TSA Pre✓ departing Canada?

Old Aug 19, 19, 8:57 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Programs: DL PM
Posts: 222
TSA Pre✓ departing Canada?

My Delta boarding pass for a YYZ-SLC flight shows a TSA Pre✓ logo. Is this a Delta IT mistake or are there actually reciprocal benefits at Canadian airports?
DLASflyer is offline  
Old Aug 19, 19, 9:12 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: MSP
Programs: DL GM, MR Gold, Hilton Gold, National Exec
Posts: 233
Delete, wrong thread.

Last edited by bloc0102; Aug 19, 19 at 9:12 am Reason: wrong thread
bloc0102 is offline  
Old Aug 19, 19, 9:18 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Programs: SkyMiles, HHonors, Marriott
Posts: 129
Originally Posted by DLASflyer View Post
My Delta boarding pass for a YYZ-SLC flight shows a TSA Pre✓ logo. Is this a Delta IT mistake or are there actually reciprocal benefits at Canadian airports?
There are not reciprocal benefits unless you have NEXUS or Global Entry.
The only reason I can think why your BP says PreCheck is that it's accessing a US-based system.
reimero is offline  
Old Aug 19, 19, 9:26 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: miami, florida
Posts: 1,333
TSA precheck is irrelevant in Canada. It is likely on your boarding pass if you have a connection in the US and the DL system cannot print precheck on one boarding pass but not the other. If you have NEXUS or Global Entry then you can use the lanes similar to precheck departing Canada.
sydneyracquelle is offline  
Old Aug 19, 19, 9:29 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: LAS - where you can get married and divorced in the same 24 hour period. Perfect for the woman who's saving herself for marriage and the man who wants a one night stand.
Programs: DL DM, Hilton Diamond, HI Spire, SPG gold, Marriott Gold, UA, AA, AS, WN kettle, Hertz PC
Posts: 1,565
Originally Posted by sydneyracquelle View Post
TSA precheck is irrelevant in Canada. It is likely on your boarding pass if you have a connection in the US and the DL system cannot print precheck on one boarding pass but not the other. If you have NEXUS or Global Entry then you can use the lanes similar to precheck departing Canada.
You must have your NEXUS or GE card in hand to use these lanes.
puddinhead is offline  
Old Aug 19, 19, 10:00 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Programs: DL PM
Posts: 222
I do have Global Entry and have my card. But I am wondering if there is an expedited security screening lane as opposed to immigration/customs. It sounds like there is not. My boarding pass is in the app. How hard could it be for Delta to remove the TSA Pre badge from international segments?
DLASflyer is offline  
Old Aug 19, 19, 10:03 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Over the Bay Bridge, CA
Programs: Jumbo mas
Posts: 30,932
Originally Posted by DLASflyer View Post
I do have Global Entry and have my card. But I am wondering if there is an expedited security screening lane as opposed to immigration/customs. It sounds like there is not. My boarding pass is in the app. How hard could it be for Delta to remove the TSA Pre badge from international segments?
Why do you want it gone? I've had "secondary screeners" (such as from certain airports where everyone goes through at least a cursory gate check prior to a flight to USA) make note of the TSA Pre mark.
Eastbay1K is offline  
Old Aug 19, 19, 10:06 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Programs: DL DM, SPG Plat 100/LT Gold, Marriott Plat, National Executive Elite
Posts: 2,491
Originally Posted by Eastbay1K View Post
Why do you want it gone? I've had "secondary screeners" (such as from certain airports where everyone goes through at least a cursory gate check prior to a flight to USA) make note of the TSA Pre mark.
This. I've been let into the Global Entry lane without my card before, for security screening leaving Canada, and I think it was because of the TSA Pre (either that or flying F).

I do have Global Entry but didn't have the card at the time. The security lane is separate for Global Entry/NEXUS and I believe is similar to TSA Pre - you go through a metal detector, but I still had to take my laptop out.
btonkid12345 is offline  
Old Aug 19, 19, 10:17 am
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, Former AA EXP now AY Plat, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 17,571
Originally Posted by sydneyracquelle View Post
TSA precheck is irrelevant in Canada. It is likely on your boarding pass if you have a connection in the US and the DL system cannot print precheck on one boarding pass but not the other. If you have NEXUS or Global Entry then you can use the lanes similar to precheck departing Canada.
All US airline BP have it on them if you qualify. Just easier to program system for one setup than multiple.
flyerCO is offline  
Old Aug 19, 19, 10:19 am
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, Former AA EXP now AY Plat, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 17,571
Originally Posted by DLASflyer View Post
I do have Global Entry and have my card. But I am wondering if there is an expedited security screening lane as opposed to immigration/customs. It sounds like there is not. My boarding pass is in the app. How hard could it be for Delta to remove the TSA Pre badge from international segments?
Yes, you can you the trusted travelers lane for security if you have your GE/NEXUS card present. Having Precheck or not on the BP doesnt matter. Unlike the US, being a member is sufficient to get access to the lane.
lost_perspicacity likes this.
flyerCO is offline  
Old Aug 19, 19, 10:24 am
  #11  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 45,129
Yup. Not hard, but merely adds a complication which doesn't meed fixing.
Often1 is online now  
Old Aug 19, 19, 11:14 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 136
Originally Posted by DLASflyer View Post
I do have Global Entry and have my card. But I am wondering if there is an expedited security screening lane as opposed to immigration/customs. It sounds like there is not.
No, there are expedited security screening lanes that are separate from expedited US immigration/customs. If you pass through a CATSA Trusted Traveller lane (for which, as noted above, you'll need a physical Global Entry or NEXUS card) you can keep your shoes, belts and light jacket on and liquids in bags, though you have to remove laptops.

Then separately (though it usually immediately follows/precedes security screening depending on the airport layout) you can use the Global Entry machines for expedited entry, for which of course you don't need the card at all.

(There's an occasional complaint about how at some airports in Canada, depending on layout, the lane minders attempt to bar access to the Global Entry machines because they claim you need a physical card, which is of course not true, especially given the fact that Global Entry members who aren't US citizens/permanent residents or Mexican citizens can't even get them in the first place. But this is a bit of a sidenote to your question.)
lost_perspicacity likes this.
andrewesque is offline  
Old Aug 19, 19, 1:48 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: miami, florida
Posts: 1,333
Originally Posted by andrewesque View Post
No, there are expedited security screening lanes that are separate from expedited US immigration/customs. If you pass through a CATSA Trusted Traveller lane (for which, as noted above, you'll need a physical Global Entry or NEXUS card) you can keep your shoes, belts and light jacket on and liquids in bags, though you have to remove laptops.

Then separately (though it usually immediately follows/precedes security screening depending on the airport layout) you can use the Global Entry machines for expedited entry, for which of course you don't need the card at all.

(There's an occasional complaint about how at some airports in Canada, depending on layout, the lane minders attempt to bar access to the Global Entry machines because they claim you need a physical card, which is of course not true, especially given the fact that Global Entry members who aren't US citizens/permanent residents or Mexican citizens can't even get them in the first place. But this is a bit of a sidenote to your question.)
At YYZ they ask to see the physical card for expedited security but never to access the GE machines at Customs.
Jeremy3292 likes this.
sydneyracquelle is offline  
Old Aug 19, 19, 11:00 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Programs: AA Gold, Hilton Gold, IHG Platinum, BonVoy Silver
Posts: 17
My AA flight from Paris CDG to ORD had the PreCheck designation on it. It was just standard fare. At that point I didn't even have Global Entry because I was doing my interview upon arrival at ORD, so it meant nothing.
travelingdrsuz is offline  
Old Aug 20, 19, 7:27 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 55
Originally Posted by andrewesque View Post
(There's an occasional complaint about how at some airports in Canada, depending on layout, the lane minders attempt to bar access to the Global Entry machines because they claim you need a physical card, which is of course not true, especially given the fact that Global Entry members who aren't US citizens/permanent residents or Mexican citizens can't even get them in the first place. But this is a bit of a sidenote to your question.)
This. You do not need your GE card when traveling by air, only by land according to US CBP. I had this problem in Canada and I finally was allowed to go through the NEXUS lanes in Toronto after a brief (civil) argument with the Canadian version of TSA. I never carry my GE card with me as all the information is in my passport already (i.e. GE). The problem is they don't have passport/boarding pass scanners at the beginning of security for some reason, at least in Toronto. So if you don't have a physical GE card to show, they can't validate your claim to be GE/NEXUS. Super annoying.
Jeremy3292 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: