Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Wifi Speeds inflight : AA's new service is 10x as fast as Gogo Inflight

Wifi Speeds inflight : AA's new service is 10x as fast as Gogo Inflight

Old Mar 2, 18, 1:25 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Boise
Programs: American AAdvantage PLT Pro
Posts: 9
Wifi Speeds inflight : AA's new service is 10x as fast as Gogo Inflight

I am pretty sure that there are only about 10 people who care about this, but nevertheless I continue ...

I am currently on the second leg of an American Airlines 2 leg trip from Boise to Tokyo, via DFW. I splurged and bought GogoInflight on the BOI->DFW leg, and a second pass for the DFW->NRT flight. I uploaded a file on the BOI->DFW leg and saw < 20kB/s (that Kilobytes/second!) upload speeds. More typically, 1-2 kB/second. On the second leg, I bought a pass for the new AA inflight service (more expensive - $19 vs the $12 for GogoInflight). But the speeds are about 10 times as fast as the GogoInflight.

Just thought I'd offer this as a data point ...
dboise is offline  
Old Mar 2, 18, 5:44 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: KHOU + KSFO
Programs: AA EXP | Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador | Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 6,600
AA has 3 different wifi providers

1. Panasonic Satellite Wifi (your DFW-NRT flight)
2. Gogo cellular ground based wifi (domestic aircraft)
3. Viasat Satellite Wifi (replacing Gogo)

1 and 3 are significantly faster. Gogo is basically connecting to a cell tower far below. Now imagine splitting cellular 3G/4G over an entire plane.
Antarius is online now  
Old Mar 2, 18, 7:46 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago O'Hare
Programs: AA EXP, LT PLT 2.6MM, HHonors Lifetime Diamond, Hertz Presidents Circle
Posts: 678
I had a 2ku A320 late last year. It was amazing. That'dbe the fourth type, but an off spin of gogo (doesn't require a separate login/plan)
akarneboge is offline  
Old Mar 2, 18, 8:50 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SoCal to the rest of the world...
Programs: AA EXP with lots of BA and CX. UA 2MM Lifetime Plat - No hotel loyalty anymore
Posts: 6,363
The provider isn't new as others have said. GoGo had exclusive previously on the Non Long Haul fleet. This is now shared with ViaSat at present. Some GoGo aircraft have 2KU upgrades - but very few do. AA ended their domestic exclusive with AA and we now see ViaSat also.

The Long Haul fleet ALWAYS had Panasonic (initially brokered through T-Mobile/Deutsche Telekom for billing but now directly billed from Panasonic) - that has been live with those high speeds for 2+ years on a majority of the Long Haul fleet (some exceptions)

The new ViaSat on domestic is similar higher speeds but is on VERY few aircraft right now.
NickP 1K is offline  
Old Mar 2, 18, 10:49 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 9
Anywhere we can what wifi services are offered on flights?
Jmichals39 is offline  
Old Mar 4, 18, 6:33 am
  #6  
Hyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ORD
Posts: 274
Originally Posted by Jmichals39 View Post
Anywhere we can what wifi services are offered on flights?
This site offers a listing of each aircraft along with wifi type, among other handy details.
https://sites.google.com/site/newamericanfleet/
aschuett is offline  
Old Mar 4, 18, 6:43 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: USA & UK -- AA EXP 3.5MM, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Plat, Avis President's Club
Posts: 6,411
Originally Posted by aschuett View Post
This site offers a listing of each aircraft along with wifi type, among other handy details.
https://sites.google.com/site/newamericanfleet/
I'm sure everyone knows this except me ... but ... is there any way to find out (in advance) which tail number and/or ship number your upcoming flight is scheduled to use?
CloudCoder is offline  
Old Mar 4, 18, 6:57 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: AUS, GVA, and in between
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 162
Originally Posted by CloudCoder View Post
I'm sure everyone knows this except me ... but ... is there any way to find out (in advance) which tail number and/or ship number your upcoming flight is scheduled to use?
A couple of sources - one is flightstats.com - search for a flight, then choose "See AAxxx flight details". The tail number is what you need.
superweak is offline  
Old Mar 4, 18, 7:00 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Apex, NC
Programs: AA EXP, Delta GM, Honors Diamond, Hertz Presidents Club
Posts: 97
How’s AA dealing with folks that have unlimited monthly Gogo plans? Are we gonna have to buy two different monthly subs? That’ll be a disaster.
kesco is offline  
Old Mar 4, 18, 7:28 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago O'Hare
Programs: AA EXP, LT PLT 2.6MM, HHonors Lifetime Diamond, Hertz Presidents Circle
Posts: 678
Originally Posted by kesco View Post
How’s AA dealing with folks that have unlimited monthly Gogo plans? Are we gonna have to buy two different monthly subs? That’ll be a disaster.
Yes. Two (or three if you need wide body wi-fi) plans.
akarneboge is offline  
Old Mar 4, 18, 10:14 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: USA & UK -- AA EXP 3.5MM, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Plat, Avis President's Club
Posts: 6,411
First, for the new Wi-Fi to be 10x faster than my most recent GoGo (ORD-LHR), it would only need to be about 1.0 Mbps.

Originally Posted by kesco View Post
How’s AA dealing with folks that have unlimited monthly Gogo plans? Are we gonna have to buy two different monthly subs? That’ll be a disaster.
Originally Posted by akarneboge View Post
Yes. Two (or three if you need wide body wi-fi) plans.
This sucks, especially if you bought an annual plan, expecting to travel on AA ... and they change the game while your annual plan has many months remaining.

Some enterprising company oughtta be able to make a tidy profit on selling "Inflight Wi-Fi Access, no matter which airplane you happen to stumble into".
CloudCoder is offline  
Old Mar 4, 18, 10:48 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago O'Hare
Programs: AA EXP, LT PLT 2.6MM, HHonors Lifetime Diamond, Hertz Presidents Circle
Posts: 678
Originally Posted by CloudCoder View Post
First, for the new Wi-Fi to be 10x faster than my most recent GoGo (ORD-LHR), it would only need to be about 1.0 Mbps.



This sucks, especially if you bought an annual plan, expecting to travel on AA ... and they change the game while your annual plan has many months remaining.

Some enterprising company oughtta be able to make a tidy profit on selling "Inflight Wi-Fi Access, no matter which airplane you happen to stumble into".
There is already a product called iPass which gets you access to wi-fi all over the world, not just on airplanes. It, however, requires an app to be open on your device, making it a non-option for me.
akarneboge is offline  
Old Mar 4, 18, 10:58 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1,108
Originally Posted by kesco View Post
How’s AA dealing with folks that have unlimited monthly Gogo plans? Are we gonna have to buy two different monthly subs? That’ll be a disaster.

I read an article a little while back that said AA was working on allowing access to ViaSat via GoGo credentials.
thunderlounge is offline  
Old Mar 4, 18, 2:56 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: MIA
Programs: AA Dirt BA Gold SPG GLD HH GLD
Posts: 909
Originally Posted by akarneboge View Post
There is already a product called iPass which gets you access to wi-fi all over the world, not just on airplanes. It, however, requires an app to be open on your device, making it a non-option for me.
Why?
saltytheseagull is offline  
Old Mar 4, 18, 3:13 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: USA & UK -- AA EXP 3.5MM, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Plat, Avis President's Club
Posts: 6,411
Originally Posted by akarneboge View Post
There is already a product called iPass which gets you access to wi-fi all over the world, not just on airplanes. It, however, requires an app to be open on your device, making it a non-option for me.
Originally Posted by saltytheseagull View Post
Why?
Some folks (myself included) aren't allowed to install an app onto a corporate laptop.

But some folks (myself included) work in I.T. so we figure out ways to get around this.
CloudCoder is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: