FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   American Airlines | AAdvantage (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/american-airlines-aadvantage-733/)
-   -   ARCHIVE: AAdvantage Million Miler Program as of Dec 2011 (master thd) (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/american-airlines-aadvantage/1966301-archive-aadvantage-million-miler-program-dec-2011-master-thd.html)

AATrout Aug 24, 2011 7:06 pm

You'll Probably be OK

Originally Posted by badgerW (Post 16988732)
:( Sad face here. Sitting at 350k LT. Probably around of those were BIS over the past 15 years. This is my first year getting status (presently GLD, will hit PLAT by the end of the year) purely out-of-pocket leisure travel, no business travel. I am debating transferring my 60k Amex MR points to SPG and then to AA. Sure it's a lousy trade (60k MR -> 20k SPG -> 25k AA) but 25k extrAA miles in my account before 12/1 is probably at least a year quicker to getting LT GLD. Also debating buying the max, and trading with my wife (who sits at about the same LT level, between 350k and 400k). Also hoping that some of my Reliant Energy bonus miles post soon.

On the other hand, for a mere $450/yr I can get most of the benefits of GLD anyway; and if I do lose status (which is likely over the next couple of years) then I can always do a challenge to re-gain it. I wish I had been churning my Citi card instead of holding on to an AA MC for the past 5+ years. With a couple of churns during that period, I would easily be at 500k right now.

You might have a lot of flying time ahead, and qualifying GLD each year hasn't changed yet. I just plodded along casually for 10 years making status on AA and UA most years but not seamlessly and was good with that. The Lifetime status is nice for me because I may not travel much for biz in a few years. But most likely I would at least get to PLT or at worst GLD annually so you can probably do that too.

nkedel Aug 24, 2011 7:07 pm