Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Any way to get around the new "My Trips" reservation list?

Any way to get around the new "My Trips" reservation list?

Old Jun 23, 19, 12:38 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Programs: DYKWIA, UA GS, UA MM, SPG Plat (100)
Posts: 1,558
Any way to get around the new "My Trips" reservation list?

Until a few days ago, it seemed like I could stumble onto the old reservations list page on United.com. Now, I can only get to the "My Trips" page. The big problem with this new page is you can't right-click on the individual reservations, so it makes it really cumbersome to bring up multiple reservations. Anyone know a workaround?
porciuscato is offline  
Old Jun 23, 19, 3:04 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern California
Programs: I want to be free! Free!
Posts: 2,894
Originally Posted by porciuscato View Post
Until a few days ago, it seemed like I could stumble onto the old reservations list page on United.com. Now, I can only get to the "My Trips" page. The big problem with this new page is you can't right-click on the individual reservations, so it makes it really cumbersome to bring up multiple reservations. Anyone know a workaround?
i fear it's dead. the new set up effectively doubles the time it takes to do a run through of any number of reservations (since UA is oh so unhelpful with notices for schedule changes etc) give you have to reload the reservations page each and every time. who comes up with this stuff?
lhrsfo, Miggles and Phil Level like this.
aCavalierInCoach is offline  
Old Jun 23, 19, 3:45 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BOS/EAP
Programs: UA 1K, MR LTT, HH Gold, Amex Plat
Posts: 24,195
same here. No way to get to the old list again. Always great when UA IT wastes time innovating where no innovation is needed to deliver an inferior product.
2stepbay likes this.
cfischer is offline  
Old Jun 23, 19, 4:01 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Programs: United Global Services, Amtrak Select Executive
Posts: 2,970
UGH!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is horrible!!!

Why did they have to make the link to each individual reservation javascript, instead of a regular html link you can open in a new tab????????? AUUUGGGGGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2stepbay likes this.
physioprof is offline  
Old Jun 23, 19, 4:18 pm
  #5  
bpe
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Japan
Programs: AS, UA
Posts: 801
This really annoys me when websites do this.

I don't have UA reservations right now to check the website, but a 'workaround' that usually works is to open one reservation/item, then if you middle click the 'back' browser button, the previous page opens in a new tab, and from there open other things in the same way. Not as easy as opening multiple tabs like usual of course.

Works with Firefox and Opera, I think on other browsers too.
bpe is offline  
Old Jun 23, 19, 4:49 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 550
If you have an award booking, click “Upgrade Cabin”, that takes you back to UA’s old (pre-2015) flight screen.

While I prefer the old look, I’ve succumbed to the understanding that it’s just best to get to know the new one, rather than find loopholes to launch previous versions.
NikoGoutakolis is offline  
Old Jun 23, 19, 6:09 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: PWM
Programs: UA Silver
Posts: 845
I surmise they actually did this on purpose. Under the old system with multiple tabs, you could inadvertently modify the wrong itinerary since the website only sees the most recent selected, not the specific tab you're in.
ChinaShrek likes this.
sexykitten7 is offline  
Old Jun 23, 19, 7:44 pm
  #8  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: GVA (Greater Vancouver Area)
Programs: DREAD Gold; UA 1.021MM; Bonvoy Au-197; PCC Elite+; CWC Au-197; CCC Elite; WoH Dis
Posts: 49,242
Originally Posted by sexykitten7 View Post
Under the old system with multiple tabs, you could inadvertently modify the wrong itinerary since the website only sees the most recent selected, not the specific tab you're in.
All because United IT relies on 1990s technology and doesn't know how to code a modern web app. So, instead of fixing the page, they sacrificed usability.
porciuscato likes this.
mahasamatman is offline  
Old Jun 23, 19, 9:34 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1k
Posts: 238
This is extremely annoying: I manage reservations for myself, spouse and siblings. Having to go back each time to check for schedule changes etc. is a pain in the neck :
mrt88 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread