Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Oceania (Australia, New Zealand & the South Pacific) > Oceania (Australia, New Zealand & the South Pacific)
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Feb 18, 13, 4:58 pm   #1
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG ►NZ*E ►VA WP ►HHD ►IHG G
Posts: 16,462
Smartgate - US Global Entry Program

Good news for those from the USA coming to Oz:

Global Entry and Nexus/Sentri Users Now Eligible for SmartGate in Australia

Quote:
... members of Global Entry or Nexus/Sentri are now automatically eligible to use Australia’s SmartGate automated border processing system when arriving in the country. No enrollment is required and travelers can bypass the passport/immigration lines and proceed to a SmartGate kiosk. ...
Smartgate is automatic entry rather than seeing an immigration officer.

Australian Customs - Smartgate

Smartgate - US Global Entry Program Trial

US Global Entry Trial brochure.
serfty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 13, 6:01 pm   #2
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Utah
Programs: United
Posts: 449
I received an email about this earlier as well, and it looks quite interesting.

However, wouldn't a foreigner (ie US citizen with a Global Entry card) need to get their passport stamped at some point?
Leviticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 13, 7:39 pm   #3
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG ►NZ*E ►VA WP ►HHD ►IHG G
Posts: 16,462
I guess not.

As an Oz PP holder I haven't had my passport stamped in NZ or Oz for several years.
serfty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 13, 9:47 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SNA Rwy 19L
Programs: QF Silver
Posts: 687
Don't think you get passport stamps anymore -- I was just in Oz last December and wanted to use the SmartGate lines (US passport) but the kiosks were down so I had to use the conventional immigration lines. I was surprised not to get a stamp and asked if they would stamp my passport since I might apply for AU citizenship in a few years & would like the proof of time in country. They told me that everything was electronic & they didn't even have the stampers any more.
Zarf4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 13, 10:31 pm   #5
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Utah
Programs: United
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarf4 View Post
They told me that everything was electronic & they didn't even have the stampers any more.
Quote:
Originally Posted by serfty View Post
As an Oz PP holder I haven't had my passport stamped in NZ or Oz for several years.
Wow! I figured that might be correct for specific areas like the EU, NZ/AU or US/CA but the fact that they even got rid of the stamps is really surprising to me.
Leviticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 13, 10:59 pm   #6
tt7
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tampa, FL & MEL; AA EXP 7MM
Posts: 2,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarf4 View Post
I was surprised not to get a stamp and asked if they would stamp my passport since I might apply for AU citizenship in a few years & would like the proof of time in country. They told me that everything was electronic & they didn't even have the stampers any more.
They can produce a list of every time you've entered and left the country (including the exact time your passport was swiped) at the press of a button... When you apply for citizenship, they'll run the list of every time you've entered and left and check you've been here for the requisite amount of time. The immigration website has a calculator that you can use to determine if you meet the requirements -- but that of course is not much help these days if you don't have all those stamps in your passport so you can remember when you entered and left!!
tt7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 13, 11:44 pm   #7
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG ►NZ*E ►VA WP ►HHD ►IHG G
Posts: 16,462
They do have the stamps still, but not one for every counter.
serfty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 13, 6:42 pm   #8
TalkBoard Member, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.003MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 29,913
Apparently GE doesn't exempt USA citizens from applying for an ETA (or visa).
__________________
Happily celebrating 2MM with DL/NW!
MSPeconomist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 13, 8:11 pm   #9
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CBR
Programs: A3*G, HH Gold, Plenty of Nothing
Posts: 1,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
Apparently GE doesn't exempt USA citizens from applying for an ETA (or visa).
Still need a visa (an ETA is technically a visa), you just get access to the automated processing through SmartGate which is normally faster than the standard queues.
*A Flyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 13, 4:12 am   #10
#10
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 832

First time using the Gate as US GE. Had to purchase a $20 ETA at US departure. Arrived at MEL. There are many kiosks on the way to immigration. Stopped at one, scanned my US passport, answered 3 questions no and received a ticket. Took the ticket to the Smartgate lane. There was no line for regular immigration but wanted to see what would happen. Someone directing traffic walked me over to the Gate to make sure it would work. Inserted ticket, looked at monitor (she told me to remove glasses which made it difficult for me to see monitor and impossible to follow any directions). Got my ticket back without doing anything other than inserting ticket and looking at monitor and was on my way about as fast as the first person to reach regular immigration sans queue. Very cool.
#10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 13, 2:23 pm   #11
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Australia and Canada
Programs: Qantas FF Plat; AC SE; Virgin Aust Gold; Qatar Priv, SPG, Accor Gold
Posts: 754
Quote:
Originally Posted by #10 View Post
First time using the Gate as US GE. Had to purchase a $20 ETA at US departure. Arrived at MEL. There are many kiosks on the way to immigration. Stopped at one, scanned my US passport, answered 3 questions no and received a ticket. Took the ticket to the Smartgate lane. There was no line for regular immigration but wanted to see what would happen. Someone directing traffic walked me over to the Gate to make sure it would work. Inserted ticket, looked at monitor (she told me to remove glasses which made it difficult for me to see monitor and impossible to follow any directions). Got my ticket back without doing anything other than inserting ticket and looking at monitor and was on my way about as fast as the first person to reach regular immigration sans queue. Very cool.
Great! Now can you write to your Congressman/woman, please, and ask Uncle Sam to give Aussies receprocity when arriving in US
__________________
2013 YTD: 90 flights, 283,000 km
My Flight memory: http://my.flightmemory.com/RooFlyer
RooFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 13, 4:35 pm   #12
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Programs: QFF, Flying Blue, Enrich
Posts: 3,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by RooFlyer View Post
Great! Now can you write to your Congressman/woman, please, and ask Uncle Sam to give Aussies receprocity when arriving in US
haha, like that's ever going to happen.
BadgerBoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 13, 9:00 am   #13
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland
Programs: Qantas, BA, KLM, SAS, M&M
Posts: 1,387
Quote:
please, and ask Uncle Sam to give Aussies receprocity when arriving in US
Well, if they could just get the Immi officials at LAX to SMILE now and then, it would be a result.
mandolino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 13, 6:16 am   #14
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
I always read about Australia accepting Global Entry, but never about New Zealand. When I was in NZ in December, I noticed that they also allowed Global Entry to use the express lanes. Granted, the lines in NZ were not nearly as bad as in AU, but it is still nice to have. The problem we had in AU is that my BF still has the old passport (non-biometric), so we were not able to use the Smartgate in AU. Fortunately, this was not an issue in NZ, since we still went through an customs agent, just no line to wait in. It seemed like they just started to accept Global Entry, since he was not really familiar with it, but they were aware of it.
downinit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 13, 8:53 am   #15
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by downinit View Post
I always read about Australia accepting Global Entry, but never about New Zealand. When I was in NZ in December, I noticed that they also allowed Global Entry to use the express lanes. Granted, the lines in NZ were not nearly as bad as in AU, but it is still nice to have. The problem we had in AU is that my BF still has the old passport (non-biometric), so we were not able to use the Smartgate in AU. Fortunately, this was not an issue in NZ, since we still went through an customs agent, just no line to wait in. It seemed like they just started to accept Global Entry, since he was not really familiar with it, but they were aware of it.
True, here it is: http://www.globalentry.gov/newzealand.html
nas6034 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:07 am.




SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.