Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

Payload Optimized [The Definitive Thread]

Payload Optimized [The Definitive Thread]

Old Mar 15, 16, 7:45 pm
  #31  
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: MSP
Programs: None that I am proud of anymore
Posts: 569
Also add to the mix SLC is a mountain altitude airport with full pax load and
headwinds forecasted and fuel loaded for a non stop flight the envelope limits
of the aircraft may be pushed to the edge. Upon takeoff an emergency return
to the airport maybe a limiting factor with mountains and high terrain all around
and the inability to climb out of the Salt Lake bowl to find an alternate !
Since this is still winter at least as far as SLC is concerned the weight/balance
tables would have a hefty thumb on the scale with psgrs baggage/gear hats
coats and gloves etc. - unlike bikini beach summer weather gear.
I am not buying the premium cargo - Delta has plenty of other options for
routing that cargo and nobody ships around that much Delta Dash !
What is possible a maintenance issue limitation on the gross load of the equipment.
DLERT is offline  
Old Mar 15, 16, 8:13 pm
  #32  
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: MSP
Programs: None that I am proud of anymore
Posts: 569
Originally Posted by TTT View Post
I was on a new A319 from MSP-BZN that was payload optimized a couple of months ago. No cabin baggage could be checked, it all had to fit in the cabin. Weird given the relatively short distance.

Do the few added seats to the new A319/A320 configuration make this more commonplace?
Take one row out of Y with 6 seats and replace with one row of F with 4 seats -
net loss of two seats - results in less weight by two pax with baggage and
the weight of the seats.
This does not compute or answer the problem.
NOW if all the Y rows are scrunched up to add that one more row of F then
there is a net gain of 4 seats with the pax baggage and weight of 4 seats -
probably adding 1200 pounds potential to the weight of the aircraft.

MSP-BZN non-stop is about the same distance and flight time as MSP-SLC.
Not short and not long like a flight to LAX.

Puzzling: "No cabin baggage could be checked, it all had to fit in the cabin."

Please explain this or did you mean something else like did all the luggage
have to ride in the passenger cabin - none could be carried in the CARGO
HOLD because of some quirky maintenance issue ???
DLERT is offline  
Old Mar 15, 16, 8:24 pm
  #33  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: RDU
Programs: DL DM(segs)/MM, Hilton DM, Marriott Ti (life Pt), TSA Opt-out Platinum
Posts: 2,827
"Payload Optimized" = euphemism for "overweight"?
HDQDD is offline  
Old Mar 15, 16, 8:35 pm
  #34  
TTT
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 45 North
Programs: DL DM MM, HH Diamond
Posts: 10,161
Originally Posted by DLERT View Post
Take one row out of Y with 6 seats and replace with one row of F with 4 seats -
net loss of two seats - results in less weight by two pax with baggage and
the weight of the seats.
This does not compute or answer the problem.
The new A319 config is a net gain of 6 seats and the new A320 has a net gain of 10 seats.

Puzzling: "No cabin baggage could be checked, it all had to fit in the cabin."

Please explain this or did you mean something else like did all the luggage
have to ride in the passenger cabin - none could be carried in the CARGO
HOLD because of some quirky maintenance issue ???
They were unable to gate check any cabin luggage (cary-on) bags due to the payload optimization. A bag in the hold is counted differently than a bag in the cabin for W/B purposes and they couldn't add any more bags in the hold.
TTT is online now  
Old Mar 16, 16, 5:26 am
  #35  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ATL
Programs: Delta Plat
Posts: 5,939
Originally Posted by HDQDD View Post
"Payload Optimized" = euphemism for "overweight"?
I think it is technically the program that kicks in when a flight is overweight, or near max weight.

More refined weight estimates, then planning what pax/bags/cargo should fly.

Of course, it might really be Joe calling from DL Air Freight saying somebody will pay 20K to get some equipment to BOS, so boot the bags :-)
exwannabe is offline  
Old Mar 16, 16, 5:03 pm
  #36  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, MM, NR; HH Diamond, Bonvoy Gold, Hyatt Explorist, IHG Spire, others
Posts: 11,839
Originally Posted by BOSTransplant View Post
Have you had bad experiences with DL's baggage delivery? I've only needed it once, on a tight connection in ATL where I made it to LAS but my bags didn't. The agent at LAS told me they would send my bag on the first plane the next day and it would be delivered by lunch. To my surprise, it was actually delivered to the front desk of my hotel around 3 am. It must have come in on a cargo delivery flight, because there were definitely no more ATL-LAS passenger flights going out the night before.
My experience is the opposite. There were many flights that day; they said that my bag would be on the next one (it was) and that they'd expedite and prioritize it and ship it out immediately so I'd have it that afternoon. They lied. That evening, I called to ask where it was, and they had just handed it over to the delivery service. I called the delivery service; they said they only picked up once a day (so any claims about afternoon delivery were known lies) and they delivered in whatever order they chose, with no priority for any passenger due to status (another lie).
sethb is offline  
Old Mar 16, 16, 5:06 pm
  #37  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, MM, NR; HH Diamond, Bonvoy Gold, Hyatt Explorist, IHG Spire, others
Posts: 11,839
Originally Posted by TTT View Post
The new A319 config is a net gain of 6 seats and the new A320 has a net gain of 10 seats.
I'd call that an increase, not a gain.
sethb is offline  
Old May 27, 16, 3:47 pm
  #38  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: BOS
Programs: SkyMiles Gold, AAdvantage Member, Elevate Silver
Posts: 628
Tonight's DL1889 has it (BOS-SLC) it's also on the new 16F configuration.
BostonPlanesAndTrains is offline  
Old May 27, 16, 3:55 pm
  #39  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Programs: DL PM 1MM
Posts: 3,168
delete
mnbp is offline  
Old May 27, 16, 9:31 pm
  #40  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 1,080
Originally Posted by Dieuwer View Post
Why not VDB/IDB if the "payload" is so precious?
This actually happened to me... Same route (SLC -> BOS). They were looking for 9+ volunteers on that flight.

At first I thought they were just way oversold... But then they started pulling bags from the hold. My parents flew home, I volunteered. They said my seat in C+ was left empty, along with several others. So I can only suspect "must fly" cargo, or way to many skis on board.

(Ironically, my luggage was *not* pulled even though I stayed an extra day and many other bags were. Darn priority tags :-P)
appleguru is offline  
Old Aug 4, 16, 1:25 pm
  #41  
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
DL does not use A319/A320 for TCON

Originally Posted by often1 View Post
'320's (and '319's) routinely fly tcon's on dl and other carriers and that's the way things are and will remain. The days of flying excess capacity are long gone.

Once in a great while, this will result in weight restrictions before loading and that's a bit of a hassle. Enroute, maybe a fuel diversion and a bit of a greater hassle.

But, that's better than losing a frequency which is the alternative.
incorrect! Dl does not use a319/320 for transcon..they use 757/767.thank you.
mrbratty is offline  
Old Aug 4, 16, 1:30 pm
  #42  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Programs: HHonors Gold, Hertz 5*, SPG Gold, AMEX Plat, buys Spirit tickets at the airport ticket counter ;-)
Posts: 488
Originally Posted by mrbratty View Post
incorrect! Dl does not use a319/320 for transcon..they use 757/767.thank you.
DL is using Airbus on BOS-SLC, EWR-SLC, JFK-DEN, DTW-SAN and the like. Pretty much a transcon if you ask me...
woodford02A is offline  
Old Aug 4, 16, 4:53 pm
  #43  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: BOS
Programs: SkyMiles Gold, AAdvantage Member, Elevate Silver
Posts: 628
Originally Posted by woodford02A View Post
DL is using Airbus on BOS-SLC, EWR-SLC, JFK-DEN, DTW-SAN and the like. Pretty much a transcon if you ask me...
It's basically Yes, flying time is within 90 mins of being a true transcon so I'd count it.
BostonPlanesAndTrains is offline  
Old Aug 4, 16, 4:56 pm
  #44  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: BOS
Programs: SkyMiles Gold, AAdvantage Member, Elevate Silver
Posts: 628
Originally Posted by mrbratty View Post
incorrect! Dl does not use a319/320 for transcon..they use 757/767.thank you.
Look at the post above, and also here in BOS multiple B737-800's fly to LAX and SEA daily and thats a true coast to coast flight. thank you.
BostonPlanesAndTrains is offline  
Old Aug 4, 16, 5:06 pm
  #45  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Now in SLC
Programs: DL DM 1MM, MR LT Titanium
Posts: 3,211
Is the 2105 mile BOS-SLC route the longest route DL flies the A320 on?
LoganFlyer is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: