Himalayan Salt Block

Old Jan 7, 16, 6:15 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Himalayan Salt Block

I received a Himalayan Salt Block for a gift, and I've got zero experience with the cooking concept. My block has handles, so I can use it with the grill or oven and some recipes talk about chilling or freezing it.

Anyone familiar with one of these?
Old Jan 13, 16, 2:43 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: AA Gold 1MM, AS MVP, UA Silver, WN A-List, Marriott LT Titanium, HH Diamond
I'm not familiar with it, but a couple years ago I received a small Himalayan Salt package that said "Made in the USA" on the back.

I still wonder (a) where this product actually came from and (b) why they call it Himalayan if it is made in the USA? What is the characteristic that makes it Himalayan if it doesn't come from, y'know, the Himalayas?

I did *not* notice this product regularly used or sold while I was in Nepal. At least not packaged and marketed to Westerners the way it is elsewhere.
Old Jan 13, 16, 3:49 pm

Programs: UA 1K MM; Hilton Diamond
No personal experience, but I've heard of them. Here's one site's instructions for their use.

Obviously, don't wash them...
Old Jan 13, 16, 7:59 pm
Moderator, Trip Reports

Programs: UA Silver, AA Platinum, AS & DL GM Marriott TE, Hilton Gold
Originally Posted by Dugernaut View Post
Anyone familiar with one of these?
I have never cooked with one but have food served with one. I'd check out the restaurant Salt, there is one at the Ritz on Amelia Island.....I think they have a cook book. The only way I know how to use one of these is to serve food on it and the food absorbs some of the flavor.

Let us know how it works, and if we should come over for dinner
Old Jan 14, 16, 11:34 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hyatt Contributor Badge

Programs: SBUX Gold
Aren't you supposed to heat up the block, then take it out and use it tabletop to cook raw meats/veg? Salt retains for a while.
Old Jan 14, 16, 11:41 am