Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Badly Treated at SFO. Normal? How to Mitigate?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 2, 2015, 8:09 am
Suspended
Original Poster

Hi,

So I'm new to AA but had the worst possible experience checking in recently. I don't want to complain and get miles. I want to avoid these situations so wish to know if this is normal and how to mitigate them.

1. Despite being a Ex Plat the check in gate police made me stand in the regular line. No explanation given but very forceful despite me showing them my Ex Plat card.
2. Check in agent wondered why I have been comped an upgraded to Premium Economy on TPAC flight *operated* by QF and consulted her supervisor on how to bump me back to regular Y.
3. Loud discussion how the four of us are taking 7 checked bags between us. Tried to get me to pay for 3 bags. As flying TPAC we are allowed 2 each.
4. Lots of other smaller issues like .....ing I left my old priority tags on etc.

1. and 3. are a flagrant disregard to rules.
2. Is none of their business if another carrier wants to upgrade me.
4. Is just bad customer service. Should of just kept it to themselves.

Any suggestions on how to mitigate this and if its normal.
Old Dec 2, 2015, 8:16 am
Moderator: American AAdvantage

Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Maître-plongeur des Muccis
It is not normal, and you should

1) in self defense, know the rules; as EP you alone are allowed four bags up to 70 pounds each; I've no idea about your companion's allowance;

If an operating carrier wishes to op you up, it's not anyone at American's business to change that;

Gate Agents should respect your status and allow you to board in the proper order.

2) you should complain. How is up to you; I would use actual snail mail. There are threads with names, addresses.
Old Dec 2, 2015, 8:18 am
Suspended
Original Poster