Search

VAT refund for EU citizen living in US

Search this Thread

Old Nov 16, 2017, 9:32 pm
Original Poster

Programs: UA Gold, BA Silver, Marriott Titanium, IHG Plat, Hilton Gold
VAT refund for EU citizen living in US

Hi,

I have made a bit of research about this but all official websites are not very clear.
So I am a EU citizen but resident of the US (not US citizen, just allowed to work here).

The VAT refund rule for EU citizen living abroad allows VAT refund if "you can show that you will be staying outside the EU for at least 12 months" Source: https://www.gov.uk/government/public...ping-in-the-uk

I have been in the US for a few years now and I visits family in Europe at least 4 times a year and would like to take advantage of the VAT refund. Now, when I visit and leave the EU back to the US and apply for VAT refund, do I need to prove that I need to stay at least 12 MORE months after my visit or does the 12 months minimum also take into account the time I spent in the US before my visit too?

If it's the first case and need to prove that I will stay at least 12 more months, how does one get such a proof? I mean I can show I have a job here, an apartment lease, etc but none of these docs technically prove I will stay more than 12 more months here.
Moreover, my work authorization expires in less than 12 months so that won't work. I will get it renewed but can't do so prior to 90 days before its expiration...

But if my past stay counts, then that works perfectly, I can easily show I have been living outside the EU for a few years.

If anyone could enlighten me, I would appreciate it!
Old Nov 17, 2017, 12:00 am

Will you actually be staying in the UK? As I suspect other countries might have different regulations.
Also what you quote seems to refer to "a resident of the EU", which you are not, showing your US permanent visa/residence card should probably be enough.
Old Nov 17, 2017, 12:08 am
Original Poster

Originally Posted by Ditto