Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Trusted Travelers
Reload this Page >

Applying for NEXUS after having Global Entry (i.e., Replacing GE with NEXUS)

Applying for NEXUS after having Global Entry (i.e., Replacing GE with NEXUS)

    Hide Wikipost
Old Aug 19, 18, 3:11 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: TWA884
Wiki Link
How do I add NEXUS to my existing Global Entry membership?
  • On the TTP home page, select "Manage My Membership"
  • Log in
  • Then click on the "Add Trusted Traveler Program." Make any changes necessary
  • On the U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) Trusted Traveler Program List page, select the checkbox next to the NEXUS option
  • On the next page you will see the NEXUS logo. You will need to provide additional information and answer questions; (some of these questions are very similar)
  • Once all the application information is entered/ corrected, certify your application and pay the fee
  • Applicants seeking to use NEXUS to enter Canada must complete an enrollment interview with the Canada Border Services Agency (some with GE received NEXUS card without interview)
  • An iris scan is needed; contact lenses must be removed to do the initial scan. Scan does not have to be done at the same time as the interview
Print Wikipost

Old Oct 11, 14, 8:42 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Programs: AS MVP Gold 75k
Posts: 214
Applying for NEXUS after having Global Entry (i.e., Replacing GE with NEXUS)

What happened if I apply for NEXUS when I am already have Global Entry, is that even necessary? Would that be easy to cross between canada and us? Can someone explain?

Thanks
WinSea is offline  
Old Oct 12, 14, 7:16 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Programs: NEXUS/GE
Posts: 521
Originally Posted by WinstonXu View Post
What happened if I apply for NEXUS when I am already have Global Entry, is that even necessary? Would that be easy to cross between canada and us? Can someone explain?

Thanks
You should have applied for NEXUS first as it is $50 and includes GE.

With GE, you already have expedited entry to the US, including use of the NEXUS lanes into the US. NEXUS gives you expedited entry into Canada. Until you have a valid NEXUS card, you cannot use the NEXUS lanes into Canada or the NEXUS kiosks at Canadian airports.

If you want NEXUS, you need to apply through your GOES account, pay $50, and be interviewed at NEXUS enrollment center, which are located in Canadian airports or along the Canadian border.
dustman81 is offline  
Old Oct 16, 14, 1:07 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: PHL
Programs: AA - Platinum, HHonors - Diamond, IHG - Plat, Marriott - Gold, National - Executive, NEXUS
Posts: 1,062
Applying for NEXUS is treated by CBP and CBSA as a brand new process. Nobody will care that you are GE - the process is the process, and it is a LOT slower than GE (supposedly because the CBSA can't process applications as quickly as CBP).

I did GE, then NEXUS, mostly because it was easier to start with GE and get PreCheck benefits immediately. I don't travel to Canada more than once or twice per quarter. At the time when I was GE-only I was also mostly crossing at Thousand Islands in the winter, which meant I didn't have much in the way of lines going in to Canada and I could use my GE card in the NEXUS lane entering the US.

The main benefit of NEXUS over GE is expedited ENTRY to Canada, which you don't get from GE. If you fly in or use a busy land crossing but only have GE, you get to wait in the standard line on the way in to Canada. You can still use GE on the way in to the US (either with the card at a land crossing NEXUS lane, or with your passport and fingerprint biometrics when entering the US or using the Preclearance facilities at major Canadian airports.)
pa3lsvt is offline  
Old Oct 17, 14, 3:05 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: PHL
Programs: AA Plat, MR AMB + (LTT) , Hertz PC, UA Silver, HH Gold
Posts: 263
I did the GE and then nexus.

I wasnt planning on being in Canada as much as I am.

The benefit of being already enrolled in GE is your us application is typically rubber stamped. However the Canadian portion takes a while.

In my opinion if you go to Canada more than 2 times a year, Nexus is a must.
TomBrady is offline  
Old Aug 28, 15, 11:23 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Programs: United MileagePlus Silver, Nexus, Global Entry
Posts: 8,779
Adding Nexus to GE?

I am a Canadian, living in Vancouver. I have a Nexus Card, and Global Entry.

I have an American colleague living in Austin, Texas. She travels fairly regularly to Vancouver. She'd like to get Global Entry + Nexus. How to get GE is pretty clear. What's not clear to me is how she 'gets' Nexus when she applies for GE in Austin, and how she gets a card so she can enter Canada when she applies for GE in Texas. Getting the iris scan at YVR should the straightforward.

Apologies if this question was already answered in this thread. Wasn't sure what to search for.
gglave is offline  
Old Aug 28, 15, 3:26 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: PHL
Programs: AA - Platinum, HHonors - Diamond, IHG - Plat, Marriott - Gold, National - Executive, NEXUS
Posts: 1,062
NEXUS and GE are separate programs. Enrollment in NEXUS comes with GE 'priveleges' but you are not technically a member of GE. The difference is transparent to users

Your colleague cannot get NEXUS by applying for GE. She needs to apply for NEXUS, which includes an interview at a NEXUS enrollment center (along US/Canada border and at major Canadian airports).
pa3lsvt is offline  
Old Aug 28, 15, 4:00 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Programs: NEXUS/GE
Posts: 521
Originally Posted by gglave View Post
I am a Canadian, living in Vancouver. I have a Nexus Card, and Global Entry.

I have an American colleague living in Austin, Texas. She travels fairly regularly to Vancouver. She'd like to get Global Entry + Nexus. How to get GE is pretty clear. What's not clear to me is how she 'gets' Nexus when she applies for GE in Austin, and how she gets a card so she can enter Canada when she applies for GE in Texas. Getting the iris scan at YVR should the straightforward.

Apologies if this question was already answered in this thread. Wasn't sure what to search for.
Have her apply for NEXUS, not GE. NEXUS costs $50 and includes GE. GE costs $100 and does not include NEXUS. She'd have to interview with both CBSA and CBP, so she needs to go to a Canadian land border crossing or an Canadian airport with USCBP preclearance.
dustman81 is offline  
Old Aug 29, 15, 10:28 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Programs: United MileagePlus Silver, Nexus, Global Entry
Posts: 8,779
Thanks everyone - I'll let her know.

Cheers.
gglave is offline  
Old Oct 19, 15, 10:58 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Programs: AA PltPro HH Dia SPG Gld
Posts: 19
I just applied for Nexus after being approved for Global Entry.

I couldn't find a thread that discusses exactly how to do this and the GOES website is not that intuitive so thought I'd share how this is done for anyone else looking to do this!

When you login, click on "Trusted Traveler Program".




From the next screen, on "U.S. Programs" and then "Add Trusted Traveler Program".



Hope this helps!
tdang is offline  
Old Oct 22, 15, 5:15 am
  #10  
nrr
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: jfk area
Programs: AA platinum; 2MM AA, Delta Diamond, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 9,086
I believe NEXUS should be automatic if you are in GE (AND VV). But GE (first), NEXUS (2nd) costs $100, the reverse order is only $50.
nrr is offline  
Old Oct 22, 15, 6:58 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 23
nrr,
GE has only the US preform a Background Check, while NEXUS is Canada and US doing the checks. Thus why NEXUS includes GE, and why NEXUS isn't automatic with GE.

No matter what, if you can get NEXUS, NEXUS is the best way to go.

Last edited by jsokoloski; Oct 22, 15 at 2:35 pm
jsokoloski is offline  
Old Oct 23, 15, 9:46 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Florida
Programs: Delta SkyMiles; Hilton HHonors; NEXUS; National Emerald Club Executive
Posts: 253
Originally Posted by nrr View Post
I believe NEXUS should be automatic if you are in GE (AND VV). But GE (first), NEXUS (2nd) costs $100, the reverse order is only $50.
You can believe that, but it's not the case. If you apply for NEXUS, GE is automatic and you pay $50.

If you apply for GE, NEXUS is NOT automatic, and requires a fresh application. In total, you pay $150 in this case, and the initial GE application/interview is essentially a waste of time.

In short -- apply for NEXUS if you can. The only real catch is having to travel to the Canadian border (or close to it; there are a few interview locations in nearby cities like Seattle) for the interview.
txviking is offline  
Old Oct 24, 15, 6:46 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: PHL
Programs: AA - Platinum, HHonors - Diamond, IHG - Plat, Marriott - Gold, National - Executive, NEXUS
Posts: 1,062
I went with the $150 plan. Only took a few (<3) weeks to get GE, but took over 3 months to get NEXUS. I wanted PreCheck ASAP and used GE on a few Canadian returns before NEXUS kicked in, so it was worth the extra scratch for me.
pa3lsvt is offline  
Old Oct 24, 15, 5:08 pm
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CVG
Programs: UA Silver, AA, DL, Marriott Silver
Posts: 12,049
Originally Posted by nrr View Post
I believe NEXUS should be automatic if you are in GE (AND VV). But GE (first), NEXUS (2nd) costs $100, the reverse order is only $50.
Incorrect.

Nexus gets GE automatically - GE does NOT get Nexus. The most important thing here is clearance/approval. GE is a US-only program and your background/criminal record/other checks are done by the US Only. Nexus is a joint US-Canada program and each side does their checks independently. Since Nexus already has the US checks completed, GE can be (and is) automatic. But GE applicants are only checked on the US side, and so a new application needs to be done to approve and complete the Canadian checks.
emcampbe is offline  
Old Mar 11, 17, 7:37 pm
  #15  
jgd
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Changing from Nexus to Global Entry

Hi, just joined the forum since I couldn't find the exact answer looking at many posts. Great community, so excited to join! Hopefully this is an easy one to answer.

I am currently on NEXUS since when I applied I was a Canadian Citizen living in Canada.
I have since moved to the US and immigrated. I am now a US Citizen (dual citizen with Canada)
I live in California and it is not practical for me to do my renewal interview near the Canadian border.
I've been approved conditionally for the Nexus renewal, but I would like to understand how to change my application to Global Entry so that I can do my interview locally in California.
I'm OK with losing some of the Nexus benefits (if any) since I don't travel often to Canada.

Thanks!!
jgd is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: