Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums >
Reload this Page >

Miles&Points

Airlines and Mileage Programs

SAS | EuroBonus

SAS Plus Lounge Access Policy

SAS Plus Lounge Access Policy

Old Nov 29, 19, 6:57 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
SAS Plus Lounge Access Policy

Hello
I am planning to fly from HKG via CPH to AMS in SAS Plus, however, I'm a bit confused about SAS Plus lounge access policy.
Apparently SAS Plus passengers can access to SAS lounge in CPH, but how about other SA lounges (e.g. in HKG, AMS)?

Thank you
HW2019 is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 7:02 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Koala Lemur
Programs: SK EBD LTG (*G)
Posts: 2,284
You should be able to access all C-level *A lounges. I believe there is no accessible arrival lounge in AMS, but there should be a departure lounge, if you are returning in PLUS. Remember that these have to be *A lounges, not contract lounges with which individual *A airlines made deals. These, unfortunately, SK has cut some time ago.

Use the Star Alliance lounge finders to check your options in HKG and AMS.
SK2751 is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 7:09 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Thank you very much for your help
HW2019 is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 7:20 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: RTM
Programs: A3 Gold, AY Gold
Posts: 447
From my understanding, and based on the SAS website, you should have business class lounge access within Europe (e.g., the *A lounge in AMS), but for long-hauls, you only have access to SAS' own lounges, so unfortunately no lounge access in HKG.
clifford79 is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 8:17 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Got it! thanks
HW2019 is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 8:21 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Koala Lemur
Programs: SK EBD LTG (*G)
Posts: 2,284
Originally Posted by clifford79 View Post
From my understanding, and based on the SAS website, you should have business class lounge access within Europe (e.g., the *A lounge in AMS), but for long-hauls, you only have access to SAS' own lounges, so unfortunately no lounge access in HKG.
Right. @clifford79 is completely right about it. A memory slip on my side.
SK2751 is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 11:49 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Programs: AY+, SK EB
Posts: 2,481
Originally Posted by SK2751 View Post
I believe there is no accessible arrival lounge in AMS, but there should be a departure lounge, if you are returning in PLUS.
Just a note: for arrival lounge access there needs to be SK's own lounge in first place. A common *A lounge is not sufficient.
SK2751 likes this.
Jainzar is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 3:25 pm
  #8  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK.
Programs: SQ LPPS, A3 *G, BA Silver aiming for Bronze
Posts: 1,506
Equally, SAS don't tell you about any lounges but their own. On any booking from LHR which is my base there is never a mention of a lounge but you are welcome in any *A lounge in plus, they do however tell you about lounges at ARN, CPH, HEL and other places where the lounges are their own.
lhrpete is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 4:48 pm
  #9  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Watchlisted by the prejudiced, en route to purgatory
Programs: Just Say No to Fleecing and Blacklisting
Posts: 99,549
Originally Posted by lhrpete View Post
Equally, SAS don't tell you about any lounges but their own. On any booking from LHR which is my base there is never a mention of a lounge but you are welcome in any *A lounge in plus, they do however tell you about lounges at ARN, CPH, HEL and other places where the lounges are their own.
Its pretty routine behavior for airlines to mention (or have a preference for) their own lounges when it comes to premium passengers flying on the metal of the airline for which the airline rep is working.
GUWonder is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 5:47 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tokyo
Programs: JAL Metal Card (OWE), SAS Eurobonus Diamond (*G), Marriott Ambassador (LTP), Tokyu Hotels Platinum
Posts: 17,005
Originally Posted by GUWonder View Post
Its pretty routine behavior for airlines to mention (or have a preference for) their own lounges when it comes to premium passengers flying on the metal of the airline for which the airline rep is working.
Even at outstations where the airline does not have their own lounges, they try to pretend that you have to go to one specific lounge. In Hong Kong JAL always want me to go to the Qantas lounge, and while a nice place I always head to The Pier first class lounge, as it is significantly nicer. ANA usually pretends you HAVE to go to the United lounge, where the Silverkris lounge is infinitely nicer.

Had one exception recently, where the JAL station manager in Singapore told me to go the the Qantas F lounge running soft opening, so not officially available. Rather than the assigned DNATA lounge.
CPH-Flyer is offline  
Old Apr 16, 22, 3:30 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: EZE
Programs: UA Gold,Delta Gold Bonvoy Titanium Elite, HH Diamond , AA Platinum, EENational, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 1,323
Bumping this thread to show the SAS Gold Lounge at CPH. My takeaways below:

- huge lounge
- love the number of healthy food options
- food is good
- the most high tech I pad drink dispenser 😂

Brandinho1 is offline  
Old Apr 16, 22, 6:24 pm
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tokyo
Programs: JAL Metal Card (OWE), SAS Eurobonus Diamond (*G), Marriott Ambassador (LTP), Tokyu Hotels Platinum
Posts: 17,005
Originally Posted by Brandinho1 View Post
Bumping this thread to show the SAS Gold Lounge at CPH. My takeaways below:

- huge lounge
- love the number of healthy food options
- food is good
- the most high tech I pad drink dispenser 😂

https://youtu.be/K_P6UKlgW1U
How did you ever find it that devoid of people?

On a side note, if both lounges are open, you can't access the gold lounge with a Plus or business class ticket, nor can you pay to access the Gold Lounge. You need star alliance gold status. In periods during the traffic down turn the gold lounge has been the only one open, so the situation has been different. But as a blanket explanation, you'd probably need to edit your video.
Brandinho1 likes this.

Last edited by CPH-Flyer; Apr 16, 22 at 7:17 pm
CPH-Flyer is offline  
Old Apr 17, 22, 10:30 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: WC1
Programs: BAEC Gold, SK *G, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 621
I was about to post to say that, unlike at the start of the year, the CPH lounge is now properly divided back into the Gold and Business sections as it used to be back in the day. The obvious difference that I could spot was that the barista was there at limited times and that cheap spirits were now available...
SK2751 and Brandinho1 like this.
GaryK84 is offline  
Old Apr 17, 22, 2:24 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: EZE
Programs: UA Gold,Delta Gold Bonvoy Titanium Elite, HH Diamond , AA Platinum, EENational, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 1,323
Originally Posted by CPH-Flyer View Post
How did you ever find it that devoid of people?

On a side note, if both lounges are open, you can't access the gold lounge with a Plus or business class ticket, nor can you pay to access the Gold Lounge. You need star alliance gold status. In periods during the traffic down turn the gold lounge has been the only one open, so the situation has been different. But as a blanket explanation, you'd probably need to edit your video.
Thank you for the explanation.
Brandinho1 is offline  
Old Apr 20, 22, 1:10 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Koala Lemur
Programs: SK EBD LTG (*G)
Posts: 2,284
Originally Posted by GaryK84 View Post
I was about to post to say that, unlike at the start of the year, the CPH lounge is now properly divided back into the Gold and Business sections as it used to be back in the day. The obvious difference that I could spot was that the barista was there at limited times and that cheap spirits were now available...
Oh thanks for this. I did notice that the Business lounge has reopened, but have not been lucky to hit the barrista opening times yet. This was one thing I was definitely missing.
SK2751 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread