FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Credit Card Programs (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/credit-card-programs-599/)
-   -   Barclays Arrival Plus, now 70K w/$5k spend (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/credit-card-programs/1577043-barclays-arrival-plus-now-70k-w-5k-spend.html)

f0xx May 14, 2014 8:14 pm

Originally Posted by PainCorp (Post 22865230)
How upset are you that you don't have this card right now?

:mad::mad::mad::mad:

Originally Posted by healthnut (Post 22866000)
Just approved! :) Very excited to get on the Boost action and pay for my Disney World tickets over NYE this year. I've been holding out, but I'm glad I did!

Lucky ^

Superorb May 14, 2014 8:34 pm

Originally Posted by josephstern (Post 22865610)
I'm a noob the the Chip + world, but with my limited understanding, this isn't a problem-solver, really. It'll make some clerks more comfortable, but the PIN part won't generally come into play.

I'm sure there's someone here with more understanding of the situation, but the gas station/train station problem in Europe will still be a problem with this card, AFAIK.

I don't get why US banks don't want to do away with the 'signature' part, but there's some good reason for it, since they almost all still keep it.

If it is in fact PIN enabled it would be no different from the native cards in Europe which would be a big deal.

LoneTree May 14, 2014 8:36 pm

Originally Posted by Superorb (Post 22866383)
If it is in fact PIN enabled it would be no different from the native cards in Europe which would be a big deal.

Not quite true if it can't do offline PIN. The online PIN backup really only comes into play for the online terminals that don't have signature/No Verification capability. Which isn't many.

zipo May 14, 2014 9:08 pm

Is the pin and chip, really that much better?

Khunboot May 14, 2014 9:45 pm

Has anyone had any experience with LMTclub (last minute travel club) posting as eligible for rewards?