QR Al Safwa First Class Lounge

    Hide Wikipost
Old Sep 13, 22, 8:42 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Travel-Quinten
Wiki Link
READ BEFORE COMMENTING IF YOU ARE NEW,

Hamad International Airport (HIA) offers passengers a number of different lounges.

This thread, is specifically for the Al Safwa First Class Lounge. Information on the other Lounge options at HIA, can be found here.

Does Al Safwa have a web page?
Yes: http://www.qatarairways.com/global/e...-al-safwa.page

Where can I find Al Safwa Lounge?
The Lounge is located on Level 3 of the airport.

Can I use the Qatar Airways Al Safwa Lounge?

Access is based on your underlying fare bucket. This means that upgraded tickets, maybe except upgrades with QPoints (see post 2735), are not granted access.

Access is thus restricted to Qatar Airways First Class, and OneWorld First Class passengers :
- either holding a First Class boarding pass* for their next flight
- or holding a First Class boarding pass* from their previous flight, provided the flight time was over 5 hours. That specifically means flights on an A380.
- Guests are not permitted.
* Operational Upgrades to First do not give access. Upgrades with Qpoints may do give acces (see post 2735 - Sept 2022)

Arrival access? (coming from LHR in F)

YES

ex. CAI-DOH-HEL

Arrival access? (coming from CAI in F)

NO

But HEL-DOH-CAI will work as DOH-CAI is a departing segment.

Privilege Club Platinum members and other Oneworld Emerald members are not allowed in the Al Safwa First Class Lounge and can only use the "ordinary" First Class Lounge.

What does the lounge look like?
Reports on the Lounge, can be found here and here. Photographs of the lounge, can be found here.

Is there a Spa?
Yes, there is a full Spa, but you will have to pay for treatments. A full list of treatments available can be found here

What about the sleeping rooms?
Stargold in http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/28199729-post1177.html suggests that access to sleeping rooms is as follows:
'* No reservations allowed - always first-come first-served
* Only available if the remaining time until the flight departure is more than 4 hours
* Passengers are allowed maximum six hours' usage - for any further usage, a fee of QAR 450 is payable for a second block of six hours.
* No F&B of any kind except bottled water in the sleeping rooms.'


What changes can I expect during Ramadan?
Ramadan affects QR and you in many ways so please look at ramadan to see how you are affected.

Updated: 26/5/2017.


Print Wikipost

Old Mar 21, 20, 9:51 pm
  #1906  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Australia
Programs: KrisFlyer, AA, Qantas, SPG, Marriott
Posts: 570
*Bump* Any ideas? I purchased lounge access for my partner and I would hate for her to not be allowed into the Al Safwa lounge because she's on an economy ticket.

I note that the First Class Lounge option was given inside her booking when you click 'puchase lounge access' under the manage my booking section.
jubbing is offline  
Old Mar 21, 20, 10:10 pm
  #1907  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8,768
Originally Posted by jubbing View Post
Apparently Economy class passengers can now purchase access to the First Class Lounge - has anyone been able to access?
Originally Posted by jubbing View Post
*Bump* Any ideas? I purchased lounge access for my partner and I would hate for her to not be allowed into the Al Safwa lounge because she's on an economy ticket.

I note that the First Class Lounge option was given inside her booking when you click 'puchase lounge access' under the manage my booking section.
Not sure what you're saying/asking. If you've purchased access to the First Class Lounge then that's what you'll get. The First Class Lounge is not the Al Safwa as shown here:

https://dohahamadairport.com/relax/lounge
ft101 is offline  
Old Mar 23, 20, 2:53 am
  #1908  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Australia
Programs: KrisFlyer, AA, Qantas, SPG, Marriott
Posts: 570
Originally Posted by ft101 View Post
Not sure what you're saying/asking. If you've purchased access to the First Class Lounge then that's what you'll get. The First Class Lounge is not the Al Safwa as shown here:

https://dohahamadairport.com/relax/lounge
Ah, I've never flown anything other than Qatar Biz through Doha - so I had absolutely no idea there was another First Class lounge - that helps thanks.
jubbing is offline  
Old Mar 24, 20, 1:05 pm
  #1909  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: LON
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 2,820
Originally Posted by jubbing View Post
Ah, I've never flown anything other than Qatar Biz through Doha - so I had absolutely no idea there was another First Class lounge - that helps thanks.
You could be in for a shock, as the First Class lounge you have probably purchased access for is not well regarded and is not comparable to either AS or even AM.
plunet is offline  
Old Apr 1, 20, 5:58 pm
  #1910  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: YVR
Programs: OZ*G
Posts: 149
Tried searching the thread to no avail.

If I am arriving from a Longhaul F (A380 FRA-DOH) on a QR flight and then connecting to a Economy UL(Sri Lankan) Flight from DOH-CMB, can I access the Al Safwa First Class Lounge?
Do these flights need to be on the same PNR?

Thanks!

Last edited by hoto; Apr 1, 20 at 6:11 pm Reason: Sri Lanka Carrier Clarification
hoto is offline  
Old Apr 1, 20, 7:59 pm
  #1911  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Singapore & Globe trotting
Programs: QR Gold, SQ KFEG, ITA Club Premium, Hilton Diamond, GHA Discovery Titanium, Taj Gold, ShangriLa Jade
Posts: 359
Originally Posted by hoto View Post
Tried searching the thread to no avail.

If I am arriving from a Longhaul F (A380 FRA-DOH) on a QR flight and then connecting to a Economy UL(Sri Lankan) Flight from DOH-CMB, can I access the Al Safwa First Class Lounge?
Do these flights need to be on the same PNR?

Thanks!
It clearly states in the wiki of this thread that access will be granted when, "...holding a First Class boarding pass from their previous flight, provided the flight time was over 5 hours. That specifically means flights on an A380."
hoto and Travel-Quinten like this.
lifeonthego_k is offline  
Old Apr 2, 20, 5:58 pm
  #1912  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: YVR
Programs: OZ*G
Posts: 149
Originally Posted by lifeonthego_k View Post
It clearly states in the wiki of this thread that access will be granted when, "...holding a First Class boarding pass from their previous flight, provided the flight time was over 5 hours. That specifically means flights on an A380."
Thanks for the confirmation. Since I'm not on QR frequently I was worried that there are some exceptions but sounds like there are not.
hoto is offline  
Old Apr 7, 20, 9:57 am
  #1913  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In the sticks
Programs: VS FC Gold, BA EC Gold, Amex Centurion, EK Gold, ex-G-ATVK driver
Posts: 1,518
Originally Posted by gbeb View Post
Exactly what Johnnieboy said - you might get some flexibility 1hr or so, but as soon as they see you've got a 17hr layover, they will make sure you leave after 6, maybe 7 hours.
Sorry bit late to the party here. I managed to squeeze eight hours once by requesting a room an hour ahead of time, starting dinner propping up the bar for an hour, had six hours in the room, then had another hour (breakfast propping up the bar) before leaving.

The staff have a very uncanny knack of knowing exactly where you are. Five minutes before my six hours room access were up, I had a knock at the door, but I was literally seconds away from vacating anyway.

You can pay again to extend, I asked them this on entering on the above occasion, and they confirmed, however I never found I needed to then.

If you have 17 hours, personally I'd book the airside hotel for a base, or if you'd prefer, a cheaper option outside. I had a 26 hour layover a couple of years ago, on a through F ticket, and although I could've spent the entire time in Al Safwa I prefer the rooms in the airside hotel.
Howard Long is offline  
Old Apr 18, 20, 5:40 pm
  #1914  
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 62
What is the earliest time you can check in with QR First? And how much time can you spend in the Al Mourjan lounge? I've got an award ticket booked in first from DOH-FRA later this year at 0700 departure but want to make the most of the lounge, would you be accepted for a room (if available)? Sorry so many questions!
celsdon is offline  
Old Apr 21, 20, 6:44 am
  #1915  
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Programs: BAEC Gold / OWE, Volare Executive / Skyteam Elite+
Posts: 575
Originally Posted by celsdon View Post
What is the earliest time you can check in with QR First? And how much time can you spend in the Al Mourjan lounge? I've got an award ticket booked in first from DOH-FRA later this year at 0700 departure but want to make the most of the lounge, would you be accepted for a room (if available)? Sorry so many questions!
If you're travelling in F use Al Safwa
drwook is offline  
Old May 14, 20, 4:20 am
  #1916  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Amman
Programs: CX DM, BA G4L, QR PLT, EK PLT, Hyatt CourtesyC, HH DM, SQ *G, BonvoyTit, LH, UK, VS, UA, DL
Posts: 1,698
Is Safwa lounge open? Under current corona situation?
avm2806 is offline  
Old May 14, 20, 6:55 am
  #1917  
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Programs: QR Platinum
Posts: 171
No Al Safwa is closed.
sturejan is offline  
Old May 16, 20, 5:24 pm
  #1918  
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: LHR
Programs: OWE, *G
Posts: 199
Any news on when Al Safwa will open again? Is Al Mourjan also closed now?
Andrew35K is offline  
Old May 16, 20, 5:25 pm
  #1919  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Programs: TK Elite Plus,QR Platinum,BAEC GGL,ITA Executive,Frontier 20k,All Silver,HH Diamond,Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 12,846
Originally Posted by Andrew35K View Post
Any news on when Al Safwa will open again? Is Al Mourjan also closed now?
According to; https://www.oneworld.com/airport-lounges?location=DOH

The only open QR lounge in DOH is the Al Mourjan Lounge.
Andrew35K likes this.
ISTFlyer is offline  
Old May 18, 20, 1:12 pm
  #1920  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London, UK
Programs: BA Gold, LX Frequent Traveller, IHG Diamond Elite Ambassador, Accor Silver
Posts: 15,410
Originally Posted by Andrew35K View Post
Any news on when Al Safwa will open again?
With the announcement of the temporary(?) grounding of the A380s and therefore the suspension of the majority of First Class services (with the exception of a handful of regional destinations not part of the blockade), its doubtful whether the Al Safwa lounge will be opening any time soon.
Genius1 is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread