Reload this Page >

The Last Clear Stream of Japan

Old Dec 9, 2021, 7:41 am
bpe
Original Poster

Programs: AS, UA

Very brief background: I've been living in Kansai now for a few years, and have been sort of stuck here since March 2020. So I've been traveling domestically when it's been safe and acceptable to do so, mainly away from large cities. I've posted pictures a few times in the Japan and general photography threads, but this is my first time trying to write a proper trip report, since I figured I'd try something a bit different for post #1000. This was a 4 day trip over a long weekend-ish in September so I'll write it up in 4 parts, filling in a few pictures from a previous trip to Kochi. Also, no flights, just a lot of trains.

The Shimanto river is known as "The last clear stream of Japan", located in the southwest corner of Kochi prefecture, far away from pretty much everything. There are actually three major rivers with no large dams in Japan, but the Shimanto is the largest by probably every measure and also the most natural and undisturbed. Having been to Shikoku several times now and passed nearby last year, this time I thought I'd visit this corner of the island I hadn't been to yet.

Train tickets. Most people would find the JR fare rules and ticketing incredibly boring, but I'm not most people, and if anyone else is interested I can translate and explain these. In addition, I also got the new Kochi premium transit pass, which covers virtually all public transportation in the western and central parts of the prefecture, 12,000 for 3 days. It's simply a website that you log into on your smartphone and show the station, train, or bus staff, and I'm not quite sure of the advantage over a paper ticket other than being able to buy it in advance. Total price 28,780 (~US$270).

Shin-Osaka -> Okayama, Hikari 531, 7:35 - 8:24
Okayama -> Kochi, Nampu 3, 8:52 - 11:30
Kochi -> Nakamura, Ashizuri 3, 11:40 - 13:24