Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Tools
Reload this Page >

Airline Route Mapper tool (windows based)

Old Mar 7, 2015, 9:08 pm
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: TWA884
Latest version (as of 24-Oct-2021) - available at http://depositfiles.com/files/2c753ofyy.
Print Wikipost

Airline Route Mapper tool (windows based)

Old Oct 21, 2012, 6:07 am
  #481  
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 156
Excellent tool and really useful to plan more complicated itineraries. Thanks a million!

I can't seem to get Avianca (AV) routes to display - is this a bug in the data?
europeflyer is offline  
Old Oct 23, 2012, 5:25 am
  #482  
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Programs: DL; AA PLT
Posts: 31
I am getting a number of errors when starting, it looks as if the routes table includes data for defunct airlines such as BMI Baby:

Airline "WW" referred in "WW EMA LEI 0 733" not found.


My mistake - the routes file was not overwritten and it was using the data from July, I replaced it and everything is working correctly.

Last edited by downandup; Oct 23, 2012 at 6:13 am
downandup is offline  
Old Oct 25, 2012, 8:30 am
  #483  
FMX
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 96
Awesome tool, thank you!

One thing that can get a bit overwhelming is the sheer number of airports, even when filtering to an alliance. Also, the airport dots are quite small and not easy to hit with the mouse. I have a suggestion to fix both of these in one go: show the bigger airports using bigger dots (and possibly in a different colour). The size of the dot could be a function of the number of routes to/from that airport.
FMX is offline  
Old Oct 25, 2012, 1:27 pm
  #484  
Hyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Between AMS and BRU
Posts: 8,852
Sorry... but a bad idea. Bigger blocks will be even worse and will overlap others. Just zoom when you are not sure what airport you are choosing.
RTW1 is offline  
Old Oct 26, 2012, 3:02 am
  #485  
FMX
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 96
Zooming in means I can't see where the major international routes end up. It also doesn't make the dots any bigger.

RTW1, you're right, they might overlap, but only when zoomed out. The problem is, when zoomed out, it's hard to hit the right airport anyway. So I still think that making it easy to select the big airports when zoomed out is better than not making it easy to select any of them. To select a smaller airport just zoom in - they won't overlap then.
FMX is offline  
Old Oct 26, 2012, 3:36 am
  #486  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,949
If you are looking for a specific airport, you can just hit Ctrl+F, type in the airport code and click OK. The airport will be found and highlighted on the map.

Also, if you select just one airline (or alliance), only airports served by that airline or alliance will be shown, making it easier to select them.
cockpitvisit is offline  
Old Nov 25, 2012, 1:29 pm
  #487  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
SB - in skyteam

Hello, please note that SB is part of Skyteam (miles earnable and redeemable)
feufollet is offline  
Old Nov 25, 2012, 1:35 pm
  #488  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Map lacks of this airline

DA - Daily Air corporation (Tawan)
feufollet is offline  
Old Dec 11, 2012, 8:05 am
  #489  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,949
Exclamation New update

A new update is available.

  • Route maps updated to reflect December 2012
cockpitvisit is offline  
Old Dec 11, 2012, 2:06 pm
  #490  
Moderator: Chase Ultimate Rewards
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 2P, MR LT Plat, IHG Plat, BW Dia, HH Au, Avis PC
Posts: 5,475
Is the right executable in that ZIP? It loads as "Version 1.2.0.7 (2011-09-05)" but I could have sworn the last version had a 2012 executable.
MDtR-Chicago is offline  
Old Dec 11, 2012, 2:11 pm
  #491  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,949
Originally Posted by MDtR-Chicago
Is the right executable in that ZIP? It loads as "Version 1.2.0.7 (2011-09-05)" but I could have sworn the last version had a 2012 executable.
No, the executable is still from 2011. There is no newer version.

Maybe you confused the data set date with the executable date.
cockpitvisit is offline  
Old Dec 11, 2012, 2:21 pm
  #492  
Moderator: Chase Ultimate Rewards
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 2P, MR LT Plat, IHG Plat, BW Dia, HH Au, Avis PC
Posts: 5,475
My mistake.
MDtR-Chicago is offline  
Old Dec 11, 2012, 10:56 pm
  #493  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Here and there...
Programs: *A Gold, ST Gold; SPG Plat
Posts: 99
Thumbs up

Awesome job cockpitvisit, as always
For the next update, you may want to update the alliances:

Star Alliance +ZH
SkyTeam +MF

Regards,

Caesar
caesar04 is offline  
Old Dec 17, 2012, 3:04 am
  #494  
AHO
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,044
My browsers crash as soon as I try to connect to Airline Route Mapper website(http://arm.64hosts.com/).
I have tried both by Opera and by Firefox. (I don't dare using Internet Explorer...)
AHO is offline  
Old Dec 17, 2012, 3:57 am
  #495  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,949
Originally Posted by AHO
My browsers crash as soon as I try to connect to Airline Route Mapper website(http://arm.64hosts.com/).
Please try again.

I had added a small Java applet to the page to see how many of you have Java enabled, for a possible online version of the tool. I didn't realize it would cause some browsers to crash though, very sorry about that.
cockpitvisit is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.