Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

HELP DESK: AA In-Flight WiFi (Gogo, ViaSat, Panasonic)

HELP DESK: AA In-Flight WiFi (Gogo, ViaSat, Panasonic)

    Hide Wikipost
Old Jan 16, 20, 6:30 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: JDiver
Wiki Link
American Airlines In-Flight WiFi

NOTE: Three providers mean some gaps in how one pays for and uses WiFi in the long run, e.g. monthly passes, at least for now.

If you fly often, join the Monthly American Airlines Plan for $49.95 a month (plus tax). The pass is valid only on Gogo and Viasat Wi-Fi equipped domestic flights operating between airports within the United States, Canada, and Mexico, where network coverage is available. Wi-Fi services provided by Panasonic, regardless of destination, are not covered under the American Airlines Wi-Fi subscription plan. (aa.com)

You can always access aa.com for free during your flight.
Link to AA (unofficial) fleet site with WiFi, etc. listings for each aircraft

Link to AA tool flight status and WiFi (indicates WiFi, not type / provider)

WiFi types (fee or pass required)

ViaSat Ka band satellite-based WiFi under installation in ~500 AA narrowbody aircraft, and comes “out of the box” on AA 737 MAX 8 aircraft. “Gate to gate” offered.

American adding faster ViaSat WiFi to 500+ Aircraft"]American adding faster ViaSat WiFi to 500+ Aircraft (FT)

Link to ViaSat press announcement


Gogo cellular telephone dependent WiFi (converted to Gogo 2Ku band satellite Wi-Fi for many flights within the continental U.S. and southern Canada). Available above 10,000 ft MSL (Ku at any time). On the wane, as over 400 aircraft will be converted to ViaSat.

Link to credit cards supporting courtesy WiFi Gogo passes

Link to Gogo 2Ku page.

Link AirInsight article on Gogo loss of ~400 AA aircraft to ViaSat


Panasonic ExConnect Ku band aeronautical satellite network -based WiFi on most widebody international aircraft. Blacked out over China.

International (Panasonic satellite) WiFi: availability, experiences (FT)

The Jan 2020 WiFi lineup after refit is:

Airbus:

• A319: ViaSat or 2Ku
• A320 (Legacy US Airways): Gogo 2Ku
• A321 (Legacy US Airways): ViaSat
• A321 (Legacy AA - A321H, A321S): ViaSat
• 32B Sharklets (A321T): ViaSat
• A330-200: Panasonic (all)
• A330-300: Panasonic (all)

Boeing

• 737-800: ViaSat (all)
• 737 MAX 8: ViaSat (all)
• 757-200 / 75L International: ViaSat (all)
• 757-200 Hawaii MCE retrofit: varies
• 767-300ER: Panasonic (all)
• 787-8: Panasonic (all)
• 787-9: Panasonic (all)
• 777-200ER: Panasonic (all)
• 777-300ER: Panasonic (all)

Embraer E190: ?

Parenthetical notes:
all = all in fleet
no parenthetical note = goal, not current state; Gogo conversion to Gogo 2Ku
under conversion = varies by specific aircraft until conversion complete

(Thanks to ThreeJulietTango)

Wifi Speeds inflight : AA's new service is 10x as fast as Gogo Inflight

Onboard IFE streaming (free IFE to your personal device)

WiFi based onboard server-based streaming in flight entertainment (IFE) is being added to hundreds if aircraft, making AVOD streaming to your personal device the norm (as opposed to seatback flatscreen entertainment options).

Related: Oasis: New seats & less pitch, WiFi IFE & power all 737 and A321 2019-21

Mobile Phone support/features by Provider:

GoGo:
T-Mobile - Wi-Fi calling and texting works (well I never tried the calling but, but it connects as T-Mobile WiFi). iPhone imessage works
Verizon -
AT&T -
Sprint -

Panasonic:
T-Mobile - Wi-Fi calling not available, so no Wi-Fi texting. iPhone iMessage works (only when texting another iPhone user)
Verizon -
AT&T -
Sprint -

Viasat:
T-Mobile - Will register as T-Mobile WiFi. WiFi texting works. Unknown about WiFi calling, but didn't want to chance it.
Verizon -
AT&T -
Sprint -

Link to archived 2018 posts
Print Wikipost

Old Jan 17, 19, 7:30 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Programs: AA EXP, SPG Platinum
Posts: 230
LAX-HNL (AA31) Wifi?

Does this flight (on a A321 v1) still lose wifi over the water or is it good the whole time? Been at least a year since I flew out there but recall a number of times, I lost wifi after 30+ minutes over the Pacific.

Given the flight (tomorrow) is a work day, trying to prep in case I'm going to be 5 hours w/o access. Appreciate any recent knowledge. Thanks!

(FYI - I know AA shows the wifi icon but as noted above, I've seen that before and it doesn't work once you're out over the Pacific)

Last edited by sm82; Jan 17, 19 at 7:53 pm
sm82 is offline  
Old Jan 17, 19, 10:24 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Programs: AA PPR
Posts: 25
While all A321 ETOPS aircraft have been converted to VIASAT WI-FI systems. VIASAT coverage in that portion of the world is very similar to that of ground-based GOGO. So, in short, you should prepare to drop WIFI connectivity shortly after takeoff. I recall reading not so long ago that VIASAT was testing satellites to provide coverage to that area on a limited basis (so maybe you'll get lucky) and are expected to be fully online by 2020.
enpremiere likes this.
ianj844 is offline  
Old Jan 17, 19, 10:31 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: The FT AA forum, until it no longer wants me.
Programs: CK or bust
Posts: 1,552
It is indeed interesting that Viasat’s coverage, although sometimes greater than Gogo, is still somewhat limited when traveling outside of the US.
enpremiere is offline  
Old Jan 17, 19, 10:49 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Programs: AA PPR
Posts: 25
Originally Posted by enpremiere View Post
It is indeed interesting that Viasat’s coverage, although sometimes greater than Gogo, is still somewhat limited when traveling outside of the US.
I believe VIASAT now has full North Atlantic coverage. I don't have any knowledge, but my guess is the lack of coverage in other areas has something to do either with usage agreements for satellites or government regulations.
ianj844 is offline  
Old Mar 10, 19, 11:29 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Programs: American Airlines AAdvantage, Rapids Reward
Posts: 34,158
Gogo Inflight is no longer existing?

Hi all,

When it did happen? Is Gogo Inflight no longer partners with AA? Did they change the contract? I knows they have AA Inflight WiFi. I did not know that. They has been change. So I can used wifi during my flight and also, they already have international WiFi, too.
N830MH is offline  
Old Mar 10, 19, 12:05 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Programs: AA EXP, Marriott Bonvoy titanium
Posts: 429
Gogo is still on some legacy aircraft. I flew on an s80 yesterday and it had Gogo. But aa is upgrading to inflight which is 100% better than Gogo. Gogo was and remains useless so I’m not disappointed to see Gogo go the way of the dodo
Nuhusky is offline  
Old Mar 10, 19, 12:09 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Frisco, TX
Programs: The Airline Run by Doug P
Posts: 18,278
Originally Posted by Nuhusky View Post
Gogo is still on some legacy aircraft. I flew on an s80 yesterday and it had Gogo. But aa is upgrading to inflight which is 100% better than Gogo. Gogo was and remains useless so I’m not disappointed to see Gogo go the way of the dodo
I've had nothing but seamless gogo service and especially bitter since I have Tmobile with free gogo access.
enviroian is online now  
Old Mar 10, 19, 12:14 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Programs: DL 1 million, AA 1 mil, HH lapsed Diamond, Marriott Plat
Posts: 28,192
Originally Posted by Nuhusky View Post
Gogo is still on some legacy aircraft. I flew on an s80 yesterday and it had Gogo. But aa is upgrading to inflight which is 100% better than Gogo. Gogo was and remains useless so I’m not disappointed to see Gogo go the way of the dodo
There are several installations of Gogo, including a speedy 2Ku service. There's Panasonic satellite, too.

https://thepointsguy.com/news/state-...airlines-wifi/

The simple 'Gogo is slow' is incorrect.
3Cforme is offline  
Old Mar 10, 19, 12:43 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Programs: AA EXP, Marriott Bonvoy titanium
Posts: 429
Originally Posted by 3Cforme View Post
There are several installations of Gogo, including a speedy 2Ku service. There's Panasonic satellite, too.

https://thepointsguy.com/news/state-...airlines-wifi/

The simple 'Gogo is slow' is incorrect.
I humbly disagree and have not had a single good Gogo experience. My own data point
Nuhusky is offline  
Old Mar 10, 19, 6:00 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: RTM/AMS & CUR
Programs: AA PLT
Posts: 2,075
Originally Posted by Nuhusky View Post


I humbly disagree and have not had a single good Gogo experience. My own data point
Have you been on any 2Ku equipped planes?
Djokison is online now  
Old Mar 10, 19, 6:40 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Programs: AA EXP, Marriott Bonvoy titanium
Posts: 429
Originally Posted by Djokison View Post


Have you been on any 2Ku equipped planes?
Not yet
Nuhusky is offline  
Old Mar 10, 19, 10:33 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Programs: AA EXP. HH DIAMOND.
Posts: 168
Removing GoGo severely reduces the value of Tmobile partnership. Wonder if Tmobile will partner with AA
nismo240ssx is offline  
Old Mar 11, 19, 2:25 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: London; Bangkok; Las Vegas
Programs: AA ExPlat; UA MM Gold; Marriott Lifetime Titanium
Posts: 8,182
I have two connecting domestic flights coming up on 738s that should both have Viasat installations.

Will I be charged for access on both flights separately or can I pay once and have access across both flights?
Always Flyin is offline  
Old Mar 13, 19, 11:59 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: London; Bangkok; Las Vegas
Programs: AA ExPlat; UA MM Gold; Marriott Lifetime Titanium
Posts: 8,182
Originally Posted by Always Flyin View Post
I have two connecting domestic flights coming up on 738s that should both have Viasat installations.

Will I be charged for access on both flights separately or can I pay once and have access across both flights?
Yes, you will be charged for each flight.

Pathetic pricing system.
Always Flyin is offline  
Old Mar 23, 19, 11:36 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Programs: BA Exec Blue
Posts: 28
WiFi on Replublic/American Eagle foight

Hello,

I’m flying American for the first time in one week’s time and I’m planning to use the WiFi on board. From what I can tell, the aircraft on my flight should have it, but I’m not sure if it’ll be ViaSat or GoGo.

I’ve heard that it can be cheaper to buy WiFi credit from these providers directly, is that still the case? It’s not so much of a thing here in Scotland.

If it’s any help, the aircraft is a Republic E175 from YYZ-LGA.
flight125 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: