Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Too much crew control of window shades on 787?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 4, 2017, 7:51 am
Original Poster

Programs: UA MM Platinum; HH Diamond; Marriott Gold; Starwood Gold; Hyatt Discoverist; Avis Preferred Plus

I'm on UA 2 SIN-SFO right now. This is my first time taking this non-stop flight out of Singapore.

About 20 minutes after departure, the crew darkened all window shades, as is possible with the crew override function of the 787. The windows have remained on the darkest setting for the duration of the flight.

The departure time in Singapore for this flight is 9 a.m., so this is ostensibly a daytime flight... at least until it isn't (somewhere over the Pacific a few hours into the flight, when we met up with the westbound sunset). While the flightpath is largely over only ocean, the initial part of the flight should be fairly picturesque, flying right over the Spratly and Philippine islands. Like many other FTers, I enjoy flying and usually I intentionally choose the window seat. The 787's window on its darkest setting lets through very little light, making sightseeing unrealistic and aerial photography impossible.

I know this is a first-world problem and verges on the never-ending debate over who controls the window shade, etc. But it seems reasonable for passengers to expect some availability of looking out the window on 15+ hour flight. This isn't a cargo airline.