Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Creepy Starwood Stalkers-Edina MN Westin

Search this Thread

Old May 24, 2012, 7:45 pm
Original Poster

Angry Creepy Starwood Stalkers-Edina MN Westin

I am Platinum and Lifetime Gold. I had a reservation at the Edina MN Westin. I had a bunch of voice mails that I didn't listen to because I was really busy--my plans suddenly changed and I didn't go to MN. I called the hotel to cancel my reservation because it wouldn't let me cancel on line. Not sure why. When connected to front desk, the Front Desk Manager says "hi Mrs. 1KWoman, did you get my message? Why are you cancelling your reservation?" I said no, I did not get his message because I didn't listen to my messages. I had a change in plans. He acted very strangely. When I did listen to VM, I found this guy had left a 90 second message about my rate--that I would need to show ID to validate who I worked for, and if I was a consultant or contractor I would need to show a "proof of work" letter. If not, I would have to pay $375 vs the $175 I was booked at. I thought that was odd, since they could just ask me for ID when I got there, why take the trouble to call everyone on a corporate rate. I certainly understand if they want to get an ID. But the real weirdness happened today. I discovered that an Edina Starwood employee had gone in and looked at my LinkedIn account--on the day of my reservation. That is really creepy for certainly not comfortable. I was upset and called the GM. He stated that they check LinkedIn and Facebook to 1.) see who you are working for to validate that you are indeed with the company whose rate you are accessing and 2.) to provide a "personalized" experience as decreed by Starwood in their "Global Personalization" program. ie, to provide you with a mention of your alma mater, your pets, or what not. It totally weirded me out. I was calm but let him know that I thought it was not appropriate and way of the strange scale. Then I called Platinum Customer Service a