Wiki Posts
Search

QF Silver vs. $$$

Search this Thread

Old Oct 25, 2004, 7:19 pm
Original Poster

Exclamation QF Silver vs. $$$

Hi Everyone,

I am new to Flyertalk and I want to pose a question to the more experienced members.

Here is my situation:

I have Qantas Club membership until March 2006
I have 90 SC to get to Silver by 31 Dec 2004

My question is, is it worth a $500-$700 mieage run just to get to QF Silver. Do the benefits outweigh the cost or vice versa. Also, I believe that next year I would be able to retain Silver by earning 300 SC.

Thank you for your help!!
Old Oct 25, 2004, 7:30 pm

Location: Home of the 2001 & 2004 Rugby Super 12 Champions - the Brumbies (Canberra, ACT) and Australia's best ski resort (Thredbo, NSW)
Programs: QF SG (LT PS, 54% LT SG), Priority Club Gold
If you are just doing the flying to get to Silver, I wouldn't bother. However, if you were planning to do the travel over the next two months then go for it. As a Qantas Club member, the only benefit of Silver that you currently not getting already is the 25% extra points for flights over 1000 miles. In effect, that bonus only applies for flights from the East Coast to Perth or Darwin plus international flights and is not worth $500+ unless you're planning to do a lot of international flying next year, which would get you to Gold anyway.
Old Oct 25, 2004, 9:22 pm

Programs: QF PS and spouse of QP Senior Lifer PS, UA, AA, DL, AS, AV
Not worth it as a SC run, unless you would have remained NB next year while earning base miles of 4C/v on segments over 1000 miles
where
C is the cost of the mileage run, e.g. $500
v is the subjective value you place on 1 point, e.g. 2 cents
With the above numbers it would be 4 * 500 / .02 = 100,000 miles on segments over 1000 miles while remaining NB.
But in fact you would become PS or SG during the year if travelling that much.
So the answer for these numbers is no, dont do it just for the SCs.