Quick Turnaround ZRH>Destination>ZRH

Old Mar 18, 2019, 10:41 am
  #61  
TPJ
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Programs: TK*G (E+), IHG Plat Ambassador
Posts: 7,884
Originally Posted by AlicorporateUK
It will be a gate and you will even have time for a drink in the lounge.

Welcome to FT.

G
Agree with my friend G.

This is after the morning LO departure bank, so plenty of jetties available.
AlicorporateUK and sp0ng3b0b like this.
TPJ is offline  
Old Mar 18, 2019, 12:03 pm
  #62  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Geneva
Programs: LX SEN, AFKL Platinum, BA Bronze,
Posts: 5,377
Originally Posted by AlicorporateUK
It will be a gate and you will even have time for a drink in the lounge.

Welcome to FT.

G
While I dont visit WAW on a monthly basis, on my last LX flights to/from WAW, they used a gate at the opposite end of where the lounge is (gate 44 IIRC). In that case Id skip the lounge as it involves a 10 min walk each way.
AlicorporateUK likes this.
MichielR is offline  
Old Mar 19, 2019, 5:25 pm
  #63  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: HAG
Programs: ST E+, *G, some hotel gold...
Posts: 7,571
I don't know if I would risk it with ORD destination, what if OLCI is not working properly - documents check?
Fabo.sk is offline  
Old Aug 8, 2019, 7:02 am
  #64  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Programs: LH Miles and More; UA Mileage Plus
Posts: 10
Originally Posted by awestphal
Brief question, as I have not been to T1 in CDG for a long time: Is possible to do a turnaround from / to ZRH on the same plane? Will be arriving into CDG from ZRH (as a positioning flight for ex-EU) and would like ideally board the very same aircraft to go back to ZRH. Do we have to go through security in T1 in CDG?
As has been stated before, you have to go through security again. In my expereince, this is no problem, especially if you have status, since there is a priority line. Never took me more than a few minutes.

But that only applies when the arriving plane connects to a jetbridge. I have done this a before, no problem.

However, this was with an Airbus A320.

Now, LX also flies from ZRH to CDG with smaller planes, CS3 and CS1. Does anybody know if these planes also connect to a jetbridge, or if they possibly get an apron position with busing to the terminal - then it might be challenging to return on the same plane again?

Thanks!
Flu1064 is offline  
Old Aug 9, 2019, 5:19 am
  #65  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SIN (with a bit of ZRH sprinkled in)
Posts: 9,405
Last time I flew to CDG a few weeks ago, it was an A220 afaik, and we did had a JetBridge. But as always, your experience may vary, so maybe others can chime in as well
YuropFlyer is offline  
Old Aug 9, 2019, 9:49 am
  #66  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Programs: Eurostar Carte Blanche, SBB-CFF-FFS GA-AG, SNCF Grand Voyageur LeClub
Posts: 7,820
Swiss flights to CDG: I flight that route >50 times a year since more than a decade. Never an apron position. Not when they were at CDG 2B, not when they were using Satellite 7, not now that they are using Satellite 6. You have to go through security again, but as stated previously by anothre poster, the time it will take you will not make you miss your plane. And if things get tight, passengers on flights that board have priority.

Thus, easy to do a turn-around in CDG. But of course almost any (all) other airport in the Schengen zone is easier, as you will deplane to the departure area. No need to go through security in AMS, Germany, Scandinavia, Barcelona, Lisbon, etc.
hugolover likes this.
San Gottardo is offline  
Old Nov 6, 2019, 3:47 am
  #67  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: ZRH / YUL
Programs: UA, TK, Starwood > Marriott, Hilton, Accor
Posts: 7,277
Looking at a direct turnaround with LX in PRG. Any experience with that?

(The question was asked in this thread in 2015 but there was no answer it seems.)
airoli is offline  
Old Nov 6, 2019, 5:33 am
  #68  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SIN (with a bit of ZRH sprinkled in)
Posts: 9,405
Smooth and easy in PRG
YuropFlyer is offline  
Old Nov 6, 2019, 5:57 am
  #69  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: ZRH / YUL
Programs: UA, TK, Starwood > Marriott, Hilton, Accor
Posts: 7,277
Thank you.
airoli is offline  
Old Nov 6, 2019, 9:46 pm
  #70  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stoke on Trent, UK (MAN ), BUE, BKK, DBV
Programs: LH HON***,UA,BA.EK Gold,AV.
Posts: 11,221
Originally Posted by airoli
Looking at a direct turnaround with LX in PRG. Any experience with that?

(The question was asked in this thread in 2015 but there was no answer it seems.)
Super easy, walk off & back on again
chris63 is offline  
Old Nov 11, 2019, 3:49 am
  #71  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: ZRH / YUL
Programs: UA, TK, Starwood > Marriott, Hilton, Accor
Posts: 7,277
How about OTP? (same fare but better connections than PRG)
airoli is offline  
Old Nov 11, 2019, 3:59 am
  #72  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stoke on Trent, UK (MAN ), BUE, BKK, DBV
Programs: LH HON***,UA,BA.EK Gold,AV.
Posts: 11,221
Originally Posted by airoli
How about OTP? (same fare but better connections than PRG)
If I remember correctly, I have had bus gates at OTP, think I would prefer doing it at PRG
airoli likes this.
chris63 is offline  
Old Jan 7, 2020, 2:54 am
  #73  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: ZRH / YUL
Programs: UA, TK, Starwood > Marriott, Hilton, Accor
Posts: 7,277
Here's a tricky one: What about direct turnaround in LHR? I'd arrive from ZRH in C, return there with the same flight in Y, no bags etc.

From what I remember, LHR requires that all transit passengers go through security again, right?
airoli is offline  
Old Jan 7, 2020, 10:53 am
  #74  
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Programs: LH M&M, BA EC, DL SM
Posts: 5,366
Originally Posted by airoli
Here's a tricky one: What about direct turnaround in LHR? I'd arrive from ZRH in C, return there with the same flight in Y, no bags etc.

From what I remember, LHR requires that all transit passengers go through security again, right?
Yes, security check required. LHR wouldn't be my preferred quick turnaround airport.
airoli and chris63 like this.
worldclubber is offline  
Old Jan 9, 2020, 5:49 am
  #75  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between DM464 and DM463 on the NAPSA26 RNAV TRANS in EDDM
Programs: this and that
Posts: 1,731
Originally Posted by worldclubber
Yes, security check required. LHR wouldn't be my preferred quick turnaround airport.
...especially if you hit the jackpot and your flight gets a "B" gate at LHR T2 - or is there any transfer security checkpoint in B?
cas_de is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.