Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Emirates | Skywards
Reload this Page >

Upgrading using points from Business to First

Upgrading using points from Business to First

Reply

Old Jan 27, 19, 2:30 am
  #31  
Ambassador: Emirates Airlines
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 13,113
Originally Posted by Traveler Dave View Post
Is there any sort of ďnormalĒ when it comes to EK releasing business to first points upgrades?

I have two reservations for our family of 3 more than 30 days out. We booked business class on points. Immediately the single person reservation shows an offer to upgrade to first for 24K Points. The other reservation for 2 has no upgrade offer

if I take the single upgrade offer now, what if the likelihood more seats will become available before the day of the flight? Any idea how many?

Thanks for any info.

TD
If you booked on points, then I don't believe you can further upgrade using points. Unless this is some special "offer" - in which case, I wouldn't necessarily expect the offer will extend to the other booking.
DYKWIA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 19, 10:38 am
  #32  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: SAN
Posts: 350
Originally Posted by DYKWIA View Post
If you booked on points, then I don't believe you can further upgrade using points. Unless this is some special "offer" - in which case, I wouldn't necessarily expect the offer will extend to the other booking.
The single account does show she can upgrade using points. Canít believe we are anything special being our first booking with EK.

TD

Traveler Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 19, 1:04 pm
  #33  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: LGW / AMS / CPT
Programs: SA KL BA EK
Posts: 2,242
Originally Posted by DYKWIA View Post
If you booked on points, then I don't believe you can further upgrade using points. Unless this is some special "offer" - in which case, I wouldn't necessarily expect the offer will extend to the other booking.
I think (am almost sure) that you canít upgrade twice. But an award booking is not an upgrade so you should be able to upgrade that with Skywards miles.
Traveler Dave likes this.
thijsseh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 19, 2:27 pm
  #34  
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ireland
Programs: Skywards
Posts: 294
Iím hoping to upgrade both legs of SEZ to DUB from J to F with miles. I have enough miles to upgrade both flights if done as one transaction but not enough miles if I were to upgrade each leg separately.
If I upgrade one leg if/when there is availability will they let me upgrade the second leg retrospectively for the lesser amount of miles if availability opens up?
Neiltoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 19, 2:42 pm
  #35  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: LGW / AMS / CPT
Programs: SA KL BA EK
Posts: 2,242
Originally Posted by Neiltoo View Post
Iím hoping to upgrade both legs of SEZ to DUB from J to F with miles. I have enough miles to upgrade both flights if done as one transaction but not enough miles if I were to upgrade each leg separately.
If I upgrade one leg if/when there is availability will they let me upgrade the second leg retrospectively for the lesser amount of miles if availability opens up?
Yes, they will. But you need to do it through the call centre and quite possibly have to ask / direct them to combine the two upgrades.
Traveler Dave likes this.
thijsseh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 19, 2:25 pm
  #36  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Programs: Emirates Gold
Posts: 152
1A & 2A Blocked out

I've flown to BKK from London 3 times this year and each time both 1A and 2A were blocked out. On two of the three occasions the seats were empty.
It's annoying as I prefer 2A and end up sitting in 2K. Is there a reason why they do this? Are they reserving seats for crew perhaps or am I just unlucky ?
chelseastu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 19, 2:29 pm
  #37  
Ambassador: Emirates
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Economy, mostly :(
Programs: Skywards Gold
Posts: 6,857
Originally Posted by chelseastu View Post
I've flown to BKK from London 3 times this year and each time both 1A and 2A were blocked out. On two of the three occasions the seats were empty.
It's annoying as I prefer 2A and end up sitting in 2K. Is there a reason why they do this? Are they reserving seats for crew perhaps or am I just unlucky ?
1A might be crew rest, 2A might be for UMs. Are you still unable to request a switch at check-in or the lounge?
skywardhunter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 19, 2:31 pm
  #38  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Programs: Emirates Gold
Posts: 152
Originally Posted by skywardhunter View Post
1A might be crew rest, 2A might be for UMs. Are you still unable to request a switch at check-in or the lounge?
I thought as much. Yes next time I will ask.
chelseastu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 19, 3:02 pm
  #39  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: SAN
Posts: 350
Originally Posted by chelseastu View Post
I thought as much. Yes next time I will ask.
Once you are in the air ask to move. I have never found a steward with an issue moving to an empty seat.
Traveler Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 19, 3:25 pm
  #40  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: LGW / AMS / CPT
Programs: SA KL BA EK
Posts: 2,242
Originally Posted by chelseastu View Post
I've flown to BKK from London 3 times this year and each time both 1A and 2A were blocked out. On two of the three occasions the seats were empty.
It's annoying as I prefer 2A and end up sitting in 2K. Is there a reason why they do this? Are they reserving seats for crew perhaps or am I just unlucky ?
I have successfully called in and asked them to unblock 2A for me. Got the warning that if there was an UM I might be moved. Same for 9A in J on the 77W.
thijsseh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 19, 12:03 pm
  #41  
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ireland
Programs: Skywards
Posts: 294
Originally Posted by thijsseh View Post


Yes, they will. But you need to do it through the call centre and quite possibly have to ask / direct them to combine the two upgrades.
Thanks, Iíll call as soon as/if Expert flyer shows availability.
Neiltoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 19, 2:39 pm
  #42  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Shetland, uk
Programs: Skywards blue
Posts: 169
Anybody had much luck upgrading a DXB-LHR J-F flight with points, at the airport/lounge?
Bouncingsouls is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 19, 11:31 pm
  #43  
Ambassador, Emirates
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MAN DXB ✈️
Programs: Skywards Gold
Posts: 6,178
Originally Posted by Bouncingsouls View Post
Anybody had much luck upgrading a DXB-LHR J-F flight with points, at the airport/lounge?
yes but Lhr f loads are high so it depends on when you are travelling and what date
Tanzguy and Bouncingsouls like this.
m3red is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 19, 1:03 am
  #44  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Shetland, uk
Programs: Skywards blue
Posts: 169
Originally Posted by m3red View Post


yes but Lhr f loads are high so it depends on when you are travelling and what date
cheers. Hopefully try my luck on EK5 in March.
Bouncingsouls is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 19, 3:00 am
  #45  
Ambassador, Emirates
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MAN DXB ✈️
Programs: Skywards Gold
Posts: 6,178
Originally Posted by Bouncingsouls View Post


cheers. Hopefully try my luck on EK5 in March.
what date?
m3red is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread