Simon Mall Gift Cards(2017-2018)

    Hide Wikipost
Old Sep 21, 18, 6:59 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Travelz
Wiki Link
This is a new thread for 2017. The previous discussion can be found here.

READ the posts in this thread before asking questions. Many have already been answered.


10k per day limit including fees - must fill out a form (use cards as a budget tool or whatever you want to put)
Check the Simon website for locations.
VGC issued by meta for 3.95 - Count your cards before you leave the mall
When ordering online, Simon uses GCM.
Print Wikipost

Old Mar 8, 17, 1:07 pm
  #211  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by IslandOfEnchantment View Post
Is there something I can do about it? They let me use other cards just not that one....But I feel if I do other cards they might denied those afterwards just like they did with this one
How to convert these Visa GC to cash....
umangdoshi is offline  
Old Mar 9, 17, 6:59 pm
  #212  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 38
Any recent data points on using an amex business platinum, online or at mall?
hook13 is offline  
Old Mar 9, 17, 8:35 pm
  #213  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Programs: AA Plat, UA Gold, AS MVP Gold, HH Diamond, SPG Gold, Club Carlson Gold, US
Posts: 946
Originally Posted by hook13 View Post
Any recent data points on using an amex business platinum, online or at mall?
Bought 50K in GCs in the last few weeks using my Biz Plat...
iqbalt80 is offline  
Old Mar 10, 17, 2:34 pm
  #214  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 468
I believe I can use my new spf to buy SM cards and it will count towards my spending limit. Just confirming it
mak101 is offline  
Old Mar 10, 17, 4:37 pm
  #215  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: IAD
Programs: All of them to one degree or another
Posts: 447
Originally Posted by mak101 View Post
I believe I can use my new spf to buy SM cards and it will count towards my spending limit. Just confirming it
I always use my SPF as sunblock but to each their own I guess.
DeaconY is offline  
Old Mar 11, 17, 12:28 pm
  #216  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 468
Originally Posted by DeaconY View Post
I always use my SPF as sunblock but to each their own I guess.


sorry I meant amex spg
mak101 is offline  
Old Mar 11, 17, 1:19 pm
  #217  
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Programs: Citi AAdvantage
Posts: 67
Originally Posted by mak101 View Post


sorry I meant amex spg
Oh my! How is it possible to cycle through 50K? Fees on each $500 GC adds up unless there is a way to offset the cost. If I may, how do you offset the cost of buying the cards?
rrayon is offline  
Old Mar 11, 17, 6:42 pm
  #218  
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 116
Originally Posted by mak101 View Post
I believe I can use my new spf to buy SM cards and it will count towards my spending limit. Just confirming it
Buy Visa GCs on minimum spending for any AMEX card is not recommended. You can lose bonus and time for organic spending.
johndoes is offline  
Old Mar 11, 17, 10:02 pm
  #219  
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 41
Originally Posted by johndoes View Post
Buy Visa GCs on minimum spending for any AMEX card is not recommended. You can lose bonus and time for organic spending.
I disagree. Just need to mix it in with real spending and do not overdo it. If you used a shady sign up link that is a different story.
12HRS is offline  
Old Mar 11, 17, 11:09 pm
  #220  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 10
Originally Posted by 12HRS View Post
I disagree. Just need to mix it in with real spending and do not overdo it. If you used a shady sign up link that is a different story.
What is "not overdo it"? Half & half? 30/70?
sn2015 is offline  
Old Mar 12, 17, 6:06 am
  #221  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
IHG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Valley of the Sun
Programs: AA PLT, Bonvoy PLT +, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 10,966
Originally Posted by rrayon View Post
Oh my! How is it possible to cycle through 50K? Fees on each $500 GC adds up unless there is a way to offset the cost. If I may, how do you offset the cost of buying the cards?
There isn't a way, but to some 500 SPG points is worth the fee.

Originally Posted by johndoes View Post
Buy Visa GCs on minimum spending for any AMEX card is not recommended. You can lose bonus and time for organic spending.
This is true, and thing have gotten harder this part year as people have had accounts closed, I value SPG points too much to play the GC game with it.

Originally Posted by 12HRS View Post
I disagree. Just need to mix it in with real spending and do not overdo it. If you used a shady sign up link that is a different story.
As I wrote I value SPG points too much to lose the card, with the everyday spend I put on it and business expense I do ok.

Originally Posted by sn2015 View Post
What is "not overdo it"? Half & half? 30/70?
There is no solid answer to this...
FlightNurse is offline  
Old Mar 12, 17, 6:16 am
  #222  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: BHX
Posts: 1
Originally Posted by FlightNurse View Post
There isn't a way, but to some 500 SPG points is worth the fee.

:-)

This is true, and thing have gotten harder this part year as people have had accounts closed, I value SPG points too much to play the GC game with it.



As I wrote I value SPG points too much to lose the card, with the everyday spend I put on it and business expense I do ok.



There is no solid answer to this...
Graham Price is offline  
Old Mar 16, 17, 4:51 pm
  #223  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NY
Programs: SPG preferred, AA, United
Posts: 290
Hey guys, used to buy a lot from Simon a couple of years ago and then stopped (working on WF). Anyway just bought some this weekend (5%), tried it at USPS and it got rejected. Checked online and it showed that it was rejected as well. I know last 4 digits are the pin. So my question is do I have to register the cards? I know we used to have to do this but not sure anymore. I activated one card online and now all the other cards say invalid info. I tried registering two cards and that worked but not sure what I actually did. Advice would be much appreciated.

TL/DR Have the rules changed for Simon from a few years back regarding activation

Last edited by daprophecy; Mar 16, 17 at 5:06 pm
daprophecy is offline  
Old Mar 16, 17, 5:29 pm
  #224  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 525
Originally Posted by daprophecy View Post
Hey guys, used to buy a lot from Simon a couple of years ago and then stopped (working on WF). Anyway just bought some this weekend (5%), tried it at USPS and it got rejected. Checked online and it showed that it was rejected as well. I know last 4 digits are the pin. So my question is do I have to register the cards? I know we used to have to do this but not sure anymore. I activated one card online and now all the other cards say invalid info. I tried registering two cards and that worked but not sure what I actually did. Advice would be much appreciated.

TL/DR Have the rules changed for Simon from a few years back regarding activation
They only work at Walmart and you don't need to activate them. PIN is any numbers you choose at first time use. PO is for vanillas and WM is for metas.
cashcyclone is offline  
Old Mar 16, 17, 5:33 pm
  #225  
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Programs: All of them
Posts: 1,040
Originally Posted by daprophecy View Post
Hey guys, used to buy a lot from Simon a couple of years ago and then stopped (working on WF). Anyway just bought some this weekend (5%), tried it at USPS and it got rejected. Checked online and it showed that it was rejected as well. I know last 4 digits are the pin. So my question is do I have to register the cards? I know we used to have to do this but not sure anymore. I activated one card online and now all the other cards say invalid info. I tried registering two cards and that worked but not sure what I actually did. Advice would be much appreciated.

TL/DR Have the rules changed for Simon from a few years back regarding activation
Well documented in this thread that these no longer work at Post Office. Their system blocks it.

Only Vanillas work reliably. (possibly others I'm forgetting?)
littlewinglet is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: