Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Hyatt | World of Hyatt
Reload this Page >

$900 charge on my credit card for using DSU

$900 charge on my credit card for using DSU

Old May 8, 15, 10:55 am
  #16  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: PHX/SFO
Programs: AA EXP; AS 75K; WN A List; UA 1K 1MM; Hyatt Globalist; Marriott AMB; Hilton Diamond (Aspire)
Posts: 45,790
Originally Posted by iflyjetz View Post
Ah, playing post police today, are we?
People rely on what's posted in these forums. It's important to be accurate.

fwiw, I've had this issue on one of my last four DSU upgrades. So no, I don't think "always" is correct.
Kacee is online now  
Old May 8, 15, 11:00 am
  #17  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 91,835
Originally Posted by Single_Flyer View Post
Thanks; I know it will get sorted out, just concerned about the time it will take to make sure it all works out. Also fear that there will be an issue when checking in. But Hyatt usually comes through so not overly concerned.



Mine also shows up as two rooms; I think they do this when you are given a connector room (i.e. technically two rooms with two different room numbers). My most recent Hyatt stay I was given a connector room without using a DSU; it showed up as two rooms about 24 hours before my stay. I was concerned I was being charged for two rooms, but when I checked in they explained it was a complimentary upgrade.
In my case, it wasn't a connector suite, although the hotel has them. When I've gotten the connector as an upgrade, it didn't show as two rooms on my reservation or receipt, although my key card had both room numbers and the key cards worked for both doors.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old May 8, 15, 11:11 am
  #18  
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Programs: Marriott LT Tit; Hyatt Explorist; Hilton CC Gold; IHG CC Plt; Hertz (MR) 5 star
Posts: 5,536
Someone else wrote on here a while back about the MLife partnership (paraphrasing): The reason why Hyatt partnered with MLife is to make Hyatt's IT/website look less glitchy.

I love Hyatt but there are a lot of 'bugs'.

Originally Posted by Kacee View Post
People rely on what's posted in these forums. It's important to be accurate.

fwiw, I've had this issue on one of my last four DSU upgrades. So no, I don't think "always" is correct.
OK, just keep to the same standard.
Did you check your reservation online immediately after applying a DSU? I was told by HGP - when it happened to me - that it's normal and gets adjusted back to the original rate within a few hours. Unless you check all of your reservations online immediately after using a DSU, 'always' may be correct. Until they fix that particular 'bug'.

Last edited by iflyjetz; May 8, 15 at 11:23 am
iflyjetz is offline  
Old Jul 8, 15, 7:16 am
  #19  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Programs: Hyatt Globalist No More..., Hyatt Explorist, Hilton Diamond, SPG Platinum, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 4,373
*bump* I saw this thread a few weeks ago and glad that I did. I redeemed my first DSU yesterday and immediately after, I saw the full price for the suite on my reservation. However thanks to this thread, I just waited it out. I got about 3-4 more emails throughout the night and the price seems fixed now. (Which is great b/c I got a great BRG rate that is about $90/night cheaper than a regular room anyways.)
cdancer20 is offline  
Old Jul 8, 15, 5:38 pm
  #20  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SEA
Posts: 1,712
Originally Posted by cdancer20 View Post
*bump* I saw this thread a few weeks ago and glad that I did. I redeemed my first DSU yesterday and immediately after, I saw the full price for the suite on my reservation. However thanks to this thread, I just waited it out. I got about 3-4 more emails throughout the night and the price seems fixed now. (Which is great b/c I got a great BRG rate that is about $90/night cheaper than a regular room anyways.)
Glad this helped and glad it worked itself out! I ended up having to contact Hyatt a couple of times to get it fixed, but in the end it all worked. Seems like a bug if others are having the same experience with being double charged.

Did your credit card get charged for the suite?
Single_Flyer is offline  
Old Jul 8, 15, 9:17 pm
  #21  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Programs: Hyatt Globalist No More..., Hyatt Explorist, Hilton Diamond, SPG Platinum, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 4,373
Originally Posted by Single_Flyer View Post
Glad this helped and glad it worked itself out! I ended up having to contact Hyatt a couple of times to get it fixed, but in the end it all worked. Seems like a bug if others are having the same experience with being double charged.

Did your credit card get charged for the suite?
No. However that might be partially b/c I had already paid the 1st night's deposit a few weeks ago. Though I will keep a look out for it. They have been known to not charge the deposit for days.
cdancer20 is offline  
Old Jul 9, 15, 8:53 am
  #22  
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Ambassador: World of Hyatt
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NJ
Programs: Hyatt Globalist, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, UA Silver, dirt elsewhere
Posts: 45,678
There is a difference between getting a confirmation with the cost of the suite on it and being charged.

Often right after the reservation is made, the confirmation goes out with the cost on it and it is followed by another one showing that it is for a DSU. It's happened to me on just about every DSU booking.

To actually get charged is completely different, and that is an error. However, if the charge only showed as a pending change, it is very possible the system did it automatically when the reservation was made and wouldn't actually make it to the "sale" part of the credit card bill.
Mary2e is offline  
Old Jul 9, 15, 9:16 am
  #23  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 91,835
The pending charge could be a problem for someone who is close to being maxed out on the credit card's credit limit.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Jul 9, 15, 9:17 am
  #24  
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Ambassador: World of Hyatt
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NJ
Programs: Hyatt Globalist, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, UA Silver, dirt elsewhere
Posts: 45,678
It could be, but I was only mentioning that pending charges don't always make it to the sale portion of the bill.
Mary2e is offline  
Old Jul 9, 15, 5:22 pm
  #25  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SEA
Posts: 1,712
Originally Posted by Mary2e View Post
There is a difference between getting a confirmation with the cost of the suite on it and being charged.

Often right after the reservation is made, the confirmation goes out with the cost on it and it is followed by another one showing that it is for a DSU. It's happened to me on just about every DSU booking.

To actually get charged is completely different, and that is an error. However, if the charge only showed as a pending change, it is very possible the system did it automatically when the reservation was made and wouldn't actually make it to the "sale" part of the credit card bill.
I believe mine was an error because it was a fully processed charged on my Hyatt Visa.

Hopefully others aren't having this happen.
Single_Flyer is offline  
Old Jul 9, 15, 5:30 pm
  #26  
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Ambassador: World of Hyatt
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NJ
Programs: Hyatt Globalist, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, UA Silver, dirt elsewhere
Posts: 45,678
Agree.
Mary2e is offline  
Old Jul 9, 15, 10:01 pm
  #27  
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Programs: Marriott LT Tit; Hyatt Explorist; Hilton CC Gold; IHG CC Plt; Hertz (MR) 5 star
Posts: 5,536
I had this problem again a week ago. Upgraded a C+P booking with a DSU. Checked the reservation ~36 hours later and showed the wrong rate. Called and they fixed it; said it would take a few hours for the computer to sweep and adjust the rate back down.
Checked the reservation a few hours later and rate was back to being correct.
iflyjetz is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: