Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Credit, Debit and Prepaid Card Programs > Manufactured Spending
Reload this Page >

Buy Presidential Dollar Coins with CC @ Face Value, Free Shipping

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Buy Presidential Dollar Coins with CC @ Face Value, Free Shipping

Search this Thread

Old Aug 30, 2009, 2:18 pm

Programs: NWA Platinum, HHonors Diamond, SPG, YX, AA
Originally Posted by aauaflier
that is the funniest video i have seen! so lesson learned - i can pay my mortgage in dollar coins becuas it's a debt, and my bank is required to accept it, correct?
No. A private company can refuse to accept coins if they so choose.
Old Aug 30, 2009, 2:36 pm
Suspended

Originally Posted by MKEbound
No. A private company can refuse to accept coins if they so choose.
i'm not a lawyer and dont' claim to know the law. and obviously what you see on the internet or read isn't terribly accurate. but do you know what law states this? it certainly seemed there was general consensus that if you owe a debt, they cannot refuse any legal tender (just reading all the youtube comments), and that makes sense. and then when the cops came in that video, it certainly gave the impression that they were not allowed to refuse the coins.
Old Aug 30, 2009, 3:13 pm

i'm not a lawyer and dont' claim to know the law. and obviously what you see on the internet or read isn't terribly accurate. but do you know what law states this? it certainly seemed there was general consensus that if you owe a debt, they cannot refuse any legal tender (just reading all the youtube comments), and that makes sense. and then when the cops came in that video, it certainly gave the impression that they were not allowed to refuse the coins.
http://www.treas.gov/education/faq/c...l-tender.shtml

Summary: What MKEbound said.

Last edited by aviators99; Aug 30, 2009 at 3:21 pm
Old Aug 30, 2009, 3:26 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by aviators99