Quick Turnaround ZRH>Destination>ZRH

Old Oct 25, 2020, 3:11 pm
  #91  
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: ZRH/VLC/MIA/SFO/SIN
Programs: LX HON
Posts: 64
Originally Posted by oliver2002
Well, I connected via LHR twice in October, both time the checkin wanted to see the UK form completed. In muc they had a document checking person making sure all had the form in hand.

Transit security each time had about 20 pax in line, so I wouldn't necessarily trust the statement you heard from the person you talked to.
I just did it again today (so twice in October like you), after having spent a wonderful day in sunny Zurich. I booked the LX326 / LX327 combo, which had even less connection time. Again, got through T2 security in 10mins (today there were 8 pax) and again, nobody even remotely cared about any UK form. In fact the gate agent told me that for transit pax there is no check for the UK form. Filling the form out takes 5mins, so I did it anyway. Had plenty of time for some shopping at Harrods and a couple of calls before heading back again to Zurich.

Back to SIN again tomorrow I hope. Load capacity was so low and no cargo during the last couple of weeks that some of my ZRH/SIN flights got cancelled.
moreaki is offline  
Old Oct 28, 2020, 4:22 pm
  #92  
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: ZRH/VLC/MIA/SFO/SIN
Programs: LX HON
Posts: 64
Smile

Originally Posted by moreaki
I just did it again today (so twice in October like you), after having spent a wonderful day in sunny Zurich. I booked the LX326 / LX327 combo, which had even less connection time. Again, got through T2 security in 10mins (today there were 8 pax) and again, nobody even remotely cared about any UK form. In fact the gate agent told me that for transit pax there is no check for the UK form. Filling the form out takes 5mins, so I did it anyway. Had plenty of time for some shopping at Harrods and a couple of calls before heading back again to Zurich.

Back to SIN again tomorrow I hope. Load capacity was so low and no cargo during the last couple of weeks that some of my ZRH/SIN flights got cancelled.
Came back from SIN this morning and saw that ZRH/LHR is again flown by A340. Just booked it again and returned after a quick turnaround in F safe and sound. This time we taxied in B44 instead of A18 as the last two times, so transit was a wee bit longer: 10mins to T2 security, again nobody and again no one cares about the health declaration form, a quick shower, some shopping in Harrods, quick drink in the LH lounge (which today started serving hot food again), 15min easy stroll back to B44.

Today, we departed late since the A340 took some cargo and from what the captain told me the British do not plan cargo loading well with down time of the aircraft.

The highlight of the day though is that the Swiss government seem to have adjusted the quarantine criteria for a country to make it to the list: The new infections per 100 000 inhabitants over the past 14 days are examined to determine whether a country or an area has an increased risk of infection, If the incidence in a country is at least 60 higher than the incidence in Switzerland, the country will be added to the list.

This means essentially that almost unlimited traveling is possible again without all the weird workarounds! Very good news!
moreaki is offline  
Old Oct 28, 2020, 5:10 pm
  #93  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SIN (with a bit of ZRH sprinkled in)
Posts: 9,396
Originally Posted by moreaki

This means essentially that almost unlimited traveling is possible again without all the weird workarounds! Very good news!
Only if the country you're flying to actually DOES allow you in. In the case of Singapore, I take it you're either Singaporean or PR? Or continued onwards from Singapore? Probably the later, because otherwise, isn't there a mandatory quarantine? (even for those being allowed to enter the country)

Yes, Switzerland is now easy to get TO, but it will stay on pretty much every (sane) countries quarantine list when arriving FROM there.
YuropFlyer is offline  
Old Oct 28, 2020, 6:00 pm
  #94  
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: ZRH/VLC/MIA/SFO/SIN
Programs: LX HON
Posts: 64
Originally Posted by YuropFlyer
Only if the country you're flying to actually DOES allow you in. In the case of Singapore, I take it you're either Singaporean or PR? Or continued onwards from Singapore? Probably the later, because otherwise, isn't there a mandatory quarantine? (even for those being allowed to enter the country)

Yes, Switzerland is now easy to get TO, but it will stay on pretty much every (sane) countries quarantine list when arriving FROM there.
You're correct. I tend to forget the advantages I have over others. I'm PR and I have offices in Singapore, three passports, and close family on almost each continent. Checking a couple of countries on https://www.iatatravelcentre.com/int...1580226297.htm, Switzerland is not listed on too many countries as restricted (especially work related travel, which is what I mostly do). On top of that, I use Switzerland mostly as a hub, so countries of origin are different for me each week.

The thing is that HONs or SENs do not make the bulk of airline capacity, so even if we fly a lot the situation is very unlikely to change for the better.
moreaki is offline  
Old Oct 29, 2020, 12:48 pm
  #95  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Programs: LX Senator; AF Platinum and Club 2000; AA Platinum for life (former EXP)
Posts: 484
Question: Since the rate of cases per 100,000 in the US is now significantly less than in Switzerland, does anybody know whether a US person can now enter Switzerland and avoid quarantine?????? Second, does the exception for important business meetings allow a US person to enter without quarantine? I ask because of the statement above concerning the criteria of 60 times the Swiss rate determining entry.
sfoeuroflyer is offline  
Old Oct 29, 2020, 2:51 pm
  #96  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lima Sierra Zulu Hotel
Programs: AC*SM, M&M SEN, BA Gold, DL Gold; Marriott Titanium
Posts: 776
Originally Posted by sfoeuroflyer
Question: Since the rate of cases per 100,000 in the US is now significantly less than in Switzerland, does anybody know whether a US person can now enter Switzerland and avoid quarantine?????? Second, does the exception for important business meetings allow a US person to enter without quarantine? I ask because of the statement above concerning the criteria of 60 times the Swiss rate determining entry.
Quarantine requirements in Switzerland have never been dependent on whether one is a US person or not, but rather the countries (or provinces/areas in some cases) the person has visited in the past 14 days. If you are asking whether someone who was in the US in the past 14 days needs to quarantine on arrival in Switzerland, the answer as of Oct. 29, 2020 is no. But that could change in the future. However, Switzerland is not (as of Oct. 29, 2020) open to the majority of US persons; exceptions are for Swiss residents and a complex list of other situations.

Maybe read this if you haven't already: https://www.sem.admin.ch/sem/en/home...weigerung.html
bawm is online now  
Old Dec 1, 2020, 4:59 pm
  #97  
51m
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 2
Hi all,

sorry if this is not the right place. I have an upcoming direct turnaround at BCN (ex-ZRH) to catch my original journey BCN-ZRH-GRU-FLN so a few questions:

1. Swiss pass holder and only having carry-on

2. When I check-in at ZRH for ZRH-BCN, will I be able to also get BPs for BCN-ZRH-GRU-FLN or should I just rely on mobile boarding pass?

3. At ZRH or BCN will I need to flash a negative PRC-Test? At BCN I'll stay airside.

4. Is 2hr window doable? I've never connected at BCN so just wondering if others know or have done similar.
51m is offline  
Old Jan 19, 2022, 7:33 am
  #98  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: ZRH / YUL
Programs: UA, TK, Starwood > Marriott, Hilton, Accor
Posts: 7,271
Just a follow-up here: I know pre-Covid instant turnaround at BCN (ex ZRH) was no problem at all. I don't suppose anything has changed?
airoli is offline  
Old Feb 15, 2022, 3:51 am
  #99  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: ZRH / YUL
Programs: UA, TK, Starwood > Marriott, Hilton, Accor
Posts: 7,271
Any intelligence on a direct turnaround in DUB? (No prizes for finding out where the sudden interest comes from.... )
airoli is offline  
Old Feb 15, 2022, 11:01 am
  #100  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Geneva
Programs: LX SEN, AFKL Platinum, BA Bronze,
Posts: 5,360
Originally Posted by airoli
Any intelligence on a direct turnaround in DUB? (No prizes for finding out where the sudden interest comes from.... )
With bagage it might be tricky (as I can guess the origin of the sudden interest I assume this would not be a handbagage only booking).

I havent been to DUB in a couple of years but based on status then, you would have to go through immigration, bagage claim, checkin/bag drop, immigration and then security.
MichielR is offline  
Old Feb 15, 2022, 11:44 am
  #101  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: ZRH / YUL
Programs: UA, TK, Starwood > Marriott, Hilton, Accor
Posts: 7,271
What about with carry-on bags only? Is there airside transit?
(The bags may not come on the jaunt to the Emerald Isle...)
airoli is offline  
Old Feb 15, 2022, 2:46 pm
  #102  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Geneva
Programs: LX SEN, AFKL Platinum, BA Bronze,
Posts: 5,360
Originally Posted by airoli
What about with carry-on bags only? Is there airside transit?
(The bags may not come on the jaunt to the Emerald Isle...)
There mjght be, see link below, though I've never seen any transfer signs in T1. T2 which houses EI is more geared towards transfers than T1.

https://www.dublinairport.com/docs/d...rsn=e983b36f_4
airoli likes this.
MichielR is offline  
Old Apr 23, 2022, 5:27 am
  #103  
formerly vienna-resident
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montepulciano, Tuscany
Posts: 1,048
How about a direct turnaround in BUD Budapest? LX 2254 to LX 2255, 40 minutes time between landing and departure.

AFAIR it's usually a remote stand in BUD, but is there a way to stay air-side to connect without exiting and re-clearing security?

Thanks!
livefromtuscany is online now  
Old Apr 28, 2022, 4:55 am
  #104  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: HAG
Programs: ST E+, *G, some hotel gold...
Posts: 7,496
BUD is good for airside connections.
Fabo.sk is offline  
Old Apr 28, 2022, 7:18 am
  #105  
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Thurgau, Switzerland
Posts: 195
Originally Posted by Fabo.sk
BUD is good for airside connections.
but not when coming from Switzerland. My last two LX flights (late 2021 and early 2022) arrived at a contact gate in Terminal 2A. Where we took the stairs down to a bus bringing us to Terminal 2B. Most likely because of customs coming from non-EU. The departing flight then leaves from 2A again.

Loading the bus took quite some time and there is no dedicated one for C passengers. I cant comment on the transfer from 2B back to 2A.
Yak40 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.