Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

issue - using aa.com to redeem miles for flights

issue - using aa.com to redeem miles for flights

Old May 7, 19, 10:34 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Programs: AA XP, BA G, AS 75K, Hyatt G
Posts: 144
issue - using aa.com to redeem miles for flights

Hello,

I have been having problems with using aa.com to redeem miles for flights for myself and others. I keep getting the error page below after having selected the flights and being offered seats selection which also shows error message "Seat map unavailable. Please check back." I have tried 3 different kinds of browsers but get same error message.
Anyone seen this problem? What is the work around? Or if there is another thread addressing similar issue, please direct me. Thanks.
vudoosj is offline  
Old May 8, 19, 5:09 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: RDU <|> MMX
Programs: AA EXP 2MM, SK EBS
Posts: 7,110
Originally Posted by vudoosj View Post
Hello,

I have been having problems with using aa.com to redeem miles for flights for myself and others. I keep getting the error page below after having selected the flights and being offered seats selection which also shows error message "Seat map unavailable. Please check back." I have tried 3 different kinds of browsers but get same error message.
Anyone seen this problem? What is the work around? Or if there is another thread addressing similar issue, please direct me. Thanks.
Most likely an IT/Sabre/aa.com glitch, certainly not a widespread issue, but can happen in rare instances where availability doesn't match up between what aa.com shows at the high level and what is actually available to confirm in the booking system.

Have you verified the award space is really there in EF? If you dont have EF and post the flights and dates someone around here will be happy to double check. Otherwise you can always call AA and see if an agent can book it, or at least put it on hold.
JJeffrey is offline  
Old May 8, 19, 9:12 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Programs: AA XP, BA G, AS 75K, Hyatt G
Posts: 144
Thanks for the inputs. I have EF access and the space is there. This is actually the 3rd times i am having this issue since Feb. I called AA every time to have the reservation made. Told the last agent about the issue in details and was told to try making the reservation w/o logging in first, that also did not work...
vudoosj is offline  
Old May 8, 19, 10:41 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Chicago
Programs: AAdvantage Gold
Posts: 330
Originally Posted by vudoosj View Post
Thanks for the inputs. I have EF access and the space is there. This is actually the 3rd times i am having this issue since Feb. I called AA every time to have the reservation made. Told the last agent about the issue in details and was told to try making the reservation w/o logging in first, that also did not work...
Call in, ask if the phone booking fee can be waived since the site is down. If not talk to a supervisor. They may be able to put a 24h hold on a flight and you can complete the booking via email as well (to avoid the fee).
JDiver likes this.
AAdamE is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: