Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums >
Reload this Page >

Travel&Dining

Travel Technology

Anyone using a SlingBox?

Anyone using a SlingBox?

Old Jul 31, 09, 1:10 pm
  #61  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: DFW; AA PLT; Hilton Diamond
Posts: 50
Slingbox on GoGo

Originally Posted by BamaGirl View Post
I know tv is a no-no on flights. But, since slingbox is 'streaming media', is it 'legal' to use on a flight that supplies wi-fi capability?
Here's GoGo's TOS. In part it says, "...streaming audio and video, and file sharing, are given a lower priority and at times may be blocked or not work consistently."

Slinging CNN on American's GoGo Wifi service at 33,000':



Nobody said anything to me, and it was kind of obvious that this wasn't a DVD.
TrAAvis is offline  
Old Jul 31, 09, 1:18 pm
  #62  
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Menlo Park, CA, USA
Programs: UA 1MM 0P, AA, DL, *wood, Lifetime FPC Plat., IHG, HHD
Posts: 6,728
I managed this using my vpn on a VA fligth, I got about 256k stream, and the slingstream optimization and BUFFER on the newer 2.0 slingplayer worked great. I also did it with my iphone.
nmenaker is offline  
Old Aug 10, 09, 9:30 am
  #63  
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Programs: SPEBSQSA
Posts: 3,323
Originally Posted by AZ_MISMAN View Post
Sorry. Actually, AZ is 1-2 DOWN and NM is 2-4 UP.

Has anyone had experience with locations with slow(er) download speeds?
An update...

I was concerned about the speed in AZ, but the Slingbox appears to work just great. You are correct that a slingcatcher is probably in my future. Watching on the laptop is great, but it would be wonderful to run it through the TV and it's associated components.
AZ_MISMAN is online now  
Old Dec 29, 09, 6:59 pm
  #64  
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Programs: SPEBSQSA
Posts: 3,323
Originally Posted by AZ_MISMAN View Post
An update...

I was concerned about the speed in AZ, but the Slingbox appears to work just great. You are correct that a slingcatcher is probably in my future. Watching on the laptop is great, but it would be wonderful to run it through the TV and it's associated components.
The future arrived today with my Slingcatcher. It was on sale at Best Buy for $99, and I had a $25 gift card. After shipping and tax, my outlay was something like $84!

It was pretty easy to set up (maybe 10-minutes, including programming the remote to my TV & stereo.) My only disappointment is that you can't get the guide that I see with my SlingPlayer to come up. Either I'm doing something wrong, or that programming guide is only available on the SlingPlayer.

I tried to SlingProjector, but I think that is going to take some more playing with to work.
AZ_MISMAN is online now  
Old Apr 16, 10, 9:38 pm
  #65  
Moderator, Hertz; FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor BadgeHyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: KRK / ORD
Programs: UA 1MM, BA GGL, Hyatt Glob, Hilton Diamond and others
Posts: 12,657
Hmm, I got my slingbox in the USA on Comcast (3+mbps upload) and my internet here in Poland is 80mbps+ down, but my streaming is around 1mbps, so the quality isnt the best.
Any manual settings one can recommend for better quality? the i-frame up or down?
jason8612 is offline  
Old Apr 17, 10, 8:58 am
  #66  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,528
Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

Originally Posted by jason8612
Hmm, I got my slingbox in the USA on Comcast (3+mbps upload) and my internet here in Poland is 80mbps+ down, but my streaming is around 1mbps, so the quality isnt the best.
Any manual settings one can recommend for better quality? the i-frame up or down?
Is there a chance your ISP is throttling your bandwidth?
Kgmm77 is online now  
Old Apr 17, 10, 9:01 am
  #67  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 37,486
Originally Posted by jason8612 View Post
Hmm, I got my slingbox in the USA on Comcast (3+mbps upload) and my internet here in Poland is 80mbps+ down, but my streaming is around 1mbps, so the quality isnt the best.
Any manual settings one can recommend for better quality? the i-frame up or down?
I'm guessing that something on the connection is hitting a bottleneck...
ScottC is offline  
Old Apr 17, 10, 10:20 am
  #68  
Moderator, Hertz; FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor BadgeHyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: KRK / ORD
Programs: UA 1MM, BA GGL, Hyatt Glob, Hilton Diamond and others
Posts: 12,657
Could be.
Its the Slingbox Pro. I don't know if it's limited or not.
jason8612 is offline  
Old Apr 17, 10, 4:54 pm
  #69  
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Menlo Park, CA, USA
Programs: UA 1MM 0P, AA, DL, *wood, Lifetime FPC Plat., IHG, HHD
Posts: 6,728
The pro is not limited, nor is the HD.

I would do a tracert from where you are in poland and see how many hops you are doing. I have had problems in Asia and Russia, getting a good signal, where in the USA I access SB's with 3+upstream and I have 5+ downstream and can only get 800-1MB, but that is enough for an HD stream. Works great.
nmenaker is offline  
Old Apr 17, 10, 5:13 pm
  #70  
Moderator, Hertz; FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor BadgeHyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: KRK / ORD
Programs: UA 1MM, BA GGL, Hyatt Glob, Hilton Diamond and others
Posts: 12,657
looks like 8 hops on the tracert. 160ms avg ping.
jason8612 is offline  
Old Apr 17, 10, 5:22 pm
  #71  
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Menlo Park, CA, USA
Programs: UA 1MM 0P, AA, DL, *wood, Lifetime FPC Plat., IHG, HHD
Posts: 6,728
do me a favor, try this guy,

maybe a screenshot of the results,

http://visualroute.visualware.com/index.php
nmenaker is offline  
Old Apr 17, 10, 5:38 pm
  #72  
Moderator, Hertz; FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor BadgeHyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: KRK / ORD
Programs: UA 1MM, BA GGL, Hyatt Glob, Hilton Diamond and others
Posts: 12,657
jason8612 is offline  
Old Apr 17, 10, 5:45 pm
  #73  
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Menlo Park, CA, USA
Programs: UA 1MM 0P, AA, DL, *wood, Lifetime FPC Plat., IHG, HHD
Posts: 6,728
looks like you have a lot of higher latency hops closer to destination, all that adds up. Have you tried forcing the speed with the slingbox? in the client settings, put in say 1000kps and then 640x480 as the resolution, see what happens.

Sometimes the slingstream mis-interprest the latency as a problem and therefore throttles the attempted stream. By putting the number in there, it will just cram the stream down. I find it settles and buffers quite well though.

You might also, if you have it, try doing a VPN to a domestic destinaion and then making the connection. sometimes the VPN will actually speed up the traffic flow.
nmenaker is offline  
Old Apr 17, 10, 5:54 pm
  #74  
Moderator, Hertz; FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor BadgeHyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: KRK / ORD
Programs: UA 1MM, BA GGL, Hyatt Glob, Hilton Diamond and others
Posts: 12,657
hmm, I did try the manual, but what do I set as the iframe?
I can only use like real vnc to the home pcs.
jason8612 is offline  
Old Apr 19, 10, 1:05 am
  #75  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BMI/CMI/PIA/ORD/IND/STL
Programs: AA Platinum Lifetime
Posts: 364
Yes it is worth getting Slingbox to watch your DVR on the road. I've used it domestically and internationally from far flung countries like Finland and China with zero issues.
aspex is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread