TSA Pre✓ departing Canada?

Old Aug 20, 19, 7:02 am
  #16  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: miami, florida
Posts: 1,401
Originally Posted by Jeremy3292 View Post
This. You do not need your GE card when traveling by air, only by land according to US CBP. I had this problem in Canada and I finally was allowed to go through the NEXUS lanes in Toronto after a brief (civil) argument with the Canadian version of TSA. I never carry my GE card with me as all the information is in my passport already (i.e. GE). The problem is they don't have passport/boarding pass scanners at the beginning of security for some reason, at least in Toronto. So if you don't have a physical GE card to show, they can't validate your claim to be GE/NEXUS. Super annoying.
I always bring my card with me for expedited security. Itís not that heavy to carry. And also when I declare food at US Customs they often ask to see my NEXUS card.
sydneyracquelle is online now  
Old Aug 20, 19, 7:39 am
  #17  
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 56
Originally Posted by sydneyracquelle View Post


I always bring my card with me for expedited security. Itís not that heavy to carry. And also when I declare food at US Customs they often ask to see my NEXUS card.
Agreed, but when the CBP tells you you don't need your card when traveling by air I wouldn't think to bring it along.
Jeremy3292 is offline  
Old Aug 20, 19, 9:45 am
  #18  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: DL Diamond 1MM, UX Suma Gold, Marriott Bonvoyô️ Gold, Hilton Gold, Avis Preferred, Hertz PC
Posts: 3,538
Originally Posted by sydneyracquelle View Post


I always bring my card with me for expedited security. Itís not that heavy to carry. And also when I declare food at US Customs they often ask to see my NEXUS card.
This has never happened to me - Customs just wants to see my Global Entry declaration slip and passport when I make a declaration. What port of entry are you using, and are you using the GE kiosks or something else like mobile passport?
BenA is offline  
Old Aug 20, 19, 12:36 pm
  #19  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: miami, florida
Posts: 1,401
Originally Posted by BenA View Post


This has never happened to me - Customs just wants to see my Global Entry declaration slip and passport when I make a declaration. What port of entry are you using, and are you using the GE kiosks or something else like mobile passport?
I always declare food at the YYZ kiosk. Then the agent asks to see my NEXUS card and boarding pass and he/she scans the card. Zero upside in my view not to carry the NEXUS card with me especially for the expedited security.
sydneyracquelle is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: