Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Credit, Debit and Prepaid Card Programs > Manufactured Spending
Reload this Page >

What do you do with gift cards after you load them?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 13, 2015, 12:33 pm
Original Poster

I'm new to the MS game and I've done about $6k so far with VGC and Serve. What do you do with your gift cards and receipts when you're done loading? I've been keeping all mine just in case, so I have a bag with a dozen cards and receipts in it. But once the money shows up on your Serve account, which is instant, is there any reason to hold onto anything? Do you just shred them when you get home?
Old Oct 13, 2015, 12:43 pm

Programs: All of them
Hand them out to bums at traffic stops, casually drop them in parking lots and hide to see what would happen, up to your imagination.

You always want to scan and organize all MS related receipts and keep a running tab of all transactions, in case anyone from irs has questions. The physical plastic is useless after you spend it.

Last edited by littlewinglet; Oct 13, 2015 at 1:23 pm
Old Oct 13, 2015, 1:20 pm

As previously discussed, you may find some answers here: http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/manuf...ceipts-ms.html
Old Oct 13, 2015, 1:24 pm

Programs: Marriott/SPG Plat, Hilton Gold
I'm sure you've seen me in parking lots outside your store. I just need a few bucks cash to put gas in my vehicle to get back home to my pregnant girlfriend...... and I can ASSURE you this here plastic has some money on it.

One born every minute!

Seriously... see the old thread. I'm in the camp that fills up an envelope and marks it with the month and year. All the envelopes go in a shoebox. Just in case.

Last edited by ElPresidente; Oct 13, 2015 at 2:21 pm
Old Oct 13, 2015, 2:10 pm
Original Poster

Just read all of the old thread linked above. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!