Is Global Entry worthwhile?

Old Mar 29, 09, 6:24 pm
  #76  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 135
Originally Posted by ESpen36 View Post
Picked up my sticker at JFK today! In fact, the officer was in such a good mood, he gave me 2 stickers! ("one for good luck")

From my perspective, it means that I won't have to go back to pick up another sticker when I renew my passport in 2012. ^
can you post a picture of what the sticker looks like? (black out any
personal data, of course)
Roy2CDG is offline  
Old Mar 29, 09, 6:31 pm
  #77  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10,037
Originally Posted by Roy2CDG View Post
can you post a picture of what the sticker looks like? (black out any
personal data, of course)
It's an approximately 2.5 inch wide by 1 inch high white sticker with simple blue lettering saying "CBP."

That's it, nothing else on it.
LessO2 is offline  
Old Mar 29, 09, 6:32 pm
  #78  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10,037
Originally Posted by goingbananas View Post
Good deal. ^
Thanks. No checked bags. Coming in from EZE in the am with a 1:45 connection time.
Plenty of time. Enjoy.
LessO2 is offline  
Old Mar 30, 09, 1:51 pm
  #79  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NYC, USA
Programs: AA EXP 3MM, Lifetime Platinum, SPG Gold, MR Gold, HH Gold
Posts: 10,450
Originally Posted by LessO2 View Post
It's an approximately 2.5 inch wide by 1 inch high white sticker with simple blue lettering saying "CBP."

That's it, nothing else on it.

Wow...my stickers are much smaller. Perhaps 3/4" wide by 1/2" tall. Very small white sticker with simple blue lettering that says "CBP." No personal details at all.

I'm starting to think that it might not be worth much, but some members have commented on this forum that some locations require you to show the sticker in order to use the crew line or skip to the front of the line if the kiosks are not functioning.
ESpen36 is offline  
Old Apr 5, 09, 8:20 pm
  #80  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Antonio, TX
Programs: UA 1K, Hilton Honors Diamond, Starwood Platinum Preferred
Posts: 198
Had my interview today, the officer was very friendly and it was painless. I did inquire as to the process when my passport expires next year. Once I receive the new passport, I need to call the office and stop by to allow them to update the info. It must be done in person, but not appointment is necessary--just call ahead.
ll22949 is offline  
Old Apr 5, 09, 9:31 pm
  #81  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NYC, USA
Programs: AA EXP 3MM, Lifetime Platinum, SPG Gold, MR Gold, HH Gold
Posts: 10,450
Originally Posted by ll22949 View Post
Had my interview today, the officer was very friendly and it was painless. I did inquire as to the process when my passport expires next year. Once I receive the new passport, I need to call the office and stop by to allow them to update the info. It must be done in person, but not appointment is necessary--just call ahead.

Is it the same for NEXUS, does anyone know? When I had my interview, the officer said that I would have to stop by in person to have them update my record and print me a new NEXUS card showing my new passport number. But, I just got my new (WHTI-compliant) NEXUS card and it does not have my passport number printed on it. So, my hope is that I can simply call in with my new passport number to have my record updated. Does anyone know?

(It's obviously a nuisance to claim an award ticket and fly all the way up to Canada for the day just to visit the NEXUS enrollment centre.)
ESpen36 is offline  
Old Apr 6, 09, 8:52 am
  #82  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: MSP
Programs: SPG Gold;NWA gold;Hyatt Plat
Posts: 1,458
I finally got my global entry sticker. I've had nexus for years and had a log layover in ATL.. went to the customs office.. waited about 45 mins for an officer to show up, they took my passport and were amazed everything was already scanned in, even tho I told them that was done for Nexus.

They didn't really explain much more to me however.. Do I just flash the sticker at any airport entry point and use the crew line? Or is it only at global entry points?
goaliemn is offline  
Old Apr 6, 09, 10:59 am
  #83  
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Alexandria, VA, USA NW Platinum Elite Since 1999, United GoldMM, Hyatt Plat, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold, Hertz #1 Gold, IC Ambassador, Avis Chairman's
Posts: 7,445
I did my interview last week and got both of my passports enrolled, though it took the officer a few minutes on how to add the second one in my profile. Now to see how it all works in 2 weeks!

Originally Posted by wxguy View Post
I did my interview at JFK last week, and it took fewer than 15 minutes. The officer was really friendly, and said that the program is meeting enrollment and usage expectations. I'll get to have my first entry at IAD next week... which will allow me more time to wait for my luggage
thezipper is offline  
Old Apr 6, 09, 2:03 pm
  #84  
Community Director
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Anywhere warm
Posts: 29,782
Originally Posted by goaliemn View Post
They didn't really explain much more to me however.. Do I just flash the sticker at any airport entry point and use the crew line? Or is it only at global entry points?
It was my understanding that it is for airports with Global Entry machines. You go to the machine and have it scan your passport. If the machine malfunctions, you can then use the crew line and show the sticker on your passport.

I'll be happy to be corrected and told it can be used more broadly.
SanDiego1K is offline  
Old Apr 9, 09, 11:33 am
  #85  
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Programs: QF WP, AA EXP
Posts: 3,084
Applied yesterday, and I'm showing conditionally approved today. Scheduled my interview prior to an international flight next week. I'm looking forward to this after the loss of INSPASS (although not necessarily the loss of $100 out of my pocket, INSPASS was free).
SNA_Flyer is offline  
Old Apr 9, 09, 12:12 pm
  #86  
Ari
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 11,039
Originally Posted by ESpen36 View Post
Picked up my sticker at JFK today! In fact, the officer was in such a good mood, he gave me 2 stickers! ("one for good luck")

From my perspective, it means that I won't have to go back to pick up another sticker when I renew my passport in 2012. ^
Except you will have to visit a GE center because you will have to enroll that travel document (new passport) in GE.
Ari is offline  
Old Apr 9, 09, 5:26 pm
  #87  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: where the chile is hot
Programs: AA,RR,NW,Delta ,UA,CO
Posts: 32,725
Has anyone applied for NEXUS lately? I signed up right after Canpass got discontinued. My original NEXUS expired in November, 2007. I applied for a 'new' one (referenced the original expired one). It's been two weeks now, and I'm still in 'pending review' status.
chollie is offline  
Old Apr 9, 09, 10:58 pm
  #88  
Formerly known as I_Hate_US_Airways
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Just South Of North
Programs: My Loyalty Programs? I now VOTE with my wallet!!!
Posts: 2,566
Wink Easy Answer...

Let's see...

Be in line for upwards to an hour while while standing beside someone who smells like they just cooked a goat in horse urnine OR wiz through customs in less than a minute, hmmmm????
I_Can_Fly_US_Airways is offline  
Old Apr 11, 09, 6:22 pm
  #89  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: BOS<>NYC<>BKK
Programs: UA 4.1MM LT-GS; AA1MM; Amtrak S+; MAR LT TITAN; PC Plat; HIL DIA; HYA GLOB
Posts: 3,869
I did my first Global Entry at IAD this past Thursday.

Murphy's Law! I was the first off the plane, and first into Immigration. There was no one on any of the lines. But since I was going to have to wait for my checked bag anyway, I walked up to the GE kiosk, and self-processed. It worked fine -- about one minute all inclusive. And then the 30-minute wait for the luggage...

When I handed the GE kiosk print-out to the Customs officer, he asked "How's it working out for you?" I replied, "First time, so far, so good." He said, "Welcome home, wxguy." I guess the $100 was worth it just to have a Customs official say that
wxguy is offline  
Old Apr 12, 09, 4:30 pm
  #90  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: DEN
Programs: UA Gold 1MM, Hyatt Plat, SPG Plat
Posts: 332
LAX Question

Does anyone know if at LAX the GE kiosk is available in the T6/T7 immigration facility, or is it only available at TBIT?
AceAirspeed is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: