Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > MilesBuzz
Reload this Page >

Which plan is best for me?

Old Sep 29, 11, 4:54 pm
Original Poster

Please excuse me if I'm in the wrong forum for this question but I'm brand new to flyertalk and most of this info. is WAY over my head.
Here's what I want to accomplish, if anyone can help advise me.
Background: I live in Seattle and basically take two different kinds of flights.

1) Each year my wife and I like to fly to either Mexico or Hawaii for R&R. Every other year we like to take a major trip to Europe -- often England but sometimes Italy or other places on the continent.

2) We currently use an Alaska Airlines VISA card for all our purchases and normally charge at least $5000/month on it. It works great when we want to fly to Hawaii or Mexico but it very difficult to use for Europe especially for a summer flight since we have to go through their partner desk. I've been calling every day for two months (starting at 330 days before we want to leave - or whatever the earliest date was) and still no luck.

QUESTION: Are more miles available for their own flights compared to partner flights. In other words, if we wanted to cash in on a flight to Europe would we have better luck finding a flight directly through say Delta instead of using Alaska's partner desk to find a Delta flight? Or do they all go through the same pool?

FINAL QUESTION: If it's true that we would have better luck redeeming miles directly from the airline used, then which airline would be the best to use to fly from Seattle to Europe? If I know that, I can apply for their credit card and start saving miles.

Thanks for your help. I've got a lot to learn!!

Bob
Old Sep 29, 11, 6:06 pm
In Memoriam

Programs: aa plt 4.9MM LTAC
is all your flying personal?....

i have alerted the moderator to review this and see if another forum might be better for your ?s.....if so, it will be moved & when you check back and see it you will be lead to the new forum....