Oneworld status recognition

Old Sep 21, 11, 9:30 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Programs: QF Gold FF
Posts: 1
Oneworld status recognition

I'm new to this forum and wonder if anyone has had any problems with Oneworld airline's systems not recognising their Oneworld status. I'm a long term QF Gold FF and travel frequently between Spain and Peru and since late last year the Iberia & LAN systems seem not to recognise my Oneworld status - i.e. Sapphire. This has caused untold hassles especially when checking in and getting access to the lounges. Even presenting my valid QF FF gold card often makes no difference as they say its not on the booking or in the system (i.e. the FF card number is in there but not the Oneworld status. In addition all boarding passes used to include the status 'Sapphire' &/or 'Preferred' or 'Preferente' or something similar - now none of those appear. I contacted QF and they say they have had a few cases of this but have not managed help yet. Anyone out there able to help me? In return I'd be happy to give you any advice about travelling in Peru where I have lived and worked in tourism for more than 30 years. Many thanks in anticipation.
queixas is offline  
Old Sep 21, 11, 10:00 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK London / Salisbury
Programs: BA GGL, CCR, LTG
Posts: 518
To piggyback this status thread...apologies!

I'm BA Gold and flying to HK on Saturday with QF. First time to use QF long haul. I am booked in Premium Economy. Does anyone know what QFs upgrade policy is? I assume I will be way down the list after all QF members of any level and, in any case, there may be no 'op-ups' going. Just wondering if anyone has experience or knows the deal?

Many thanks
brentford77 is offline  
Old Sep 21, 11, 2:06 pm
  #3  
og
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SYD
Programs: QF WP/LTG | UA P
Posts: 13,057
Originally Posted by queixas View Post
?....In addition all boarding passes used to include the status 'Sapphire' &/or 'Preferred' or 'Preferente' or something similar - now none of those appear. I contacted QF and they say they have had a few cases of this but have not managed yet...
My previous experience with LA has been good (for their boarding passes to carry my FF # and status), but patchy for Mrs og (who has a multi word surname). Not only with LA but with BA, TG and UA amongst others, if it not an identical match between the FF account name and the ticket name, only the FF number appears on the BP and not status. This means the "system" does not recognise the status and you have to chase the points after the flight. Worse still, it is not consistent from flight to flight even on the same carrier.

Others who know more about the complexities in the programming areas might be able to add to this.
og is offline  
Old Sep 21, 11, 4:11 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London, UK
Programs: BA Gold(OWE), QF LTG, MR Plat, IHG Spire, Hertz PC
Posts: 8,156
Originally Posted by og View Post
My previous experience with LA has been good (for their boarding passes to carry my FF # and status), but patchy for Mrs og (who has a multi word surname). Not only with LA but with BA, TG and UA amongst others, if it not an identical match between the FF account name and the ticket name, only the FF number appears on the BP and not status. This means the "system" does not recognise the status and you have to chase the points after the flight. Worse still, it is not consistent from flight to flight even on the same carrier.

Others who know more about the complexities in the programming areas might be able to add to this.
I have a similar issue to Mrs Og. Fortunately got a nice lady a few years back from QF who actually understood this situation and after updating and resetting the QF profile, I have not had any issues since, even if the systems (Sabre based bookings especially) concatenate the name.
Traveloguy is offline  
Old Oct 20, 11, 3:01 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mid-Levels, Hong Kong
Programs: AA EXP, CX MPC GLD, MR PLT, SPG PLT, National Exec.
Posts: 686
I had this issue earlier this year a couple of times with Royal Jordanian. It turned out my agent here in HK was putting my middle initial in the reservation and on my AA account I don't use the middle initial. I got RJ to remove it and it worked my number and status appeared.
aa767flyer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: