Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

The Newly Redesigned Air Canada Mobile App (Fall 2019)

Old Oct 28, 2019, 2:48 pm
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: codfather

Print Wikipost

The Newly Redesigned Air Canada Mobile App (Fall 2019)

Old Aug 29, 2021, 11:15 am
  #751  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Programs: AC E35K, NEXUS
Posts: 4,368
I just made a booking on the website - first explored a different booking class but did not proceed to payment, and did not receive a receipt by email. I started a new booking that I eventually DID pay and get emailed receipt for.
I opened the app and was impressed to see the destination already there, except when I clicked on it, it was the booking I did NOT complete. AND ALSO a second booking that I did complete. I swiped the false booking away and it went, but not before leaving a ghost of a pop-up saying something like dismissing this is not cancelling the flight. It had a PNR beside it (which of course I did not write down, so I can't search for it.) Only one booking is visible in MMB.
It looks like the app is overzealous in sucking in bookings, to the point of loading bookings that are not made.
(Apologies for not reading all of the previous 750 posts in case this is a known issue.)
flyquiet is offline  
Old Aug 29, 2021, 11:45 am
  #752  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: YOW
Programs: AC 75K
Posts: 583
Originally Posted by flyquiet
I just made a booking on the website - first explored a different booking class but did not proceed to payment, and did not receive a receipt by email. I started a new booking that I eventually DID pay and get emailed receipt for.
I opened the app and was impressed to see the destination already there, except when I clicked on it, it was the booking I did NOT complete. AND ALSO a second booking that I did complete. I swiped the false booking away and it went, but not before leaving a ghost of a pop-up saying something like dismissing this is not cancelling the flight. It had a PNR beside it (which of course I did not write down, so I can't search for it.) Only one booking is visible in MMB.
It looks like the app is overzealous in sucking in bookings, to the point of loading bookings that are not made.
(Apologies for not reading all of the previous 750 posts in case this is a known issue.)
That happened to me a week or so ago. It cleared out within a couple hours and I got a notification that the booking had been "cancelled".
WesternCDN is offline  
Old Aug 29, 2021, 12:11 pm
  #753  
Moderator, Air Canada; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE MM, FB Plat, WS Plat, BA Silver, DL GM, Marriott Plat, Hilton Gold, Accor Silver
Posts: 16,836
Originally Posted by flyquiet
It looks like the app is overzealous in sucking in bookings, to the point of loading bookings that are not made.
This is not exclusive to the app. I went through the same thing a couple weeks back, and the uncompleted bookings showed up on the website as well as the app, although I think they may have disappeared more quickly from the website than the app.
Adam Smith is offline  
Old Aug 29, 2021, 12:19 pm
  #754  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,491
If you get to seat selection, you've created a PNR.

It will show up anywhere that pulls them by your Aeroplan number.
flyquiet and Adam Smith like this.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Aug 29, 2021, 3:25 pm
  #755  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: YVR - MILLS Waypoint (It's the third house on the left)
Programs: AC*SE100K, wood level status in various other programs
Posts: 6,258
I just realized that my banked years of SE aren't displayed on either the app or the website. I don't know when they disappeared, but I will assume that this is just a bug.
Bohemian1 is online now  
Old Aug 29, 2021, 4:21 pm
  #756  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,491
Originally Posted by Bohemian1
I just realized that my banked years of SE aren't displayed on either the app or the website. I don't know when they disappeared, but I will assume that this is just a bug.
I wouldn't assume that. I would write in and ask.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Aug 30, 2021, 5:57 pm
  #757  
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MEX
Programs: AC E75K
Posts: 4,189
Random flight notifications?

Has anyone else been receiving random flight notifications from their AC app?

For the past few weeks, Ive been receiving notifications for flights I have not booked, saved, or (Im fairly certain) even searched on the dates in question.

Case in point: Just received a departure time and gate update for AC467 today. Definitely never booked or even looked up this flight (or any flight) for today.
capedreamer is online now  
Old Aug 31, 2021, 4:37 pm
  #758  
Moderator, Air Canada; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE MM, FB Plat, WS Plat, BA Silver, DL GM, Marriott Plat, Hilton Gold, Accor Silver
Posts: 16,836
Anyone else notice that flights randomly disappear and reappear in the list of flights in the Flight Status section?
YYC3722 likes this.
Adam Smith is offline  
Old Sep 3, 2021, 2:29 am
  #759  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, BA Gold, SQ Silver, Bonvoy Tit LTG, Hyatt Glob, HH Diamond
Posts: 44,491
Oh wow look what I got!

canadiancow is online now  
Old Sep 3, 2021, 6:53 am
  #760  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Programs: AC SE100K-1MM, NH, DL, AA, BA, Global Entry/Nexus, APEC..
Posts: 18,877
I also have a collection of these celebratory confetti messages. I was thinking of trading them like hockey cards.
In the app, they seem to appear after an app update and/or when I login.....but who knows really.

I seem to have captured the screen shot during the "higher volume confetti phase"




I really like the desktop version because it's more colourful and the confetti goes everywhere with no clean up required.







At first I was amused, but now I think that if AC wants to keep congratulating me for achieving Aeroplan SUPER ELITE, they should offer some 🎂 or 🍫 to go along with the confetti 🎉🎉🎉. LOL
.
24left is offline  
Old Sep 3, 2021, 10:49 am
  #761  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: YQR
Posts: 2,745
Originally Posted by canadiancow
Oh wow look what I got!
I guess you better start exploring those newfound benefits
canadiancow likes this.

Last edited by Adam Smith; Sep 26, 2021 at 3:46 pm Reason: Remove large quoted image
arf04 is offline  
Old Sep 6, 2021, 4:48 pm
  #762  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Canada
Programs: Aeroplan E50/MM, HH gold, Nat Exec Elite, Kimpton Karma
Posts: 2,362
Not sure if this is the correct thread, so mods feel free to move.

Looking at a few transborder flights, different itineraries. In almost every case there is a difference between the points amount on the app and on the website. Usually 3000 or 4000 pts. Typically app is more points but my sample size is relatively small. Compared revenue prices for same itineraries and generally the same but on a few occasions there is a couple of dollars difference between the website and the app. Has anyone else seen this?

Followup thought re tx price difference between website and app — website prompts me to sign in for best price. I proceeded without doing that. I was signed into the app from a previous session. Perhaps loyalty/status gives different pricing? This is only a guess. I have never seen that happen prior to the new program. Perhaps there is another explanation entirely.

Last edited by Adam Smith; Sep 6, 2021 at 7:42 pm Reason: Move eUpgrade question to eUpgrade thread
Bartolo is offline  
Old Sep 6, 2021, 7:44 pm
  #763  
Moderator, Air Canada; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE MM, FB Plat, WS Plat, BA Silver, DL GM, Marriott Plat, Hilton Gold, Accor Silver
Posts: 16,836
Originally Posted by Bartolo
Not sure if this is the correct thread, so mods feel free to move.

Looking at a few transborder flights, different itineraries. In almost every case there is a difference between the points amount on the app and on the website. Usually 3000 or 4000 pts. Typically app is more points but my sample size is relatively small. Compared revenue prices for same itineraries and generally the same but on a few occasions there is a couple of dollars difference between the website and the app. Has anyone else seen this?

Followup thought re tx price difference between website and app — website prompts me to sign in for best price. I proceeded without doing that. I was signed into the app from a previous session. Perhaps loyalty/status gives different pricing? This is only a guess. I have never seen that happen prior to the new program. Perhaps there is another explanation entirely.
Status and having an Aeroplan credit card get you preferential pricing since the new program was implemented last year.

If you sign in to the website and see different pricing between that and the app, then yes, there's an issue somewhere.

If you weren't signed in on the website when you did those searches, you can't directly compare the pricing to the app.
Adam Smith is offline  
Old Sep 7, 2021, 12:47 am
  #764  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: YSJ, IAD, LLW/KGL
Programs: Aeroplan, ShebaMiles, SkyMiles
Posts: 123
I was booking an upcoming trip and did a search through the app when I noticed some flight options were being duplicated.



On closer look, it’s not exactly duplicated as one option books under the AC codeshare flight number and one books under the operating carrier flight number.



Thought this was unusual as that does not happen (to my knowledge) on the website. The same search on the website just brings up the one option with an AC flight number on the codeshare segment.

This allowed me to book my flight from AC, but keep the operating carrier flight number, which then allowed me to use some ShebaMiles I’ve been wanting to offload for a SAUA on the segment.

Edited to note: Worked the same for the return segments too.
b_magee is offline  
Old Sep 9, 2021, 9:41 pm
  #765  
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: ARN
Programs: AC, SK, Marriott
Posts: 1,169
On Android (v5.19) I see different points for the same flight. Website displays base + bonus but app only shows base.

TechnoTourist is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.