Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

Interesting check-in experience at terminal 5

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 19, 2011, 1:56 am
Original Poster

Programs: BA Gold, FB Plat, MR plat

As online/machine check-in was not willing to give me a boarding pass this morning, I had to actually try and speak with someone at terminal 5. As there were a lot of queues even in the club section, i thought I would use the first check-in, which I have never done before (too lazy to walk that far!).

I was therefore surprised when i was met there by the "guardian" to be told " not first, you have to check-in over there as we are too busy". They had a queue of 1 person and 6 desks open and she pointed me to queues of about 6 people for each desk at CW checkin!

I think what surprised me most was the aggressive nature of her comment and no apology at all. In fact I was so surprised I let it go and walked back towards CW. Luckily for me one of the floater staff there saw my confusion, asked what the issue was, and got me sorted immediately...great customer service from her, and much more what I am used to from BA staff.

Anyway, that's the story....recovering with a bacon sandwich in the lounge now! Anyone else experienced that?
Old Jul 19, 2011, 2:04 am

Programs: Mucci, BA Gold, TK Elite, HHonors Lifetime Diamond
Never experienced that, and neither should have you... under any circumstances. We were never turned away even when there was a really queue as it is a published benefit. You should have proceeded to the check-in desk regardless...
Old Jul 19, 2011, 2:08 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: KL Platinum; A3 Gold
Did the "guardian" who turned you away know that you were entitled to use First checkin, or in the absence of seeing a boarding pass/Gold card just assume you were in the wrong area and sent you away with this "excuse"?
Old Jul 19, 2011, 2:12 am