Changing a layover in Amsterdam to a stopover

Old Sep 2, 19, 9:47 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Programs: Delta Gold Medallion, Alaska Airlines MVP, BA Exec Club Blue, Hilton Honors Silver
Posts: 18
Arrow Changing a layover in Amsterdam to a stopover

Hi all,

I know KLM offers free stopovers but I only found that out after making a ticket booking. I currently have a 10h layover, I am wondering if I can change that into a longer stopover. Any idea on whether I will be charged change fees or just the cost of the new ticket? The ticket was booked through Delta.
aryan is offline  
Old Sep 2, 19, 9:52 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Programs: Gold: A3, KL Silver: AZ, BA
Posts: 23,951
Originally Posted by aryan View Post
Hi all,

I know KLM offers free stopovers but I only found that out after making a ticket booking.
That is not a general rule.

Whether or not a stopover will affect the price of your fare depends on the underlying fare rules.

Originally Posted by aryan View Post
I currently have a 10h layover, I am wondering if I can change that into a longer stopover. Any idea on whether I will be charged change fees or just the cost of the new ticket? The ticket was booked through Delta.
You will have to consult the fare rules of your ticket. There will be a change fee to pay, plus any difference in the fare.

You can sometimes change tickets online; I would advise you to look your ticket up online and see if you can do so. If not, you are stuck with calling Delta.

I expect this will cost far more than you are expecting to do; however, with no idea of routes, fare class, or even class of travel, it's hard to judge.
irishguy28 is offline  
Old Sep 2, 19, 9:59 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Programs: Delta Gold Medallion, Alaska Airlines MVP, BA Exec Club Blue, Hilton Honors Silver
Posts: 18
Originally Posted by irishguy28 View Post
That is not a general rule.

Whether or not a stopover will affect the price of your fare depends on the underlying fare rules.



You will have to consult the fare rules of your ticket. There will be a change fee to pay, plus any difference in the fare.

You can sometimes change tickets online; I would advise you to look your ticket up online and see if you can do so. If not, you are stuck with calling Delta.

I expect this will cost far more than you are expecting to do; however, with no idea of routes, fare class, or even class of travel, it's hard to judge.
I see. Thanks for clarifying. The Fare Class is X so I am guessing that gives me the least possible flexibility. The flight I'd need to change is the AMS-PIT route. I am a Delta Gold Medallion but I believe that only helps waive a same day change fee, not the change fee in general.
10 hours is enough to see the city real quick and head back I guess, and in the worst case there's the KLM Crown Lounge
aryan is offline  
Old Sep 2, 19, 11:42 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 11,564
Originally Posted by aryan View Post
in the worst case there's the KLM Crown Lounge
Worst case . . . you said it!

Johan
Thysk likes this.
johan rebel is offline  
Old Sep 2, 19, 1:48 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: YOW
Programs: Flying Blue Plat, Accor Gold
Posts: 254
Originally Posted by aryan View Post
The flight I'd need to change is the AMS-PIT route.
Is there a non-stop service AMS-PIT?

If your ticket is within 24 hours, you may cancel it risk-free and then purchase a new one though.
tbaiyun is offline  
Old Sep 2, 19, 2:34 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Programs: Gold: A3, KL Silver: AZ, BA
Posts: 23,951
Originally Posted by tbaiyun View Post
Is there a non-stop service AMS-PIT?.
No. KL doesn't serve PIT (neither does AF) and the only international service on DL from PIT is to CUN, served seasonally.
irishguy28 is offline  
Old Sep 2, 19, 2:52 pm
  #7  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 42,851
By "layover" you likely mean "connection". Whether and what this will cost, if anything, is a matter of the fare rules for your specific ticket. Best thing is to determine the routing you do want and then calculate what it will cost to make the change. It might not be that much.

While KL does not serve PIT, DL most assuredly does and there is service on KL/DL connecting at JFK and DTW. There may also be other more circuitous routings and those may be even cheaper (or not).

Bottom line is that hypotheticals do not mean much when faring a ticket or a change.
Often1 is online now  
Old Sep 2, 19, 2:55 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Programs: Delta Gold Medallion, Alaska Airlines MVP, BA Exec Club Blue, Hilton Honors Silver
Posts: 18
Originally Posted by irishguy28 View Post
No. KL doesn't serve PIT (neither does AF) and the only international service on DL from PIT is to CUN, served seasonally.
Yeah, sorry. This was AMS-ATL-PIT. There is a seasonal AF service CDG-PIT, PIT-CDG but it's always an adventure to see if it is confirmed for the year or not.
aryan is offline  
Old Sep 2, 19, 2:59 pm
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Programs: Delta Gold Medallion, Alaska Airlines MVP, BA Exec Club Blue, Hilton Honors Silver
Posts: 18
Originally Posted by Often1 View Post
By "layover" you likely mean "connection". Whether and what this will cost, if anything, is a matter of the fare rules for your specific ticket. Best thing is to determine the routing you do want and then calculate what it will cost to make the change. It might not be that much.

While KL does not serve PIT, DL most assuredly does and there is service on KL/DL connecting at JFK and DTW. There may also be other more circuitous routings and those may be even cheaper (or not).

Bottom line is that hypotheticals do not mean much when faring a ticket or a change.
Well, yes. That part is pretty clear. My question was specifically about the KLM free stopover policy but it seems those are subject to these rules too. Regarding "layover" versus "connection", I guess connection is more precise .
aryan is offline  
Old Sep 2, 19, 4:05 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Programs: Gold: A3, KL Silver: AZ, BA
Posts: 23,951
Originally Posted by aryan View Post
My question was specifically about the KLM free stopover policy but it seems those are subject to these rules too.
KLM Free stopovers only currently appear to be advertised for intineraries commencing in:

Argentina
Brazil
Chile
irishguy28 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread