Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Tools
Reload this Page >

Google Flights - Changes, Updates, Glitches and Help [consolidated thread]

Google Flights - Changes, Updates, Glitches and Help [consolidated thread]

Old Nov 22, 17, 9:26 am
  #151  
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: LH SEN; BA Gold
Posts: 8,337
It has devalued further but certainly not crashed. And since you'll be paying in IDR when being redirected it probably doesn't make a difference.

The GF exchange rate is off by a multiple ~1,000. 100,000,000 IDR suddenly become 61
WorldLux is offline  
Old Nov 22, 17, 3:06 pm
  #152  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Programs: Delta SkyMiles
Posts: 95
Originally Posted by stuart_f View Post
Agree on the useless white space - it may look good on a 'mood board' but it's impractical for the user. Shrinking the page in my browser using 80% zoom helps quite a bit.

Links to book flights via Google Travel seem new. eg Book on Google with KLM
These links have been around for a little while now. Presumably, now that Google is phasing out the QPX express API in order to prioritize booking through Google Flights, they will transition to a system that will make all results shown have at least one configuration bookable with Google Flights directly, except perhaps for some airlines which have price display or other issues (Southwest comes to mind). This is an unfortunate but predictable trend. One worries if Google might next take action designed to counter the effectiveness of the ITA Matrix script or Bookwithmatrix.com, which would be even more problematic.

Regarding functionality, I did notice one annoying change, which is that if there is a result that can only be booked by calling the airline, it no longer displays the flight numbers that you should quote to the booking agent in order to find the correct configuration and price. This feature is particularly useful when codeshare flights are involved, because often differences in operating or marketing carrier can change the cost of the fare drastically.
starwarsgeek8 is offline  
Old Nov 23, 17, 1:24 pm
  #153  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: GRR, USA
Posts: 3,206
I'm not seeing any weird pricing when recreating your search. fares look normal.
LufthansaFlyer is offline  
Old Jan 22, 18, 2:44 pm
  #154  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bay Area
Programs: DL SM, UA MP.
Posts: 11,469
Anyone notice the GF seems to randomly drop some of the flights you're tracking?

I was at 55, added some and now it's showing only 47.
wco81 is online now  
Old Jan 28, 18, 12:14 pm
  #155  
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 3,359
Is Google Flights being Blocked from Showing SkyTeam Fares?

Hey Everyone,

While partaking in my favourite past time (hunting for low cost fares to do milage runs) I started to notice a pattern - any Delta itinerary I put together I was greeted with the following:



Any idea what's going on here? This seems to happen across the board for Delta and in many cases for SkyTeam partners like KLM and AF and has been happening for the past 2-3 days.

Safe Travels,

James
FlyerTalker70 is offline  
Old Jan 28, 18, 5:22 pm
  #156  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: HOU
Programs: AA EXP, UA 1K
Posts: 285
Apologies for the long post and this is my just guess so I could be wrong but...

I don't think it's SkyTeam limiting Google, but rather something fundamental has changed in the way Google Flights displays pricing and it's causing problems.

I have been getting the "Book with a travel agent" messaging across carriers (AA, B6, and DL off the top my head) and across different itineraries.

I believe Google Flights gets its pricing data directly from ATPCO (the industry clearinghouse for fares) and it does not know how to interpret the wide range of things that are possible to code for restrictions. When it runs into something it doesn't know how to handle, it throws up the "Book with a travel agent" message and a price that is probably not legal (from a rules perspective) to sell, but exists and can be sold on other dates or flights or whatnot.

Why does it say "Book with travel agent"? Well, I think it's a bit cheeky. A travel agent could sell this fare by force pricing it in the GDS. However, they will 99.9999% get a debit memo from DL and so it's not worth doing it.

If you are seeing it across DL, AF, and KL and widespread lately, the JV may have changed the way it did some of their fare rules coding, which is causing Google Flights widespread problems (likely something in a General Rule to be technical).
croberts134 is offline  
Old Feb 1, 18, 7:35 am
  #157  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: I 35 south bound, finally stopped
Programs: AA EXP, LT Plt, 4mm, Free Agent
Posts: 994
Google Flights adds delay predictions and Basis Economy fares restrictions info

https://www.pcmag.com/news/358922/wi...ask-googles-ai

says it can use AI to know if you will have a flight delay before the airlines do.

mods please merge if I missed an old thread.
https://blog.google/topics/travel/ge...delays-winter/

Last edited by boerne; Feb 1, 18 at 7:55 am Reason: added info
boerne is offline  
Old Feb 25, 18, 11:55 pm
  #158  
TA
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: if it's Thursday, this must be Belgium
Programs: UA 1K MM
Posts: 6,180
Really don't like Google Flights new UI look and feel

I don't know that any really different functionality is available in Google Flights' new UI, but I really don't like it compared to the old look. Lots of cluttering boxes and heavy borders and junk. Anyone else feel the same?

Old look:



New look:

84fiero and Great_circle like this.
TA is offline  
Old Feb 26, 18, 11:41 am
  #159  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: EUG
Programs: BonVoy Ti, IHG Au, HH Au, Nexus, Pilot FlyingJ Preferred, *$ Au
Posts: 4,611
Yes. Current Web UI design is utter garbage these days.
rustykettel is online now  
Old Feb 26, 18, 12:09 pm
  #160  
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: AMS-LHR
Programs: BA Gold, KL/AF Gold
Posts: 361
The new UI used to have the option (end of page) to switch to the old UI but that seems to be no longer the case..
Great_circle is offline  
Old Feb 27, 18, 8:51 pm
  #161  
TA
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: if it's Thursday, this must be Belgium
Programs: UA 1K MM
Posts: 6,180
Originally Posted by Great_circle View Post
The new UI used to have the option (end of page) to switch to the old UI but that seems to be no longer the case..
Actually, I found such a button to go back to the old version! It's at the lower left of the window, all the way at bottom, and I use it all the time now:

Great_circle likes this.
TA is offline  
Old Feb 27, 18, 10:58 pm
  #162  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: SFO/SJC, BWI
Programs: :rolleyes:, DL DM, Mlife Plat, TR 7*, Marriott Tit, UA Gold
Posts: 11,243
Originally Posted by TA View Post
Actually, I found such a button to go back to the old version! It's at the lower left of the window, all the way at bottom, and I use it all the time now:
^ but only until they take that away. I kept reverting the Calendar UI "upgrade" for as long as I could, but now no longer have the option to go back

I'm still bitter about Google Maps too :mad #getoffmylawn
Great_circle likes this.
Zorak is offline  
Old Mar 5, 18, 2:09 am
  #163  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: MMX (CPH)
Programs: QR PC Platinum, AY+ Platinum, A3*G, Eurobonus silver (!), Nordic Choice Platinum, Liberokerho GOLD
Posts: 10,837
Originally Posted by TA View Post
Actually, I found such a button to go back to the old version! It's at the lower left of the window, all the way at bottom, and I use it all the time now:

...
Thank you a million!
I saw the icon but could not for my life believe a 'man running for the exit' was chosen as the symbol associated with 'switch to old ui'. But looking at the new ui, it is quite fitting!!!
synergistic and Great_circle like this.
intuition is offline  
Old Mar 13, 18, 6:00 pm
  #164  
Formerly known as cagalindo
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MCO TPA
Programs: Citi AA/HH/TYP Amex SPG/HH & Chase SP/PC
Posts: 1,334
Originally Posted by YacozA View Post
  • Origin and Destination airport limitation lifted from 5 to 7
I love that upgrade, they cap the alerts at 6 it seems. Best for finding those low fares!

Does anyone know of any tools with alerts that accept more than 6 origin/destinations? (Unfortunately ITA does not do alerts)
caGALINDO is offline  
Old Mar 24, 18, 5:19 am
  #165  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5,154
Originally Posted by TA View Post
Actually, I found such a button to go back to the old version! It's at the lower left of the window, all the way at bottom, and I use it all the time now:

img
Thank you! Came here looking specifically for how to do this. The new UI precludes several of my favourite shortcuts, like typing the origin in the destination to get them to switch, which is useful when I have a list in one field. It looks fine, maybe better, but it requires too much clicking.
fumje is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: