a universal workaround, but I found today that after getting the not enough Avios error, I searched for a revenue fare and then at the results page there was an option to search for awards which worked fine.

Hope this helps.
This for me as well with 0 points.
pythonisman likes this.
kalderlake is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread