FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Mexico (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/mexico-480/)
-   -   MEX - Mexico City International Airport / 🛫AICM🛬 master thread (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/mexico/1438717-mex-mexico-city-international-airport-aicm-master-thread.html)

londinense Oct 27, 2010 7:20 pm

The last time I passed through T2, Sitio 300 were not one of the companies offering service. But according to their website they are now.
Gomexico's advice is good. However, in my experience, the newer companies that have now broken what was essentially a monopoly by Sitio 300 until about a year ago are all just as good.
There is a link on the TA Mexico City page to the official pricing for all airport taxis. They all charge the same.

itsme110 Oct 27, 2010 9:47 pm

Originally Posted by gomexico (Post 15025883)
I've been using that airport service for about 20 years now and never has one of the taxi companies - authorized transportation - try to steer me to a van. Never. I once overpaid for the trip at the counter and found myself standing at a van when the starter collected my ticket and when I found I'd bought the wrong ticket I went back to exchange it.

The people selling the van tickets are different than the people selling the "sedan" tickets and they're sometimes located right next to one another. I think the people who think they're being taken advantage of are in that positon either (almost always) because they don't speak Spanish and can't say what they need to say, or they've approached the wrong counter.

The vans aren't a rip-off to travel in, though - and compared to taxi fares in north of the border big cities, they're economical to use. They're good vehicles and spacious and I have intentionally rented one a couple of times over the years because there were 4 or 5 of us traveling as a group and it was more economical/comfortable to travel that way.